Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Break free but not mouldfree

Posted May 13, 2017
The room had a very strong mould smell - and I mean strong! There were no irons available in the room. Reception weren't very helpful in helping me to get one. It was suggested that I use the iron in the common area. The ironing board was dirty and ripped. The iron was black and dirty. This place is not recomended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New South Wales

Good location, very comfortable

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Close to pubs, Darling Harbour
Staff lovely, great stay, Comfortable bed, good location,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

very nice hotel probably will stay again

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: very close to Town hall train station,Darling harbour walking distance to circular quay
Cons: free WI-FI every hotel has that, how expensive is internet this days $49 for month unlimited data so asking $10 for 24 h is no good business .
Location: It is close to darling harbour, we walk to fish market, Opera ,plenty of bars and restaurants around Victoria house
we spend four nights,all went good,handy location in the city centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Location was good,as I said close to QVB,and eye clinic.
Stayed here as it was convenient and close to Personal Eyes where I had eye surgery.Stay was pleasant and room was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Do It

Posted Mar 30, 2017
good location/good shower/fire trap/poor temperature control/horrible view /horrible window/capsule size room/good laundry
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by The Breakfree on Clarence Team , Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay with Breakfree on Clarence did not meet your expectations. Every effort is made with description and photos to convey the size of our Single Rooms. These are small rooms offered as a “bed for the night” in a room with the necessary comforts. Our hotel rooms will undergo a refurbishment soon. it will upgrade our offerings in the future. Thank you. Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Arrived to mould

Posted Mar 24, 2017
We got to our room; and opened the door to a wall of mould. The carpet was literally soggy and growing mould on it and up the wall. We asked for a new room but they didn't have any, so we cancelled the booking and went elsewhere. The foyer and all walls around the hotel were grubby. Everything needs a new coat of paint at the very least. For the price, i wouldn't recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by The Breakfree on Clarence Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that Breakfree on Clarence did not live up to your expectations. We aim to offer an ideal, comfortable budget alternative within the Sydney CBD. We apologise for the oversights, which led to inconvenience during your time with us. Our hotel rooms will be undergoing refurbishments in the near future. This will assist in improving our product by giving the rooms a fresh, updated look and improve guest experience. Comments have been reviewed regarding the thermostat. We review any potential maintenance issues ASAP when brought to our attention. Kind Regards, The Breakfree on Clarence Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Not a hotel we would recommend.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The hotel was not known to taxi drivers and difficult to spot in traffic. The room was tiny with hardly any space around the bed. Bathroom had been upgraded but carpet just outside the sliding door was disgusting with heavy staining from who knows what.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by The Breakfree on Clarence Team , Hotel Management
Dear Nina, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence. We appreciate any feedback in regards to helping improve our service for future guests. We are currently planning on upgrading our product. This upgrade includes guest rooms, public area and ground floor. It will lift our offerings for all guest and hopefully this will allow you to reconsider staying with us on a future trip to Sydney. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The only good things about this hotel is its location and the bed sheets were clean (thankfully).
Cons: everything
Location: good location - walking distance to many attractions
Would never recommend this hotel or stay here again. The rooms/shared kitchen on 2nd floor are absolutely filthy. From smear marks on the bathroom walls, food(?) stains down the side of the bed onto the bedside table, food ground into the carpet, and makeup (looked like foundation) smears all over the wall by the mirror. Not to mention the dust building up around the ripped carpet edges and black marks all over the wall. When we complained about the state of the room, the front desk clerk blamed the dirtiness on 'the building being old' and looked at / talked to us like we were some upper class snobs that should just switch hotels. Did not enjoy our stay at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by The BreakFree on Clarence Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of BreakFree on Clarence. It is unfortunate to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding cleanliness. This has been passed on to our Housekeeping staff in order to improve our service to patrons. We apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your stay with us. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WARNING TO FUTURE CLIENTS

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, and service from staff when i lodged my complaint
Cons: honesty in rooms offered
Location: excellent for trade shows, darling harbour, overnight / short term
check the image of what you are booking as first offer the bed was against the wall top and bottom, and one side 6" from wall / window
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review of Breakfree on Clarence.We are glad to hear you appreciated our location, cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. All effort is made to show our rooms accurately. As advised upon your arrival, the room shown in the booking confirmation is a "hotel portrayal" picture. Usually this is of a Family Suite room and therefore would not reflect the Queen room that you had booked. However, upon making a booking, each room type is shown with pictures and description for guests to make their decisions. Kind Regards.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Within walking distance of major attractions

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Freshening of decoration and furnishings
Location: As above
Ok for a bed for the night but the hotel was tired. Dirty marks on the walls, mould in the shower, but the worst part were the worn patches on the bed head caused by previous guests heads. On the plus side the hotel is centrally located being minutes walk away from Darling Harbour, The Rocks, The Opera House, Botanical Gardens, QVB and Westfield.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by The Breakfree on Clarence Team , Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for your feedback of BreakFree on Clarence. We are sorry to hear that you did not like the lay out of our room and had to change room. Your comments have been taken on board with regards to the room layout, general hotel experience. Every effort will be made to improve BreakFree on Clarence for our guests. We would like to share, our hotel will be undergoing refurbishments in the coming months, helping to provide better product for all of you. Kind Regards, The BreakFree on Clarence Team