Ratings based on 13,712 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W. UK living in Aussie

Great weekend base location.

Posted May 22, 2017
Wonderful staff, very courteous and helpful. Fantastic welcome and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home. The room was lovely; very comfy bed and great views from our corner room on the 19th floor over Sydney's harbour to the west of the bridge. Sunsets were spectacular. The hotel has gone digital and all the info was on a menu accessed via the TV control. There are a few bits of info missing (e.g. check out time wasn't stated anywhere we could find) but those can be easily ironed out in time. The bathroom was ultra modern and chic and the decor in the room was tasteful and contemporary. I'd definitely go again and recommend the hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location , very nice room

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms, staff service
Location: close to the Rocks and upper city- easy walk to everything
Seamless stay. We arrived a little early and were checked in very quickly. Car was valet parked. Room was spacious with a great view and fairly high up. Cant't fault it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff

Posted May 15, 2017
Booked via Expedia and had a great stay at Amora. The hotel location is within easy walking distance to many of Sydney's main attractions. All staff treated as very well right down to a cleaner that went out of their way to provide some plastic bags for us when we had a sick daughter.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Located in one of the most convenient locations in Sydney, we’re delighted that you had a great stay with us. We certainly appreciate the kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miramar, FL

Central Elegance & Quality

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The hotel was a great hotel but its location was the main attraction to us. It really was easy to navigate the CBD from the Amora.
Cons: I did have an issue regulating the hot/cold water in the shower. The hotel breakfast buffet is extensive but rather expensive at $40 AUS per.
Location: Again, easy access to the CBD and airport.
My wife and I stayed at the Amora during the Sydney segment of our 40th wedding anniversary celebration trip down under. From the moment we arrived, we felt valued by the friendly and accommodating hotel staff. They even sent a complementary bottle of wine to our room shortly after our check-in as an anniversary gift. Our room was elegant and comfortable, well serviced and maintained by hotel housekeeping. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom featured both a shower and tub. The hotel is located next to the Wynyard train station which provides quick and easy access to all the Sydney sites and attractions; harbor bridge, ferries, opera house, shops, restaurants, etc. The train also can be used from both the domestic and international train terminals which is a great option; less expensive than taking a taxis or shuttle. If you stay at the Amora, you must check out the breakfast at Bar Bellaccino which is located at the corner of York and Margaret streets; right next to the hotel and directly across the street from the Wynyard station, connected to the rear of the Old Presbyterian Church. The breakfasts are amazing! We ate there 3 out of our 5 days. We would definitely consider staying at the Amora next time we visit Sydney.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great hotel to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The room is very clean and spacious
Location: It is closer to the Harbour bridge and Opera House. It is about 10 mins taxi to the shopping area.
With unexpected road construction around the corner which has caused us a bit trouble driving into the carpark, everything was very good. I have booked a deluxe king room at the corner but seemed like Expedia has sent the incorrect information. The Hotel manager was very helpful and quickly solved the problem. The room is spacious and nice but just feeling a bit too close to the office building around. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and breakfast

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast.
Cons: Room needs updating, furniture old and tiles missing in bathroom.
Location: Great location.
Room was a bit tired. Buffet breakfast offered a great selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with comments and feedback from your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney. Your experience at the hotel certainly was not ideal and definitely not what we strive for. I have shared your comments with the operations team to follow up on the incidents and verify ways that we can avoid this, so it is not an issue going forward. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this matter may have caused you and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wollongong

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Excellent room but minor noise from room. Great breakfast reasonable rates. Only suggestion would be to make Amora club lounge more accessible and cheaper rates. Parking fee is very high especially for the weekend and should be reviewed given you can park for 45 for the weekend next door no justification for 57 per night. Will stay again and recommend others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Tariq, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Located in one of the most convenient locations in Sydney, we’re delighted that you had a great stay with us. We certainly appreciate the kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards, Abhishek Sinha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the city.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Highly recommend this hotel. Could not fault anything and located within a 10 minute walk from the opera house and Sydney harbour bridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in fantastic spot!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Bathroom was in need of refresh - some tiles broken or not on bath surrounds.
Location: Circular Quay, CBD, shopping, museums.
Recently spent two night at the Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney with my family and we were incredibly pleased with the facilities and staff. Wonderful location and proximity to everything we wanted. shops, restaurants, transport and woud definitely recommend to anyone thinking about a stay of any duration in the CBD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha Director of Rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

A 2* hotel that costs as much as a 5* one

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, close to the harbor and the Rocks. Very helpful and nice staff, struggling to make up for the apparent shortcomings of the hotel.
Cons: Room furniture, bathroom finish, gym (lilliputian and poorly equipped), breakfast room and breakfast food.
Location: One can visit the nearby harbor, the Sydney bridge and, a bit farther away, the opera house.
This hotel represents the pinnacle of the disappointments I've experienced as a traveler in my life. When I booked it, the ravishing reviews (with a rating of 9.2 on booking.com) led me to believe that I would've experienced something amazing during my stay in Sydney. The price was in fact lower, but not significantly, than that at the Intercontinental, a well-known and appreciated 5* hotel in Sydney. I can't describe my disappointment when I entered the room. Bare and plain, it looked like the room of a mediocre motel in Dallas. The bathroom deserves a special mention, with its old tiles on the floor and the walls and a sink that reminded me of the movie "Escape from Alcatraz". Being late at night I ordered a hamburger from the in-room dining (temperature medium-rare, unfortunately delivered as a very weel done one) and I tried to top it with something sweet from the minibar. Too bad that the chocolate bars were all rotten (cf. attached photo) and unsuitable for human consumption. The day after I woke up early and went to the gym, which turned out to be slightly smaller than my own room, poorly equipped and even more poorly lit. During breakfast, the coldness of the room and the abudance of seniors made me feel in a retirement home, possibly built out of the dining room of the hotel shown in the movie "Shining". I never had breakfast there again, both because of this unpleasantly cold atmosphere and because of the food. This hotel isn't worth its price, nor its rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Abhishek Sinha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing the feedback on your most recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the negative experience you encountered during your recent stay with us. This is not the experience we wish for our guests to have. I have shared your comments with our team. Kind Regards, Abhishek Sinha