Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Good value for the price

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The room was very clean. Small but adiquate. We only needed a room for sleeping and showering and this hotel met our needs very well. Beds were clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MEL

Small was too small

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Anything to better match the rates
Location: Should be close to the train station
Old fashioned, reasonably clean. The kettle looked so disgusting with all those black stains and stuff in it. Unhappy about the bathroom door setup, very inconvenient. A mum and daughter were my friends who had their window accidently locked then required a fix but the hotel didn't deliver what they committed that day. Poor ladies had to put up with another unpleasant night with no fresh air. Trains ran right down my window, lucky I got ear plugs. If the price was not that high it might be better worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We take your feedback seriously and will consider ways to improve our services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mcc

Handy to train station

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very small room. Not designed for comfort. Always asking for tea.coffee etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We will take your feedback seriously and will consider ways to improve our service.
5 out of 5
by Janet

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place to stay. Room a bit small but complete with tv, ref, and air conditioner. The cleaning of the room everyday needs improvement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
This was my second time staying in this hotel. It was really cosy and the staff were nice! Location was near Redfern and Central station, thus really convenient to get around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Thanks for the review.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Sydney trip.

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Short and sweet.Went to see an afternoon show and then the State of Origin in the evening.Hotel was convenient and suitable to our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Thanks for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Great hotel at a budget price.

Posted May 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Awesome
Location: Sydney CBD is a short distance by train or on foot. Glebe is walking distance.
This hotel is so convenient to both Redfern and Central railway station. The rooms are basic and well insulated from the city noise. If you are looking for a clean budget hotel don't hesitate to stay at The Song originally The Y.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by Sajjad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Marcus

Very good basic hotel near Central Station. Highly

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very good basic hotel near Central Station. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Llanelli, UK

Good basic hotel - but noisy trains

Posted Apr 28, 2017
This is a reasonably priced hotel still walkable to Central Train station. Small queen room but with ok amenities with everything working and in good condition. Free breakfast cereals and toast in the morning downstairs with juice and filtered coffee is another money saving bonus. Wifi is free and of usual hotel speeds. If you are a light sleeper the rooms at the rear of the hotel are next to the main railway line from Central to Redfern. Train noise does continue through the night, although I was staying over Anzac Day where there are many more early morning trains than usual.