Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to event we were attending.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Closeness to our event.
Cons: Control the heat!
I am disappointed with the room. The T.V. Didn't work. We couldn't control the the room temperature. It was too hot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Nice Hotel clean and comfortable. It has Restaurant and nice view
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Cool grey hair guy. , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing Cambridge Suites during your last few visits to Sydney. We work very hard to prepare for each guest so each person will have a memorable experience. See you on your next trip - Doug
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rothesay, NB

$7.00 parking charge for Expedia guests

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The hotel charges $7.00 / day parking if you book using Expedia. This is really unfair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Doug. , Hotel Management
Thank you Lorne for your feedback. Overnight parking charges are incurred by guests if they use our parking lot, it is not based on Expedia. I'm sorry you felt that way, it was not our intention. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit, Doug.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the waterfront.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Staff were extremely helpful and provided an upgrade to harbour view. The restaurant is rated best in Sidney so great meals. Great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Cool grey hair guy, Hotel Management
Our team will be very pleased to read your wonderful comments! Trio is very popular each night - thank you very much for your support, Doug
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Down Home Hospitality + High Level Professionalism

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cape Bretoners are known for making you feel at home and taken care of, and this was definitely the case with everyone I encountered who works at Cambridge Suites in Sydney. From the front desk staff to the restaurant staff to the maintenance staff, everyone was friendly and made a point of taking care of whatever I needed. This included calling my room when space at the restaurant opened up (dinner was booked for hours!), helping me with cabs and local services, and everything else. The hotel price is about what you'd expect for accommodations (space, furnishings, services) of that calibre, but it was the PEOPLE who work here who made it a cut above other experiences at similar places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Cool grey hair guy, Hotel Management
Very true Rebecca! Our team comes from many different backgrounds and experiences - this creates a very dynamic team that creates the wonderful guest experience during your stay. Please come back and see us again - Doug
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ont ca

Nice clean quiet

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Good breakfast nice people good price clean nice area
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Cool grey hair guy., Hotel Management
Thank you GCB, Cambridge Suites is very proud of our hotel and our energetic team! Love to see you again - Doug
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great location not so great experience.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
I am usually not the person to complain but this hotel did not meet my expectations. My girlfriend and I decided to have a weekend away and chose this hotel based on reviews. We decided to spend a little more and booked a suite. We have stayed in a couple suites in other hotels so we expected this one to be as nice or nicer! (Based on the reviews) We arrived to the hotel and checked in. The staff were nice and check in went smooth. We went to our room and as soon as we opened the door to the suite we were met with an odd smell? I though ok I can get over this... I noticed bottles left over from the previous guests in the garbage cans, again I could live with this... The room was in need of some maintenance, paint peeling off the walls in spots, one of the bathroom doors would barley open and there was a hole in the wall in the bathroom. When we walked In the bedroom we were met with a large red stain on the mattress that any cleaning person should have noticed. We called the front desk and the brought a new comforter. The service person said he couldn't believe someone missed that... there were a few other small inconveniences like keys not working etc but the stain was the worst.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Doug, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for telling us about your experience. The condition of your suite is very important to everyone - I apologize that we did not meet our standards. Please contact me directly to secure your future reservation. Thank you, Doug
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I did not sleep a wink!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Stay away from room 600. Do not get a room near the elevator. I called to change rooms and it just rang and rang. I didn’t go with my gut instinct and decided to just let it go and stay in the room. It was so horribly noisy even with the fan on and the TV I could still hear the mechanics of the elevator. When I went to check out I asked them if that was the last one they had and why they gave it to me. They said people don’t complain about it. I really find that hard to believe. We did have dinner in the restaurant there and it was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Doug, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your night. I would like to update your information so you never stay in a suite close to the elevator, please let any of our reservation team know when you are booking your next visit. Thank you, Doug
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Staff were welcoming and cooperative.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Pleasant atmosphere!
Cons: I'd have to think about it.
Location: Close to the water, yet convenient to shops and churches.
We arrived late and my son was hungry. The desk clerk recommended a restaurant that would do take-out. All I wanted was a peanut butter sandwich and a glass of milk. Later, we were unpacking when there was a knock at the door. There stood the desk clerk with a plate piled with bread, several packets of peanut butter, and a large glass of milk. Typical Maritime hospitality!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Cool grey hair guy, Hotel Management
Thank you for travelling to Sydney for your trip. I personally expressed your thanks to both of the team members who prepared your late night snack. It is that detail that sets Cambridge apart from your typical hotel stay. Hopefully you will be back with your family in the near future - Doug
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Very nice location on the water and walking distance to downtown restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Cool grey hair guy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, we are very proud of our hotel and our dedicated team. See you again, Doug