Ratings based on 3,711 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Coast, NSW

Central position makes this a good place to stay.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: I like the historical aspect of the hotel, its accessibility, its nearness to theatres, shopping areas, Darling Harbour, museums, and transport.
Location: See above
This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Great Southern Hotel. It is easy to get to from Central station, just a short walk. From the hotel most theatre venues, main shopping areas, etc are an easy walk or transport to them is very accessible. The rooms are small but comfortable, and considering we are not in the rooms for the majority of the day, they suit our needs. Meals have always been satisfactory and prices are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Central railway which is ideal for us.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Able too eat all meals there.
Room rates excellent, the room was very small not allowing for a comfortable chair. This would be the only problem if staying for any length of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW

Comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Quiet, comfortable room. Good meal in the pub downstairs, great fun at the trivia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient location, perfect for a sleepover

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff
Cons: A window that could be opened to let some fresh air in.
Location: Close to Chinatown, Central train station, short walk to Surry Hills and Sydney CBD; There's also an affordable pub/bar on site.
We booked this hotel as we had to stay in Sydney for one night after coming back from our overseas trip. The hotel is located 5 minutes away from Central station. The room was simple, clean and quiet and the only thing that we didn't like is that there was no fresh air supply (window could not be opened) which made the space a bit stuffy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Very close to central station

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Easy access to the Station
Easy walk from Central Station ,Good food . The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sherwood QLD

Very convenient location. Exceptional staff

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The customer service is outstanding. The staff always friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is very convenient near paddys market and best restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south coast

Central location close to all places I needed to g

Posted Sep 29, 2017
I stayed at GSH for three nights it was very pleasant the meals are first class Katie and the other bar staff are friendly and efficient the transport is close by and darling harbour and paddys markets are all close by
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Good value

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: location and discounted
Cons: parking not available and no discounted parking vouchers like other hotels in area. Cheap overnight in wilsons carpark need to move the car by 4am
Location: Sydney George street is a construction site at the present time. Uneven pathways for the elderly would be a problem.
No parking available or discounted parking elsewhere Currently a building site very average but good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Well located city centre.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The heating system was not good. I could not sleep well as its was very cold. But the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queanbeyan NSW

Required a hotel convenient to Central Railway .

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Fitted the bill for above requirement......................