Ratings based on 3,615 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Not happy in room on 3rd floor next to lift. Very very smal also. But I suppose it was ok for 1 night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

A great place to stay in Sydney

Posted May 31, 2017
This hotel is in a brilliant location and everything the city has to offer is in a walkable distance. The restaurant at the hotel is absolutely fantastic and very well priced. Clean, comfortable rooms - everything you need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Don't stay in Room 517

Posted May 28, 2017
The staff was the only redeeming part of our stay. Our room had no sound proofing at all so when roadworks started at midnight through till 5am you got to hear everything due to no sleep. Check before booking if your room gets serviced as they didn't even bother to empty the rubbish bins or change or towels (which would have taken seconds to do and happy clients). So if you stay just make sure you don't get the key to room 517.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld

Location of hotel is perfect and very central.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location was good, staff were friendly and helpful. With our short stay, without in-house attendance, it was doable as it was comfortable and clean.
Cons: The quality of Breakfast menu and presentation in regards to the price. Notification of payable Wifi services when booking is being made.
Location: Good, safe Walking distances to Asian food, Cafes, Paddy's Market, other choices of shops around Sydney. Long time road works happening on George St.
It was a convenient location, not very noisy at night and felt very safe walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

nice clean hotel with a huge bed, helpful staff

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Central location, price, cleanliness and really helpful staff
Cons: cleaning of the rooms.
Location: 200 mtrs from the train station. On the main streets are lots of food eateries. downside too many massage parlours.
No problems with anything. The breakfast sanger was not that good it was very greasy and I did not order it again the next day but had breakfast out instead. The hotel staff helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them to attend to. They were able to print out my excursion bus ticket which was very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted May 13, 2017
When I stayed there, they are under construction their facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slept soundly

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly concierge.
Cons: Cannot think of anything
Location: Its a good spot for shopping.
Went to the Royal Easter Show which was easy to get to and back again due to Great Southern's good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Locality good

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location only
Cons: They are improving it now but very long over due
Location: Right near Paddys Market, short walk to Central Station.
I could have stayed up the street at break free for a little extra Money and much nicer hotel We were up graded to a balcony, well what a dingy balcony. Will not be staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

Handy to Christ Church St Laurence

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff which were very obliging.
Cons: Found the text button on the TV annoying. Could not get rid of the text which I find annoying.
Location: I was close to Christ Church St Laurence. It was also a good place handy to Central Railway Station where I could just get the train to Home bush.
Originally only decided one night but decided to stay two nights. Staff were very obliging and helpful. Sunday for visiting my friends at CCSL and Monday for a place to come back after the Royal Easter Show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Staff where great very helpful great spot food was excellent