Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Average hotel near Newtown Station / City

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to the city
Cons: Room and bathroom cleanliness and the mattress
Location: Shopping, dining, cafes and only 3 train stops to central
Tidy basic room with tea and coffee. Plenty of cockroaches, hair in the bed and the mattress needs replacing. If you are looking for a cheap accommodation close to town and you don't care about the standard it is a convenient place to stay. Great restaurants, shops and cafes in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Probably cheap as legally possible

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: it was cheap.
Cons: Proper blinds, remove the useless junk from rooms, rearrange the mirror, clean the mildew off the roof, fix/replace the annoying fridges
Location: Newtown is nice and has a street full of trendy little shops, cafes and bars. Short distance from the Enmore theatre
My girlfriend and I only needed a place to stay for one night and were fully aware that we were booking a cheap hotel, yet I was still surprised at the quality of the room.Upon a rival we were told that the room was still being cleaned, which wasn't much of a bother though this was already a while past the sign in time. It wasn't until we entered the room did we realize how cheap it was. The advertised picture of nice sheets, art on the walls and a bed side table was actually a double bed pushed into the corner, a shelf blocking off a door which I assumed was meant to lead to another room, a mini fridge that loudly started its refrigeration cycle at random times of the night and a large rectangle protruding from the wall which I could only guess was some kind of water heater. The art on the walls was instead a large mirror that was stuck behind the bed so you had to stand on the other side of the room to use it and the last addition was a wholly unneeded coat rack that sat in one corner. It was cheap, I get that, but my absolute main issue with the room was the cheap Venetian blinds. It wasn't until later that night that I realized that the blinds not only did a poor job of blocking the light but our room was entirely visible from around the corners of the blinds. This becomes an issue when our room is on the first floor and could be seen from an outside area of the lobby! If you don't mind clutter, mildew and complete lack of privacy, this is the hotel for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room was like a jail cell

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleaning bathroom's
Location: close to RPA only thing
room very small double bed tv size of laptop bathroom was shared walked into bathroom toilet was all wet like someone was a bad shot very again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lismore NSW

Charming

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Convenient
Location: Newtown vibe with shops & food
In a great fun location, enjoyed just out the door fun shops & great eating places with lots if varirty
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Terrible Terrible

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
This room was not represented accurately on the website at all. It was atrocious, and felt dirty. Its located in very busy and very bad area. If you want to stay in a place that has no locks on the windows, no air, no internet, an uncomfortable bed and nothing positive to say about it, then this is your place. Don't stay here! We were very disappointed in the hotel. We have never seen a room of such low standard. Room was tiny and poorly equipped. Facilities basically non existent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks cheap because it is cheap.

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Some of the more expensive hotel so stayed in didn't have free wifi so am glad this one did. Dirty shared bathrooms though. and dead insects in my room!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
It is not much good. Its located in very busy and very bad area. This room was not represented accurately on the website at all. It was atrocious, and felt dirty.Would never stay or recommend. If you want to stay in a place that has no locks on the windows, no air, no internet, an uncomfortable bed and nothing positive to say about it, then this is your place. Don't stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Mar 19, 2016
The place was really nice. Just 2 stations away from the city center . Surrounded by restaurants of all types the location is just perfect. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Overall an excellent place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable City Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Wotif
Check in and check out was easy and fast. Great location and clean tidy room. Will stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YOKOHAMA

NEWTOWNに在る実直なホテル

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: サービスに嫌味な過剰さがなく、適度に距離感があって気持ち良く滞在できる。 シャワーも十分に熱いお湯が出るし、きちんと毎日清掃が入るので清潔です。 何より木陰で涼しい風が吹き抜ける中庭と共同キッチンの居心地が良い。 無駄がなく、必要最低限の設備でも、きちんと手が入った誠実さを感じます。 静か。
Cons: ベッドのスプリングが少し弱い。 部屋にドアストッパーが欲しい。 ただ不便に感じるほどではなかったので、改善と言う意見でもありません。
Location: 有名なゲイタウンですが通り沿いはレストラン、カフェ、バー、古着屋、リサイクル屋、また新進のアーティストが店を構えているなどお洒落に敏感な若者が集う街と言う感じ。駅まで行かないとスーパーがないのでそこが不便。どこも比較的早い時間に店じまいします。土日夜の方が混むのでHipな街の印象そのまま。
NEWTOWN駅からKing stを南へ下って5分ほどの通り沿いにあります。日中はフロントに人がいますが夜間は無人になるので、フロント横の非常口から出入りするよう合鍵を渡されます。朝も10時くらいまでフロントに人が来ないので、それ以前にチェックアウトする人は従業員専用のフロント通用口のドアの穴に鍵をドロップして出て行く形です。私は2階(日本で言う3階)の共同シャワー・シングルに泊まりました。部屋は6畳ほどでベッド机と椅子、テレビや電気ポット、冷蔵庫などが集約されている棚がありました。部屋の設備は古いですが(泊まったシングルはファンのみ)掃除は行き届いていて、リネン類も清潔です。バスタオル、石鹸、トイレットペーパー、ボックスティシュー、簡単な初期類、インスタントコーヒーやお茶も用意されています。清掃も毎日入りますが、タオルは替えてくれるけれどベッドメイクはなし。ゴミは毎日捨ててくれても、開けっ放しのテラスのドアは閉めないなど、過剰なルームメイクの嫌味さがなくて好ましいです。気候がいい時期は1階の中庭に面した共同キッチンが風通しがよく気持ち良いです。中華系の真面目で物静かな家族が切り盛りしているので、全体的に適度に距離感があって心地よい。目の前がバス停なので、シティへ向かうにも422番のバス一本で行けて便利。アジアの安宿を思わせるユルさが好みの方にはお薦めします。