Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly good!

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, price, restaurant
Cons: Maybe signage -There's signs to to OAK Bar, but not to the "Alpha Hotel". Perhaps this is their chain name, and not the hotel name as listed on Wotif
Location: Sydney Motorsport Park, short drive to shopping complexes and restaurants.
My partner and I were staying here as it was the closest to the Motorsport Park. We didn't expect much, but it was quite nice! The room was laid out well, and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable, and dinner arrived to our room quickly. 24 hour reception helped as well as we were checking out at 5.30am and had to return a phone charger and pay for meals. However, there was no one at the desk for a while (although I imagine they only employ one staff member at that hour!), and we had to wait for the staff member to check the room over despite paying by credit card. This was not a huge problem though, as it was just a circumstance of us being in a hurry to get going. A great stay, and highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for the top review and fantastic to see you enjoyed the stay. I do apologise for our signage. We are working on improving the signage. I hope we can welcome you back again soon Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Lovely Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Location: We were there to watch baseball in Blacktown so the location suited us. Wet'n'Wild is close by and worth a day out.
We were in Sydney to watch baseball at Blacktown so this hotel was in the general area we needed. The beds were great, the room lovely and clean and just loved the block out curtains. The Oaks Bar and Restaurant was a great place to hang at the end of the day. There is also a courtesy bus available for short trips of 6ks or less (small cost). The staff were awesome and very helpful. There is nothing around the hotel except the Eastern Creek race track opposite (No noise issues though). When this hotel finishes their renovations, it will be bigger and better. Don't know about the 24hr room service, think it is more a case of there are some food options available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thanks Kaye for the 4 stars. The staff will love to hear there hard work is paying so. I will be sure to pass the feedback on. We are all very excited for the new Alpha Club Floor due to finish mid year. Hope we can welcome you back again soon Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
4 out of 5
by joesph from cessnock

race day

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
it was completely fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Joseph. Hope we can welcome you back soon Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location if you like the raceway

Posted Feb 12, 2016
The stay was fantastic only complaint no fox :) but otherwise couldn't fault it even with construction
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek. It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel and fantastic to see you enjoyed the hotel. Hope we can welcome you back again soon Regards Ainslee Portlock
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Fantastic weekend away at QT

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, decor, friendly staff. Everything!
Cons: Just the blind on the windo.
Location: Right in the heart of Bondi.
This place is amazing. My husband and I absolutely loved our stay. One minor complaint - the room we stayed in required a blind on the window (which the motel said they are going to fix). We woke very early with the sun streaming through the room. It was lovely, but after a late night, all we wanted to do was sleep in. Like I said, very minor. Other than that, this place has thought of everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by AInslee, Hotel Management
Fantastic news to hear you had a great stay. I think you have the wrong hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toowoomba

Nice affordable motel

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Lastminute
Would have been good to have been told about the extension work going on on the roof and maybe offered a discount
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are working on an exciting upgrade to add 60 new rooms to the hotel. This information can be found on the Expedia website. Apologies you were unaware but I'm sure you still had a great stay as all amenities and services are unaffected by the works. Hope we can welcome you back again soon. Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BNE

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Wotif
The hotel the is getting renovation done the hall way was leaking when it was raining. The staff wasn't doing anything about it. I reported but nothing at all. Our room was average all theough it was a suite. The bed head and bedside tables were dusty. The view outside was terrible all ee can see was construction out in window. There was no notice about the hotel is still under renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. As you mention we are under going an exciting upgrade to bring you 60 new rooms. This information is posted on the Wotif website. Apologies you were unaware. We are doing our best to ensure everyone is told before arrival. I hope we can welcome you back again soon Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Ant problemns, beds were not made properly, noisey, door was not close properly unlocked from cleaners
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Apologies you found the housekeeping not to standard. This is not the norm for the hotel and I will be sure to pass this onto housekeeping. Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5star rating. Hope we can welcome you back again soon Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Wotif
Clean and tidy, good restaurant . Friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by Ainslee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback Damon. Fantastic to see you enjoyed the staff and service from staff. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Regards Ainslee Portlock General Manager