Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Ideal location to the best part of Sydney

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The uniqueness and location
Cons: A larger, more clearly marked sign for the hotel.
Location: Ideal location in the most beautiful and interesting part of Sydney, within walking distance to the Sydney Opera House, ferries, and train.
This is an ideal location to stay in the most beautiful and interesting part of Sydney. It is within walking distance to the Sydney Opera House, ferries, wonderful restaurants, the lively harbor, music, the weekend markets, etc. It is also within easy walking distance (with one piece of luggage on wheels) from the train station, if you take the 20 minute train ride from the airport. The hotel is interesting and unique, as an historic part of Sydney. Two cautions: 1) The hotel does not contain an elevator, but the staff, thankfully, handles the luggage for you. 2) Although it is easy to walk to from the train station, it is not well marked with a clear sign, so be sure you get clear directions to the hotel if you don't come by cab.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Pinar Aydogan Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Connie, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bris

Dont try room 211

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The location is very good.
Cons: Better noise control. Maybe better maintenance . One of the bed lamps was nonfunctional though it was fixed the day after i pointed it out.
Location: The Rocks is a great area. It's close to all the usual tourist attractions in Sydney and away from the disruption in the CBD caused by big roadworks.
It's a nice hotel with a good location. We were very tired when we checked in on Saturday afternoon between 3pm & 4pm. Stayed for 3 nights. Our room, quite small with no occasional table, just a desk, was right above a pretty courtyard. There was a rowdy function happening below. It was music and carousing which we sadly became part of. There was no rest for us. Other rooms were probably completely oblivious. Just don't stay near the courtyard on function days. Room cost was high for the facilities but that is to be expected in The Rocks area. As an after thought: there is no guest lift. There is possibly a baggage one but we lugged our own bag down the naeeow stairs
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Its great to hear that our hotel's location was convenient for you. Our hotel does have a luggage lift which our porters use to take bags up or bring them down for guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the the disturbance by the function. We do have rooms on away from the courtyard and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: It's welcoming staff and cosy reception area
Cons: Nothing that I'm aware of
Location: Already mentioned this
Short 4 day stay - excellent location for harbour, bridge and of course Opera house. Buses and train station also nearby. Welcoming staff and very comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by MP, Hotel Management
Hi, Thanks for your feedback, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you like boutique hotels, this is the place.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Centrally located in the Rocks area of Sydney. Within walking distance of the Opera House, the Circular Quay, Dawes Point, and a block from the harbor. Plenty of cafes, restaurants, and convince store outside of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by MP, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, we hope we can see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Not happy

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Got a small dark room with bathroom that noone can turn around in. even though I didn't pay for the cheapest room. Shockingly bad room service menu. No lift in building. Mini bar was never replenished. Tv never worked. Internet was charged in my account even though I was told it wouldn't be. They also can't email an amended invoice with it removed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by MP, Hotel Management
Hi, We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we are always able to amend invoices and make corrections if there are any errors, please feel free to contact us and we can sort it out for you. We are also in the process of updating our room service menu now that we are moving into Autumn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laguna beach, california

Location

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Harbor Rocks Hotel is in a fantastic location in the very vibrant and quant Rocks area. A beautiful historic building. Restaurant at the hotel was excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Wow! Thank you for your review & 5 stars. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our location & staff. We hope we can welcome you back soon! Regards Lauren Job General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Enjoyable boutique hotel in a convenient location.
Location: Walkable distance to harbour front view of Sydney harbour bridge and Opera House.
This was a one night stopover in Sydney and gave us the opportunity to explore the Rocks area
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your review on Expedia. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our location. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Regards Lauren Job General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Unique hotel and wonderful location.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Charming ambiance within the hotel entrance with accessible library lounge and espresso /cocktail bar .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Margot, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us & hope we can welcome you back soon! Regards Lauren Job General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Conviniently located, has the feel of a boutique hotel with very nice staff. A little too much perfume in the room, and not much of a view from the room, but other than that it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Wow! Thank you for your review & 5 star rating on Expedia. It is truly a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards Lauren Job General Manager
3 out of 5
by Ashvin

Great location

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing spot. So close to both the harbour bridge and the opera house. We didnt ask for a lot of service but they were good too especially housekeeping. But as you would expect with any high end hotels, everything has a surcharge. Internet was $10 per 24hrs. I would recommend getting a sim card. You dont need to drive as uber is very accessible and circular quay is just 5 mins walk too. You can use wilson's car park f you need cheaper car park instead of the hotel. Complimentary ice tea at the lobby was good too. Amazing flavour. All in all, good hotel especially when work paid for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ashvin, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Regards Lauren Job General Manager