Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Although small the room was comfortable.
Location: No restaurants found that could be walked to. But there is quick and easy access to the train station.
The room was small clean and for the most part quiet. But I could hear person in the room next door as they moved around the room. There are no restaurants close in the evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was nice and good location

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Good location and close to food shopping and attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dissapointed

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Great location, comfortable bed.
Cons: internet and a valet to carry luggage
Location: Everything is very close, the rocks and circular key.
Although advertised as free Wi-Fi it was almost non existent in the room, you had to leave your room and move to the communal lounge to get it.. No good for lots of luggage as no elevator. Rooms are extremely small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vernor QLD

Great location. Room was small, but did us fine.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: No breakfast, but we found some close cafes
Location: Just a short walk to Martin Place and to the Ferries and The Rocks.
I'm only writing this to fill in the space. It was fine. Just stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Main Problem NO LIFT

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: Picture on Expedia of the staircase is turned sideways. I didn't even realize it was a staircase but thought it was a paneled wall.
That was not obvious on Expedia's website. You have to climb 2 sets of stairs just to get to the reception. Then more stairs to get to the rooms unless you manage to get a room on the reception floor. There's no one to help with the bags. This would probably not be a problem for someone young who is only staying in Australia a week or so and traveling light. For that person this hotel is close to the circular quay, the opera house, the rocks, and the botanical gardens, plus lots of good restaurants and pubs. For those of us in our 70's spending a month traveling through Australia with a large suitcase this hotel is less than ideal. It would also not be good for anyone starting a cruise from Sydney due to luggage needed on board ship. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice hotel perfect location

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Wotif
Very happy with our stay at City Lodge Hotel.Ideal location,friendly staff,clean,low rates.Stairs steep but good exercise.Enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by George from cooroy

uncomfortable

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
noisy and cheap
2 out of 5
by George from Cooroy

cheap stay

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
Location and price were good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Wotif
Nobody helps to carry the luggage. Stairs only. Floor is slippery. Bed cover is filthy. The service is not up to standard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but not so clean

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Large room, very convenient location close to everything in CBD and Wynyard train station. Hotel is very tired, bathroom stank.