Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bendigo, Vic

Lovely Location.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The staff were amazing and willing to go above and beyond to help out and although room service prices were higher than expected the meals were exquisite. The pool/spa room was the perfect place to be after taking on the Sydney traffic at the end the day. The drink machine in the hall way broke and swallowed my money but the staff at the desk were very apologetic and willing to refund me as well as offer alternate ways to find a cold beverage. The items in the bathroom (soaps etc.) smelt delicious and worked well with all types of hair/skin. The only real downside was that it was a pain to find even though the front entrance of the building is painted bright orange it's quite easily lost in the street and the underground parking was incredibly difficult to get in and out of. The location however was quiet and hardly any traffic noise was heard from the second floor. Not being too far away from the Iconic landmarks a short taxi drive or a lengthy walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location with easy transport links

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The location is good - easy walk into the trendy Surry Hills area for cafes and bars. It's big walk to the Opera House and Quay but manageable - otherwise there are good transport links and you're close to the metro and buses to Bondi etc. Staff weren't overly helpful - i was having trouble with my laptop but couldn't get help to use the lobby terminals without extra $$ - and the free wifi advertised is actually capped, so watch out for hidden charges. I'm not sure why these hotels try and trap you for small amounts like this and extra credit card fees etc - I would get a much better impression if their rate was the real price. The rooms are arranged around a weird, small indoor pool with murky light from a skylight. i'm not sure this is successful - particularly not when people are splashing in the pool late at night. But the room itself was fine and this is a reasonable if not particularly cheap option for Sydney if you don't know your way around and want to be fairly well located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Clean and comfortable. Very happy with the service and room. Loved the pool. Some features of the hotel are slightly dated but more than reasonable for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Convenient location, super friendly staff

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Well-presented room, comfortable, clean, helpful staff, can't complain at all, great value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, comfortable and easy access

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Cons: The iron could be steamed
The hotel is not luxury and I think a bit overpriced, but I guess that is what you get around Sydney CBD. The room is very similar to the pictures. The window opened up into the middle of the building (no view of anything). The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Byron Hinterland

Can't beat the location

Posted Aug 7, 2015
We enjoyed our weeklong stay at the Abey. The hotel rooms are large. The beds are good if not a little bouncy. The bathroom is functional. The TV is large and channel selection is good. Nothing is really outstanding but everything is very good. Yes, it’s a bit noisy but so is any inner city hotel. The location is outstanding. Restaurants and pubs of all descriptions and levels abound. It’s an easy walk into Sydney CBD, Chinatown and railways stations. Parking is OK but very tight. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The small warm indoor pool is a bit of a treat. A couple of things: They don’t want to check you in until 2pm. A problem in an international city. The Wi-Fi was down for the whole stay. Come on fellas, this is 2015. But we still highly recommend and will give you another chance next time we are in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Great staff who treated myself and the kids well. The building had been given a superficial makeover but for the price and service, worth staying in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oxford St

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The Abey and the Cambridge are the same property. Have stayed at both. The Abey's rooms are around the indoor pool area which can become quite noisy. Staying 1 or 2 nights, book the Abey due to price. Awesome location. One block from Oxford St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bathurst, NSW

Clean, comfortable, close to everything!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: The location!
Cons: The car park.
Location: Just around the corner to Oxford Street, short walk to Chinatown & Darling Harbour.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, close the everything. It is very clean and everything was in working order. The bed was comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time the hotel, dropped our stuff and were out till late, slept and left early the next morning. The only downside was the underground carpark it was very narrow and low, you wouldn't get a 4WD in there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central West NSW

Nice if you can get it on special offer.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Having stayed at the Cambridge Hotel (the Abbey's big sister next door) a couple of times we always like the position, facilities and rooms. With a busy weekend in Sydney recently for Chinese New Year the Cambridge was full and we booked The Abbey. It appeared to be older, smaller, darker rooms with no views and they were based around the pool. Same helpful friendly staff, position and facilties but maybe these rooms should be a little less expensive than the Cambridge.