Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

NEVER again ... Dont Book

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location but never again
Cons: Change your staff and maybe you will have better business especially male staff the girls were lovely
I have never been treated with so much disrespect in my entire life and even more when I'm a paying customer at a hotel lobby in front of other people !! I really think management need to read this and re-train their staff what it means to be in front desk and what customer care is like ! Never again will I ever stay in this hotel or recommend it to anyone. quick story I'm sitting in the hotel lobby I didn't notice my phone sound was a bit high to the liking of the staff out of the blue the front desk staff yells and scream... will you turn that f*cking sound down I don't need to deal with your distractions or put up with you! And I just replied excuse me why are you shouting at me you could have asked nicely and I would ofcourse turn it down he then even more rudely said I asked you twice while I'm talking to customers this guy is insane he thinks he told me yet I ignored him when in fact I didn't even know he was talking to me as he was talking to the customers he had, regardless of whatever if he had any standards of customer care the right approach would be to come around the desk and approach me and say: Sir I tried to tell you maybe you didn't pay attention that your phone is a bit to high, would you be so kind and lower it as it is getting hard to hear customers. Thank you so much for understanding . This would be the right way to talk to customer not yell at them and scold them in front of people it was so humiliating !!!! Never again DO NOT book at ARTs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast

Fabulous location

Posted May 27, 2017
A night at the SCG was complimented by a stay at this hotel. The short walk to the oval, closeness of pubs & cafes & general 'liveliness' of the local area make this a great choice for an overnight stay. Short walk from Museum station, a little longer to Central but still a comfortable walk in beautiful leafy streets. Room was small but very tidy & clean with all necessities provided. Staff were friendly & efficient. Room rate was very competitive. Will definitely choose again & recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant experience, could use an update

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The staff were pleasant and helpful
Cons: The decor of the rooms, windows were a bit dated.
Location: Paddington is great, plenty of good food and activities.
Was a good stay, staff were very accommodating. The decor and the rooms could do with a refresh, especially around the windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Nice hotel in cultural area

Posted May 8, 2017
Three great cafes and a cinema in the same block as this Arts hotel. Two of the bookstores are three storey with great cafes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel was in a good location and the pricing was fair. But the Wifi was horrid, to the point where our phones simply wouldn't connect. There was a thick layer of dust on the alarm clock beside the bed. The bed itself was on wheels that were not locked into place, meaning it moved anytime we nudged even slightly into it. One of the legs/wheels simply fell off. There was an elevator up to our floor but then we had to carry our heavy suitcases up a flight of stairs once on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Wotif
The staff were very friendly, with an excellent sense of humour! The hotel itself is comfortable, reasonably priced and is close to shops, restaurants and the beautiful Palace Verona Cinema.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Wotif
Great position, walk to the city. Small, relaxed with friendly helpful staff. Defiantly stay at Arts hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in fascinating part of the city

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Rooms would benefit from some redecoration.
Highly recommended for location and friendliness. The staff were extremely helpful, and were generous in allowing me to keep the car in the hotel car park for a couple of hours after check-out time. The room was clean, if a little tired looking, and the beds very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hunter Valley NSW

Very handy to SCG

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The location & - friendly reception.The rooms(although a bit dated) were clean and the beds were comfortable. The linen was nice & fresh and white.
Cons: Hotel and rooms need a little updating - definitely parking - very tight and difficult to get into and not very many parking places.
Location: The location was perfect for the SCG - an easy 10-15min walk and the UNSW Arthouse Kitchen Cafe in the next street was full of fabulous food.
We found the hotel but there were a few roadworks going on in Oxford Street and we almost missed the small laneway which took us behind the hotel to get into the carpark. We were warmly greeted by reception and were given our key cards for the rooms and a coupon for 10% discount at the bar next door (the WiFi password was on it too). The hotel is a little dated but the rooms were pleasant enough and we had a small balcony with a view over Oxford Street and even some harbour views. We chose the hotel for it's close proximity to the SCG as we were going to watch the AFL game Collingwood vs Swans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great location and quiet.
Cons: Better shampoo AND conditioner in the rooms.
Location: Oxford and Victoria Streets offer great eating and interesting shopping. Explore the back streets of Woollahra. Catch a bus almost anywhere in Sydney.
Perfect location in beautiful Paddington. So easy to get around Sydney from the Arts Hotel. Gorgeous cafes and restaurants close by. Great shopping! Don't expect glamour in the basic rooms, but they are clean, quiet and comfortable. Hotel staff are excellent. I would certainly recommend staying here if you are looking for a reasonably cheap hotel and want to stay somewhere that you can go for great walks and catch public transport around Sydney. There is some limited parking in the basement too.