Ratings based on 1,206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nsw

Run down and in desperate need a repaire

Posted Feb 6, 2016
For over $250/ night you expect more than what this hotels delivers. Everything this tattered and worn, from saggy old bed (with only one flat pillow pet person) to broken lamps, smelly curtains and most frustrating a bathroom with unhygienic cracked surfaces and a broken shower. Will not be staying here again !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

OK based on price.

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Renovations and upgrade to amenities.
Location: Location is fine for China Town area. Central Station is about 10-15 minutes away.
Close to Chinatown and reasonably close to Central station. The hotel is tired and the staff work hard to make up for it. The price was better for our 7 day stay than most in the downtown Sydney area. Walking to the Rocks/Circular Quay is about 30-40 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good, central location.

Posted Jan 12, 2016
The best thing about this hotel is its location within easy walking of Darling Harbour and the Powerhouse Museum. The rooms are spacious but very tired and in need of some upgrading. We had a very noisy night as a result of the thin walls! The mattress needed replacing as it was far too soft. However, the staff were helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quiet

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Quietness
Cons: bed size, general upgrade. Web image of hotel needs to include beautiful trees and some surrounds.
Location: Close to Darling Harbour
Old but comfortable hotel, well prepared and clean for our arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Good location

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Location and price
Cons: The breakfast was very disappointing.
Location: Not far by taxi to Sydney Fish Markets. Short walking distance to Paddy's Market, Chinatown & Chinese Freindship Gardens and lots of places to eat.
Quiet location with lots of places to visit within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Trevlig personal men annat som drar ner

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Luktade konstigt på hotellet, nästan så att man kände sig illamående av det. Väldigt slitet. Personalen var hjälpsamma. Internet var väldigt sporadiskt i lobbyn trots stationära datorer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and staff very friendly

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Lastminute
had a great 3 night stay at Aspire. room spacious & staff friendly. Pillows & sheets could have been better quality, but overall great experience.
2 out of 5
by ABRAHAM from Melbourne

First time and potentially last one

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
- The hotel is in a nice location, within walking distance to many interesting points - 2 points against this hotel were: 1) For the first 2 nights, around 9-10 pm there was a loud noise like an hydraulic hammer, nevertheless we could not see any constructions around the area, so we came to the conclusion that it were the pipes when the neighbors upstairs flushed the toilet 2) The day of the checkout I had to leave earlier than my family, so I asked the front desk if my wife could do the checkout without me and they confirmed that it was possible as long as she had an ID for myself and the card I used for the booking. When my wife tried to do the checkout, staff on reception changed their mind or something and told my wife she could not do the checkout on my behalf using even with my ID, my card and the previous confirmation from them, so she had to use her own card to pay for the breakfast we had in the hotel despite the fact they were already charged to the card I used for the booking.... still waiting for a refund on the double charge :@
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016
Dear Abraham Thank you for taking your time to write down your review regarding your stay with Aspire Hotel Sydney. Please accept our apologize regarding the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and we are sorry that our service did not meet your expectations. In regards to the check out procedure, I would like to confirm you that any guest in the room can do check-out as long as we received the key card upon check-out. Furthermore, in regards to the credit card charge you have mentioned in your review, we would like to sort this out as soon as possible. Therefore, please contact us directly over the phone or e-mail fimamura@aspirehotel.com. Once again, thank you for your review. Kind Regards Fumihiko Imamura Executive Assistant Manager Aspire Hotel Sydney
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old and dirty

Posted Nov 1, 2015
first time we stayed fell over in drive way due to broken and cracked enter front door second stay 10 days later we had no choose as we have prepaid I would never have returned to the Aspire every thing is dirty, old warn and broken, the bathrooms down stair are no soap, taps broken and no toilet paper. A good fire could help this place. I will never use Expedia.com again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice hotel, close to the train station.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, quiet, friendly staff.
Cons: I hope that the WiFi is free.
Location: t is close to the Central Station, close to Chinatown, and close to University of Technology Sydney. But, you have to pay for the Internet connection.
The hotel is clean and quiet. It is close to the Central Station, close to Chinatown, and close to University of Technology Sydney. But, you have to pay for the Internet connection.