Ratings based on 5,228 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
trying to find it is very hard even with a navman As there signs are not visible in both directions. No parking out side Don't start me on the showers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Great Location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: nothing as far as I am concerned
Location: Near Hyde Park and Oxford St. Subway entrance, restaurants, and grocery located nearby.
This very comfortable, updated modern hotel is nicely located near the corner of Hyde Park and Oxford Street. Subway to Circular Quay is just 4 blocks away. A variety of many good restaurants and 2 supermarkets (Aldi and IGA) on Oxford St. Great place for gay people to stay and visit Sydney. Staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

disappointing stay good location

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: location was excellent
Cons: As above Needs to have a restaurant (dinner). Upgrade the hotel computer system to make booking more efficient
Location: excellent location close to trains buses shopping and sights
-Fridge was not chilling the food couldn't adjust the temperature was already on max cool. - Shower had to be turned on hot and left to heat up for around 4 mins before got heat (wasting water) -Hot water in the sink didn't get hot enough to wash dishes so had to boil the kettle to do this - Room was not cleaned for the whole 4 days- one day we requested no cleaning but the other days we left the hotel at 0930 and returned at approx 4pm to find that the room still had not been cleaned. One day they had replaced the towels but that was all. - Air conditioning was set to default to 23- which was too hot. We could not change the default. We would adjust it down to 18-19 manually but it would default quickly. This meant that we would wake in the night too hot and have to adjust the temp numerous times. -My daughter was sick and I requested to take some food to her (from breakfast restaurant) in her room even tough I was happy to pay for the food, but was told that this was not permitted. (even though I said she was unwell) Overall this was disappointing for a reputable brand hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

RE check-in

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I have sent the hotel's costumer service a month before hand if ever they can change the reservation name for the second room we had, but to no avail, there was no reply, so I assumed that that it might be okay whether to change or not. Then we arrived, 11am, directly from the airport, without proper sleep due to the long haul, but what welcomed us was a rather unlikely fact that they told us that there is a need for the other person to be there for the other room to be checked-in. Again, I was the one who paid for the room, using my credit card. By all means, I have all the full capacity as I paid with my credit card to get access to the room. They pointed out to the policy that they need the copy of the passport and the credit card. And which I have, but they insisted that the second person's passport and the second person to which the room was "named" with should be present. Again, it was not clear in the policy whether the second person is needed, the rules and regulations of the hotel are not clear, which have caused us stress even just for a check-in. The manager even pointed out that we should have put the names of the other occupants of the room online, but I told them that in the expedia form online, we are only allowed to input one person per room. I suggest for expedia and for the hotel to extend the options with the individual names to be explicitly identified in the online form, so that others would not have the bad experience we had at check-in in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to the harbour

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Room was comfortable & clean. Staff were friendly & helpful. Walking distance to shops & train stations. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Sydney.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra ACT

Basic hotel with misleading location headline

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Courteous staff
Cons: Better furnishing and linen will help.
Location: Poor location
The Hotel is listed as Travelodge Sydney. It is in Surrey Hills part of Sydney. The staff were courteous. The room was very average. The air conditioning did not work well. The room had an odour which wasn't pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mackay

Close to the city Centre.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The position.
Location: City centre, Hyde Park and museums.
ALL STAFF WERE FRIENDLY. THE PAPER JERSEY IN THE COWBOYS COLOURS ON THE DOOR WAS AN ADDED TOUCH. WE WERE STAYING THERE FOR THE NRL GRAND FINAL. PREVIOUSLY I COMMENTED THAT THERE WERE NO HOUSEKEEPING SERVICES IN OUR ROOM ON THE WEEKEND. THIS TURNED OUT TO BE INCORRECT AS IT WAS DONE LATER ON SATURDAY AND IN THE MORNINGS OF SUNDAY AND THE PUBLIC HOLIDAY MONDAY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Location: Quick walk to CBD amenities. Train station nearby.
Hotel staff were great and accommodating. Close to nice cafes and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Canaveral

Great Location, Excellent Staff

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Early check-in with very friendly, cheerful, helpful staff. Three minutes to the train station. Rooms were clean with kitchenette, free wi-fi, and TV.
Cons: Rooms could have been a little bigger. Otherwise it was perfect - clean and comfortable.
Location: Three minutes to the train station. Five minutes to all restaurants. About 15 minutes to Paddy's Markets.
Early check-in with very friendly, cheerful, helpful staff. Three minutes to the train station. Rooms were clean with kitchenette, free wi-fi, and TV. Gym was clean and well equipped. Great value for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Subash, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for sharing your positive experience relating to your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. We greatly appreciate your kind words and hope to be of service to you again when you are next visiting Sydney. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Corner Cutters

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The "queen size" bed we got was actually two single beds put together. The sheets and pillow cases were rough...very poor quality. The hallways were filthy in the 3 nights we stayed here. Their gym was nice though and the location is top notch.