Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable but uncomfortable

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Friendly staff to start with.
Location: On very busy Liverpool Road with very limited parking for 3 cars only.
Small rooms, toilet is up against the door you have to sit sideways. Beds kept moving when I moved, like they were on wheels. Unfriendly staff except for one young Asian looking lady. Parking limited to 3 cars, otherwise you park on very busy Liverpool Road which is Clearway from 6 am - 10 am. Parking is difficult at nearby streets. Kitchen is locked unless it is breakfast, too bad if you want to wash anything. Shower's drain was not good, shower head was leaking. Towels were terrible, wouldn't touch them.Pillow cases looked like they weren't fresh. Terrible experience. Floor was clean though. The whole place creaks and does not smell nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
The problem with anonymous reviews is that we are unable to pin point which room you occupied to enable us to attend to repairs if needed. It would have been great had you bought your concerns to us whilst staying here, so that we could have made your stay a little more pleasant. The kitchen is locked for cleaning between 2-3pm only, and linen is laundered each time the room is vacated. Our building is over 100 years old, and yes the floors are a little creaky in spots. One would have thought it to be part of the ambiance when staying in an accommodation provider such us Ashfield Manor
4 out of 5
by DEREK R.

Headed to Oz

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel was fairly basic but clean, Jen the manageress was fantastic, helpful all the while we were there. The room had everything we needed for bedding down whilst sightseeing in Sydney for the last few days of our visit to Australia, inc air con, fridge,en suite. Had to ask for hair dryer & iron but was supplied. Fresh towels every day without asking despite the usual rules in hotels, put them on floor etc if you want them changed. Very close to the CBD & major sight seeing via a 10 min walk to train station & 10/15 minute ride into Central/Circular Quay, looking forward to returning & if we stop in Sydney we'll definitely use here to bed down... Thanks again Jen... Derek & Julia Roberts X
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Easy links to the centre

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Great hotel about 6-7 minute walk to Ashfield station which has direct links to the centre and frequent trains late into the night. Room was very clean and comfortable. Good stay and slept very well with no noise disturbance at all. Thanks for a great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Ben, we at all times strive to provide clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Hopefully we will see you again at Ashfield manor in the near future.
3 out of 5
by suk

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you Suk. We must reiterate that the room you reserved was a basic room with no private facilities, priced for the budget conscious. We hope that you at least enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, and the availability of tea & coffee available 24 hours.
4 out of 5
by David from Glen Waverley

Sydney Visit

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Had great difficulty in finding the address on the Navman GPS - Refused to accept the street address in Ashfield or the relevant Postcode. Other than tha, it served our purpose, and the counter staff and breakfast arrangements were very user friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you David for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly, and that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast. Whilst we can only provide our address to our guests, the failure of modern technology to detect the correct address is definitely a 1st world problem. Now that you know exactly where we are, perhaps we will see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Nella

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you Nella for your review. We are pleased that you found Ashfield manor to be 5 star worthy, we strive to make our customer experience a great one here with us.Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Ein "Home" für drei Wochen

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Es ist alles da, was man braucht
Location: Ashfield, eine Bushaltestelle direkt am Hotel. In 10 Minuten ist man zu Fuß an der Railway-Station. Von dort kann man direkt zum Circular Quay fahren
Ein sicherer Rückzugsort für unterschiedliche Unternehmungen: immer wieder Erleben und Genießen des CBD Andererseits das Zusammensein mit Familie und Freunden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Chris. We are pleased that you found Ashfield Manor to be a nice place to stay. We strive to provide a great guest experience at all times.
2 out of 5
by KD from A ROAD LESS TRAVELED..

LIKE GRANDMA'S HOUSE ONLY WORSER!

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
No privacy basically a house setup with rooms & no housekeeping service! Self service breakfast & 150mb internet lol Forget parking all spaces taken up by long term residents oh don't forget clear way times! Not worth the $110 per nite go elsewhere u have been warned!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Hello KD, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Ashfield Manor is a hotel/ bed & breakfast that has an eclectic mix of guests, which at times also includes some contract workers. All rooms are private, and guests mix with other guests, only at their behest. In order to keep our pricing as reasonable as possible, all guests are advised that housekeeping is not offered daily. Ashfield Manor offers an inexpensive alternative to larger accommodation providers, and includes a light breakfast of breads spreads & cereals, and 24/7 tea & coffee provided included in our nightly rate. Parking is limited, however, is available to our overnight guests only. We can only say what a shame you did not refer your concerns to the duty Manager at the time, who could very well have solved some issues for you. Ashfield Manor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BNE

Nice breakfast,friendly staff

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Lastminute
It is close to city and public transport, nice breakfast, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. Ashfield Manor is in fact on a few kilometres from the CBD and a few minutes walk to public transport. Ashfield Manor strives to ensure our guests have a great stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Lovely, Clean Room and Facilities

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Lastminute
Pros: Loved having access to my own bathroom (communal kitchens are fine but I prefer to have my own bathroom!)
Cons: Slightly more flexibility around check-in times
Location: An easy strole down to the Ashfield station, 10 minutes to Central and 10 minutes to Olympic Park + some lovely little local cafes.
I had a lovely stay at Ashfield Manor - super convenient location (10 minutes by train to Central and 10 minutes to Olympic Park!) in a small but very comfortable and clean room. The communal kitchen with 24 hour access to tea and coffee was a really nice touch for what was a very reasonably-priced night away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2016 by Jen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. Ashfield manor is very centrally located to all venues from Homebush to the CBD. We are usually very flexible regarding check in times, and advise our guests thatif the reserved room is not ready, that they are more than welcome to leave bags and return, or sit & wait in our communal lounge area. We apologise if you were not offered these options on the day.