Ratings based on 13,761 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice close to city

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location & facilities
Cons: Bed was a little soft.
Location: Close to Circular Quay & city
Stayed over as husband running in marathon next day. Good facilities - gym & pool. Relaxing rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good, not too many complaints

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See review
Location: 10 minutes walk (approx) either way to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay
As many others say, not a real 5 star resort, maybe 4.5 at very best. Location is very good which is the main reason I chose this hotel. Biggest complaint was the light coming from the bathroom window, it would shine in our faces like a torch at sunrise. I could not believe the bathroom window was not covered in a block-out blind, pretty unforgivable to be honest and took away from the experience of staying in what I would normally consider a large and comfortable room. Amora loses a full ratings point for this issue alone. AND, the TV channel line up is appalling! So watered down that it's hardly worth switching on at all, very disappointing. They obviously want people to order movies on demand at the exorbitant price of $16!!! You must be kidding me :( Not sure if I'll be back at this stage because of the above issues..probably not I guess...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Second stay at the AMORA it did not disapoint. Location is awesome as it is so close to everything. One minor issue is our bathroom was ready for a redo with some tiles missing around the bath ect but that's very picky :-) would happily stay again. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Convenience

Posted May 31, 2017
Great staff and services. Clean and cozy room. Clean tidy bathroom. Took a long time for room service to answer the phone. When asked for two things only one got delivered. Bed was too soft but the view was quite OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rural California

Excellent Wynyard Station location Central Sydney

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location. Quiet, peaceful room with view to harbor.
Location: This location is walking distance to everything in central Sydney.
Location!!! Steps away from station entrance and underground food court. Other outdoor cafes also nearby. Avoid eating in hotel because options are very limited and overpriced compared to surrounding cafes and restaurants. Easy walk to Circular Quay and more food options. After the first day sticker shock I did not eat in the hotel again. On the plus side, the hotel is very quiet and the option of a chiropractic pillow was a first!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W. UK living in Aussie

Great weekend base location.

Posted May 22, 2017
Wonderful staff, very courteous and helpful. Fantastic welcome and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home. The room was lovely; very comfy bed and great views from our corner room on the 19th floor over Sydney's harbour to the west of the bridge. Sunsets were spectacular. The hotel has gone digital and all the info was on a menu accessed via the TV control. There are a few bits of info missing (e.g. check out time wasn't stated anywhere we could find) but those can be easily ironed out in time. The bathroom was ultra modern and chic and the decor in the room was tasteful and contemporary. I'd definitely go again and recommend the hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location , very nice room

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms, staff service
Location: close to the Rocks and upper city- easy walk to everything
Seamless stay. We arrived a little early and were checked in very quickly. Car was valet parked. Room was spacious with a great view and fairly high up. Cant't fault it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff

Posted May 15, 2017
Booked via Expedia and had a great stay at Amora. The hotel location is within easy walking distance to many of Sydney's main attractions. All staff treated as very well right down to a cleaner that went out of their way to provide some plastic bags for us when we had a sick daughter.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Located in one of the most convenient locations in Sydney, we’re delighted that you had a great stay with us. We certainly appreciate the kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miramar, FL

Central Elegance & Quality

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The hotel was a great hotel but its location was the main attraction to us. It really was easy to navigate the CBD from the Amora.
Cons: I did have an issue regulating the hot/cold water in the shower. The hotel breakfast buffet is extensive but rather expensive at $40 AUS per.
Location: Again, easy access to the CBD and airport.
My wife and I stayed at the Amora during the Sydney segment of our 40th wedding anniversary celebration trip down under. From the moment we arrived, we felt valued by the friendly and accommodating hotel staff. They even sent a complementary bottle of wine to our room shortly after our check-in as an anniversary gift. Our room was elegant and comfortable, well serviced and maintained by hotel housekeeping. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom featured both a shower and tub. The hotel is located next to the Wynyard train station which provides quick and easy access to all the Sydney sites and attractions; harbor bridge, ferries, opera house, shops, restaurants, etc. The train also can be used from both the domestic and international train terminals which is a great option; less expensive than taking a taxis or shuttle. If you stay at the Amora, you must check out the breakfast at Bar Bellaccino which is located at the corner of York and Margaret streets; right next to the hotel and directly across the street from the Wynyard station, connected to the rear of the Old Presbyterian Church. The breakfasts are amazing! We ate there 3 out of our 5 days. We would definitely consider staying at the Amora next time we visit Sydney.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great hotel to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The room is very clean and spacious
Location: It is closer to the Harbour bridge and Opera House. It is about 10 mins taxi to the shopping area.
With unexpected road construction around the corner which has caused us a bit trouble driving into the carpark, everything was very good. I have booked a deluxe king room at the corner but seemed like Expedia has sent the incorrect information. The Hotel manager was very helpful and quickly solved the problem. The room is spacious and nice but just feeling a bit too close to the office building around. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms