Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

good view from room close to all beaches

Posted May 1, 2017
Cons: room card de-mangetised to could close door one morning, had to wait until staff arrived
good location, breakfast at trio excellent. good distance to Bondi and other beaches
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. In the event of not being able to access your room we do have a night manager on call until reception opens to help with any issues. :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A bed close to the beach... and that's about it

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds... and that's about it
Cons: Everything. Cleaner bathrooms, faster WiFi, "free" coffee is a joke, accepting any value on credit cards, air con, a PROPER 2 bed room etc.
Location: Bondi Beach! Literally the only saving grace of this place
I'm telling you now, 80% of the price you pay is literally due to location as it's just a 10 minute walk from Bondi beach. So that's great. Besides that, the "twin" or big rooms have bunk beds while giving you the impression that you'll get two. No aircon, just a fan and a window without a screen! This is Australia. Bugs will come in. Then there's the ARTIFICIALLY slow WiFi (I have proof). First, it's not in rooms. You have to sit in a common kitchen/dining area. Fine, not that big of a deal right? So I went and it was literally un-useable. So I asked the front desk and he's like "yeah it's slow if many people are using it". I figured what the hell, let's go for the premium WiFi for $5 (which somehow, magically does reach the rooms. Hmm). Unfortunately, they live in 1999 and don't accept payments on credit card for less than $10. So if you're going to stay at this sad excuse for a hostel, be sure to bundle your premium wifi with the room so they can charge it on your card. I gave up and went to a nearby McDonalds. Then at night somehow I awoke at around 3am. Too hot to go back to sleep, I figured I'd go back downstairs and catch up on some remaining email and client work. I was literally the ONLY person in the common dining room and the WiFi was STILL atrocious. Like, so bad that you have to wait 5 minutes just for Gmail to load. God fobid you visit a website with some pictures... don't even bother. There's literally ZERO excuse in 2017 to have WiFi this bad. AVOID.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Bondi Beachouse Crew, Hotel Management
May I start by thanking you for your comments in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. In regards to the layout of our twin rooms, they are clearly dispayed on our YHA website and many other booking sites - the bunk bed configuration for twin rooms is fairly standard within hostels. Apologies for not accepting $5 credit card payment however EFTPOS fees for for small independant businesses (we are an associate YHA) can become costly, which would then be reflected in a price increase for accomodation which we try to avoid. Kind Regards.
1 out of 5
by Michael

ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
This has to be the most disgusting place I have ever stayed. The room was covered in the previous occupiers hair. The kitchen area is filthy and way too small for the amount of residents. 4 female toilets and 4 male toilets, 2 male and 2 female sinks and 2 shared sinks between 90ish rooms of which some have 4,6 or however many guests in each so all in all, ridiculous. If you want to use the toilet whilst someone is in the shower then tough luck because the shower and the toilet are in the same room and if you are cleaning your teeth ( in the only sink) and someone comes out the loo wanting to wash their hands then they either stand up your backside or you move and let them get on with it because there is not room for 2 bodies and that is a shared male female sink. The staff are as grumpy as, totally rude and unhelpful and only interested in their relationships with other staff members. Cockroach's in our room. Fridges so full with peoples food there is hardly any room to put your food anywhere, on looking a lot of the food is way out of date. The same bottles of curdled milk were there when we arrived and still there when we left. The place needs condemning. I would advise against staying here even if you are desperate. Don't think I could be paid to stay there let alone pay their rip off prices ever again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable budget option in the bondi area

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great location, easy walk to beach, bondi/coogee coastal walk n bondi beach itself. Half hour walk to bondi junction. Quiet area. Spectacular views from the rooftop deck. Great day options. Cons: Limited share bathroom facilities, but usually found one free if you move up a level..or two.... Bring a sleep eye patch if you're sensitive to light...the curtains certainly dont block the light.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Good location

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Wotif
Good location and can walk to the beach. Place is old with a funny smell . Rooms were clean but bathroom on floor 3 was dirty with a bad smell
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close you the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Wotif
No toilet paper in toilets. Would be nice to have a fan in the room, very hot! Close to beach though, and reasonable value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: air conditioning, a drinking and smoking outdoor area at night time
Location: perfect location
the british reception was rude and demanded help to complete her job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains

I'll be back for sure

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Quiet, plenty of parking and near everything.
Friendly staff, clean and comfy room, best bathroom of all the hostels I have stayed in Sydney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: Great location to bondi beach and ice bergs
clean room, linen and bathrooms. Excellent roof top space and view