Ratings based on 3,379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cologne

Very expensive but disappointing

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The name of the hotel (and the price) lets you expect you will go to very luxury place. But everything is old and you know the best times of the hotel are over. You have to pay for internet in the lobby, for wifi on your room and even if you want to leave your luggage during the day. Though the location is very good, close to Central and within China town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Great hotel close to Central Station

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Need to pay for Wifi which is disappointing.
Location: Across from Central Station and in heart of CBD
We always stay there. Great hotel, food and bar. Nice staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turangi, NZ

Sydney CBD stay for 8 nights

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Location is excellent, being only 300 meters from the central station. Only a 15 minute walk to Darling harbour or middle of down town.
Very happy with the room, we knew it was an old buiding and what the room would be like. It was very clean, nice size and bathroom was very good. We were on the 6th floor and the air con units on the roof were noisey but not all night. The bed was very hard, more than we liked and the pillows were the same. Did manage to get some softer ones which was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Poor rooms

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Room size was tiny although clean room service was not the best, when requesting some ice for room to have a drink whilst watching a movie we had paid 16 dollars for we wee told no drinking is discouraged in the rooms will not be useing this hotel again .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Cons: Open up the reception desk.
As always, a good place to stay. It's central, easy access and the staff are very professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very clean, tidy, friendly and helpful staff. I fo

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Small and friendly and quiet.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Close to railway station and city center.
Excellent. I re-booked to stay here again before I left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel very central

Posted Oct 29, 2016
It is an old hotel but well kept very friendly & accomadating staff & clean. Also will store your bags all day for 24 hours when check out. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

pleasing budget hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Was not expecting the amenities provided for the price
Cons: Rooms a bit small but no great hassle, and the room was not made up when the tag was left on the door
Location: Location was excellent, walk to china town, city centre and central station.
Check in and check out no fuss, although the rooms are on the small side their still comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future! Unfortunately the rooms are small due to the building being heritage listed. Sorry housekeeping didnt service your room- next time ask us at reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was more than please to be upgrade to a suite room

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The upgrade room and close to Food venues and enterainent,
Cons: Website and have stayed at the Great Southern in Melbourne.
Location: Near China Town, Hotels, Paddys Market and other shops. Plenty of eating venues close by, not far from the cruise terimal.
Found everything very good, close to Paddys Market and shops and China town, loved it,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from country N.S.W.

Close to central railway and perfect for our trip.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The position, the price, the vintage decor.
Comfortable and efficient suited to our requirements. Enjoyed the vintage decor!