Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Casino

Close to city and beaches.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Its close proximity to the city or the beach.
Cons: Table and chairs need to be removed. The toilet/shower needs to be remodelled so you can move in it and reach the toilet roll holder..No car parking.
Location: Lots of shopping and cafes in close proximity. 10 mins by bus to the centre of the city and the bus leaves from the corner very close to the hotel.
A good place to stay between beaches and city. The rooms are very small and don't get made up each day of your stay. The rooms although small, have more furniture in them than what is required for a room this small. There are some cutlery items available but no clock in the room, which i found to be most frustrating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Very bad experience

Posted Jun 8, 2016
I booked it to stay with my family. I wouldn't recommend to everyone or at least to a family. I don't want to blah blah. So in simple, this is the lesson I learnt from my first booking through a travel website (Expedia). 1. If you want to book a particular hotel, then check the review of the hotel in all other websites. I still wonder how this hotel got 3.5 rating. It seems there are lot of fake reviews. 2. Call the reception and ask about all the details about the no of rooms and facilities. Don't think silly to ask for even minute details like room cleaning and garbage collection etc. To be specific about this hotel, 1. Stinky, probably due to old carpets 2. No room cleaning service 3. Poor design of bath rooms. Water drainage is poor. The only advantage about this hotel is that it is near to almost all the shopping centers like (Coles, Woolsworth) and all the restaurants. The only unpleasant thing in our tour to Sydney is staying with this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Zimmer war insgesamt in Ordnung, bequeme Betten und großer Balkon. Kochmöglichkeit ist durch eine Gemeinschaftsküche vorhanden. Leider ist die Ausstattung der Küche nicht mehr die beste und das Hotel selbst ist ebenfalls in die Jahre gekommen. WLAN ist nur für einen Tag verfügbar, auf Anfrage bei der Rezeption konnten wir aber den Zugang verlängern. Service: die Rezeption ist nur bis 19:00 besetzt, wir konnten aber unsere Koffer deponieren und die Koffer wurden nach Schließeung der Rezeption in unser Zimmer gebracht. Eine Zimmerreinigung fand in den 3 Tagen nicht statt, Handtücher wurden nicht gewechselt, Toiletttenpapier nicht nachgefüllt, Müll nicht geleert etc. Sauberkeit: Bei Ankunft in Ordnung, im Badezimmer gibt es aber stellenweise Schimmelbildung. Am letzten Tag fanden sich zwei Kakerlaken im Zimmer (kamen durch geöffnete Balkontür). Lage: Etwas außerhalb des Zentrums. Eine direkte Busverbindung in die Innenstadt (ca. 30 Min) und (mit Umstieg) zum Flughafen ist vorhanden. Der Strand von Coogee ist in 5 Minuten mit dem Bus erreichbar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rebecca from Cornwall, U.K.

Affordable, comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
We found the hotel great for our needs. The rooms were well equipped, comfy beds, and nice bathrooms. The beach was a 15 minute walk away and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. The bus stop is just outside the hotel, which makes getting into the city easy and accessible. It's a 30/40 minute ride to the city by bus. And 45 minute trip by bus to the airport. Quicker if you take a taxi but more expensive. We'd certainly return to Higher Lodge again. It was all we required for a family trip to Sydney.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Value in Sydney

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet, charm, bathrooms, balcony, location,
Cons: buzzer for front desk service
Location: beach, shopping, restraints
Was pleasantly surprised at this nice little in, Lots of character a little old but the bathrooms were nice and clean and modern. Lots of charm, great lady at reception, very helpful. Just hoped on bus at airport and took us 40 minutes to arrive 1 block from inn. little bit of a hike to beach but lots of shopping and restraints along the way. would definitely book here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Location, location, charm, atmosphere, quiet, modern bathrooms, outdoor courtyard and balcony, air-conditioning, front desk service
Cons: Wifi was free but limited
Location: Beach, shopping, food, transportation access easy
This is sure a nice quaint inn. simple to get to from airport just catch bus and drops you off a block away. rooms were better then expected and great value for the price. Very quiet and cosy.Lots of old charm but with modern bathroom facilities. very close to everything. We used it for 1 night between international transfer at airport. We walked down to the beach, lots of shopping and places to eat. will recommend and stay there again if in Sydney.
4 out of 5
by Fabian from Schweiz

Gute Lage, 30min in Sydney mit dem Bus

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Gut gelegen, sauber, Zimmergrösse akzeptabel, ohne Essen in der Accomondation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

cheap and the price reflects this

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: cheap
Cons: Some of the cleaning could be improved
had a double room which was small and the grand family room was supposed to be non smoking but smelt strongly of smoke . A microwave in the room would have helped
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious and clean room located close to shops and

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: friendly staff, crisp, clean sheets, spacious.
Location: shops and beach close by.
A lovely stay - thanks. The room was spacious and clean. good facilities