Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Private rooms with ensuite are very small

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Smallest room I've ever experienced and the design of the shower made it leak all over the bathroom floor. The bathroom door handle was also broken (not that we were told about this) and when the H&M tag wedged into the door frame was removed, the door locked me inside and took a lot of effort to open again from the outside. Nothing horrific, but not the best either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

X base as X-pected.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The food storage and fridges were generous, and well used by all. A good amount of stoves, pots and pans and cutlery. The Cleaners were efficient.
Cons: Any changes would deviate from the 'X-Base' formula.
Location: Centrally located. Withing walking distance of Town Hall station, Chinatown, Paddy's market, Darling harbour, The Rock, The Domain and central city.
X Base has the formula for the F.I.T. / backpacker / hostel experience well in hand. X Base is the 'McDonald's' of back packer experiences - you know what you're going to get. There's nothing wrong with this per se, it does the job of providing affordable accommodation, well organised, clean and safe. It is functional but ultimately, forgettable. This particular X Base has rooms spread across several adjacent buildings. To find your room, directions are well signposted, but it's a bit of a maze. Air plugs were provided as the street noise is pretty heavy. The single elevator was old and slow - of which this was noted with a sign. The kitchen was very large with no lack of equipment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice hotel if you don’t mind the noise till 11~1

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Great location with and great facilities. Would get noisy till 11pm~3am as there’s a pub right next to it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy Frat Party

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: A little less constant blaring of noise., noise, noise!!!
Location: It is centrally located near Hyde Park and Darling Harbor, with plenty of pretty and fun things to do.
The staff was actually wonderful, the location was great, but I was a bit bothered by the constant pounding of music, the lack of any house rules, the bare naked obnoxious drunk falling on my bed at 2 am yelling obscenities and then spitting all over the room., and then they charged me twice for the experience.. In fairness, however, the staff was very good about my refund!! To be clear, I cannot complain about the staff!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Location

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Excellent location in the Sydney CBD close to trains and Darling Harbour. Rooms are very well cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hostel in the city

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location, clean and spacious room.
Cons: You can't leave your luggage there unless you pay for the locker.
Location: You can walk to all of the must-go spots in Sydney and it's also close to the train station.
Friendly staff, the room and bathrooms are clean, great location. A bit more expensive but it's worthy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Need to clean black mold and mildew smell from rooms
Had to get a different room due to stuff (black) growing on walls and ceiling by window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great Hostel!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great location. Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Room and bathroom always cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

I wouldn t stay there again

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I wish I didn't stay in this hostel. It smelled everywhere and I had to hold on my breath and just walk through. Also, in the room you couldn't open the window The staff were friendly and the location was really good. At least it was ok but not worth the money we spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford UK

Friendly polite helpful staff.

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, layback but efficient.
Cons: Lift not always working. A toilet on ground floor would be great.
Location: Darling harbour not far. Plenty of buses nearby. Central station a bit of a walk.
Basic but pleasant. Early morning starts not a problem. Kitchen equipment OK.