Ratings based on 3,283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great hotel great spot loved it staff very helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The cleaning staff were rude and I wasn't happy because I posted a "do not disturb sign" on my door, And still tried yo come in after I said not too..didn't get my breakfast as well...terrible service never coming back and too Sydney because of it...don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The room is not clean as I thought and it's quite old. It's quite noisy at night cause I can hear what the ppl talking about of the room which next to my room. Also, it is not very close to the station as well. It takes me abt 20mins to go there so that it's not convenient as I was carrying luggage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, west Aust.

Disgusting hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Show it in photos as it truely is. This is a back packers hotel.
Location: Didn't get a chance to find out, we moved to a another hotel for our 2nd night.
Our arrival date was the 12th July, I incorrectly put it the 11th , our departure day from Hawaii. They wanted to charge us $379.00 for 1 nights stay for 4 people. The 2 original nights cost $476.00 for 4. I would class the property as a 2 star & feel they are not desereving of that. The room was small, dirty shower recess, grout & bottom areas of shower frame. The 3 door hinges coated in black grease, with dust & hair attached to it. A dirty flannel behind toilet, which I left there. Sister in laws room, white blanket had dried white something on it, leave that to your disgression. Sheets were clean but sounded like canvas, which woke me every time I turned. I have taken photos of these complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How is this a 4 star??!!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Someone needs to get out to the (un)Great Southern Hotel to re-rate it! How on earth this is a 4 star baffles me. 2 star staff on arrival. No cares given. Albeit the guy on my exit seemed upbeat. He's clearly in the wrong hotel. Room is tiny but not the be all to end all. Furniture, carpets, bedding seriously dated. 2.5 stars. Bed was comfy. Sheets were clean. Good shower pressure but facial tissue dispenser mounted above the toilet??!! Ewww! 2 minus 2 stars! Yuck! Carpet hadn't been cleaned before my visit. Bedding (except sheets & cases) and spare blanket weren't clean. Thankfully the bed was comfy so u had a decent sleep. 3.5 stars. Woke up to entire room smelling like smoke though so... Back to 2 stars! A hotel shouldn't be able to maintain a 4 star rating when it barely makes a 3. And to charge similar to other 4 stars? Not cool. Great location but I'd bd reluctant to stay here again and have warned my colleagues who were all dying to know if it would be suitable for them too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel very central to railway station

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Clean & good price
Cons: Just softer pillows but good overall
Location: Very good location
The staff were very efficient & friendly rooms were very clean & comftable & central to china town & central station .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lightning ridge

near central train station

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: i love old fashioned things the lobby is full of charm and character.. collector-able antiques displayed throughout
Location: train station.. th eatres.. many many eateries
staff understanding.. arrived late left early.. they were caring
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location to transport and reasonable value

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Value
Hotel all we needed for short stay. Close tonight transport
5 out of 5
by TERRY

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Love the place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city sights and transport

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Wotif
Really enjoy staying at this quaint hotel close to Central Station. Lots of affordable and tasty food choices on the menu. Rooms are compact with all the essentials at your fingertips. Great overnight accommodation.