Ratings based on 1,424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Convenient within walking minutes to city center.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Lift
Location: Pitt Street shopping, CBD, Hyde Park, Darling Harbour
Pronounce "Castle-reeg" is an old world charm within CBD Sydney. Knocks one back to decades of once a posh hotel. Still managed to retain a certain characteristics. Most appealing is its location just round the corner to Sydney Tower Eye on Westfield at Pitt Street. Walking distance of 15 minutes towards Darling Harbour, near 3 train stations, Town Hall, St James and Museum stations. Many separate tours operate their pick ups from within the vicinity of Pitt Street less than 10 minutes walking radius. Facilities are good and staffs are helpful at most times.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The lobby
Cons: Bathroom door came off.
Location: Nearby to train station, David Jones, Pubs and lots of good places to eat.
Very old and beautiful art deco building with a lot of history. Also next door to pub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

A hotel of historical feel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Quite clean , convenient location , may have reminiscence of the past Sydney.
Cons: Improve brightness of the light bulb in the room. Or simply add a standing lamp to ease baggage packing. Also, it is hoped the staff can smile more
Location: A walk in Hyde Park or shopping in the famous Department Stores or QVB
The room light was too dim to do any map reading. It is more suitable for travelers who only stay a short while in the room. Disappointed that late check out could only be granted up to 11:30 am , not even 12 noon !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 2601

Great Hotel in the centre of the CBD

Posted Jul 11, 2016
This is a great venue ideally suited to a group of friends meeting for a quiet drink and then a quality meal. Friendly atmosphere in a heritage building and then a quiet nights rest. Hard to beat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Cosy and in an excellent location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in room 1008. The room was compact and cosy and for the price suited our needs well. It was about a 3 minute walk from town hall station by cutting through the anz building and adjoining court yard. Lots of convenience stores, Woolworths and a food court near by. The reception staff were very helpful allowing us to check in almost 4 hours early after an early flight from interstate. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Our only complaint and it's a small one was the temperature in the room. We just couldn't get it cool enough. We didn't address this issue with staff though. We did order room service on our second night. It arrived promptly, was reasonably priced, well presented and delicious. We checked out at 3:30am for a 6am flight without any hassles. Take note though that town hall station doesn't open until 4am. Standing on the George street waiting in the dark for 20minutes was a little unnerving. Airport train leaves from platform 6. We would definitely stay here again. Can't be beaten for price and location and the staff were great. The building has so much old world charm. Really beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy place in perfect location!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
It was luxurious, the staff was helpful, professional and friendly and the location was perfect! Walk to lots of sights and close to subway and bus for other sights
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south coast

Very convenient for our purpose in the city

Posted Jun 27, 2016
We were very happy with our stay and will book again in the future, breakfast was delicious
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice are close to everything

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: close to everything
only trouble with the room when you turn the air conditioner off. it sounds like it is still going no window to look out of
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
I would certainly book again. The queen room is a great sized room with plenty of space
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Usually very good

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Great central location . Good charming traditional feel to the hotel.
Cons: Greater attention to detail
Location: See above
Disappointing stay this time though stays were very good. What went wrong you wonder? Well not impressed when I found the the full remnants of the previous room customer in the toilet, Having an early start to the airport I booked a wake-up call for 6.30 which unfortunately never eventuated. Still I guess hiccups occur and based on previous experience I would give the hotel another try.