Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect excep for room size

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Location: Smack in middle of The Rocks, most exciting place in Sydney
Unbeatable location, excellent staff, etc., but tiny room undermined the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We appreciate your positive feedback about our location and staff. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Regards Lauren Job General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small friendly and excellent location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Cool atmosphere!
Cons: Closer contact to a handful of great local restaurants so that the personality of the hotel extends when their guests eat out.
Location: The Rocks - easy access to the whole of Sydney. For first timers in the city there are awesome views of the opera house and bridge within 5 min walk.
3 days in Sydney - brilliant choice of hotel. All staff we met were helpful and friendly. The Rocks is ideal to explore the city or just wander around locally amongst the bars and small restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Wow! Thank you so much for your review & 5 star rating on Expedia. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our friendly staff and location. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Regards Lauren Job General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from willunga

Very charming and great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Excellent greeting from cheerful staff and a delightful room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Deborah, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We truly appreciate positive feedback about our cheerful staff and delightful rooms. We hope we can welcome you back to Harbour Rocks Hotel soon! Regards Lauren Job General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in Sydney's Rocks area.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Most friendly, efficient staff. Small cost comfortable and beautifully restored and equipped rooms with a pleasing interior decor and ambiance. Our only suggestion: room 205 needs an extra shelf for toiletries, new softer pillows, and we'd have liked to be able to open the window. We will return, and will confidently recommend this hotel to our friends.
4 out of 5
by Pierre from Paris

Très bien

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Je recommande, hôtel de bon standing, prestations très bonnes, super localisation. Le petit déjeuner pourrait être plus fournis, les plats "élaborés" sont payant en + du prix du petit déjeuner... c'est dommage
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 stars Perre!
4 out of 5
by Alan from Bradbury

Cosy and quality accommodation at The Rocks

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had a small glitch with room not ready but must compliment the reception staff for their very professional handling of the matter. Can't speak more highly about the friendliness and attitude of the people concerned. Well done. Fantastic boutique heritage hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Alan! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Great location

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Attentive and obliging staff. The hotel had a relaxing comfortable feel. Location,location.
Location: Fantastic location, central to The Rocks and Circular Quay. Was perfect for our venture to Sydney to the VIVID festival.
Great hotel, very clean, fantastic location, would not hesitate to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you so much for the 5 star review Jenny! We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Dylan
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Macquarie

Poor Value for money, tiny rooms, great location

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was in the middle of the Rocks in a heritage listed building when we were there for Vivid on the Sunday night of the Queens Birthday long weekend.
Cons: The price of a room is a joke and then having to pay for WiFi it should be free.
Location: The Rocks.
This was a mystery hotel through Wotif so I did not know where I was staying for five star pricing a night . I thought it was going to be one of the larger hotels at Circular Quay. This hotel does not have an elevator, lucky I was on the 1st floor. The rooms are so small there is only one chair in the room and no table, only a bench and the bathroom is tiny with no exhaust fan to clear any smells or steam from the bathroom. There is not any place comfortable to eat a meal due to lack of seating and space. Poor tea and coffee making facilities, with the crockery low down in the back of a cupboard. It also cost $10 a day for WiFi internet which should be free with such small rooms. Also when we were leaving the staff could not get a taxi for us as there where none out the front of the hotel and was told that they could not call one as they would not take the job as was only to central station. The staff then said they would hail a cab but due to the quiet nature of Harrington Street we did not see one pass so we then had to walk down to George Street, with all our luggage, to get one for ourselves. This is a 2 star hotel with 5 star pricing. All the good reviews must be from people where money is no object.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Dear Burgo, It was disappointing to see that your experience did not live up to expectations. We wish you all the best and hope that your future travels are more positive ones. Sincerely, Dylan Cole General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canberra

great location

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Every thing is within walking distance
Accomadation was great but the staff over charge me for a one night stay by $800 and don't care to fix it so I would recommend any one who stays there be careful because it's a different story when the hotel has to pay you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Hi Daryl, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I sincerely apologise for the error in billing. We understand this is not acceptable and can appreciate your disappointment. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Dylan Cole General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable Stay

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The view of the Harbour and Opera house from our room. The ambience and location in the Rocks area is a great aspect of this hotel
Cons: No
Location: Rocks area and Vivid
We enjoyed the Harbour views from our room and then later night photography down at the Quay area as we watched Vivid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Dylan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review!