Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Customer Service

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Wotif
We found the staff quite rude and not accommodating. The room was ok, but very small. The location is good, very close to cafes and university.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location - near cafes, shops and cinema.

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet, comfortable and close to the Spot at Randwick. Lovely old building.
Cons: The carpet really needs replacing
Location: Short walk to Randwick shopping centre. Just around the corner from the Spot cafes, restaurants, bars and cinema. Close to Coogee beach.
Lovely old building. Room was great value for money, everything was good except the carpet was old, stained and smelt. If the carpet was replaced, I'd give the room a 10 out of 10. (As it was I had to purchase Glen 20 and air freshener to mask the smell - lucky the shops are close by)!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Casino

Close to city and beaches.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Its close proximity to the city or the beach.
Cons: Table and chairs need to be removed. The toilet/shower needs to be remodelled so you can move in it and reach the toilet roll holder..No car parking.
Location: Lots of shopping and cafes in close proximity. 10 mins by bus to the centre of the city and the bus leaves from the corner very close to the hotel.
A good place to stay between beaches and city. The rooms are very small and don't get made up each day of your stay. The rooms although small, have more furniture in them than what is required for a room this small. There are some cutlery items available but no clock in the room, which i found to be most frustrating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy location with terrible parking

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to restaurants, shops, but so are other, nicer hotels
Cons: Parking, proper curtains
Situated on a very busy intersection, 2 doors down from a pub. Couldn't get to sleep due to the noise then woken early as there were no curtains, only sheer drapes so the sun was streaming in. Parking situation is ridiculous - 3 spaces for the entire building which are never available and the surrounding streets are predominately 1hr or 3 hr parking zones. I was attending a work seminar nearby and had to keep coming back every couple of hours to move my car. Finally found a free unlimited car space 36hrs after arrival (8hrs before I left!) Rooms are too small for the amount of furniture, cleanliness was ok but nothing special. I wouldn't bother booking here again, have stayed in much nicer places very close by for a similar price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Very bad experience

Posted Jun 8, 2016
I booked it to stay with my family. I wouldn't recommend to everyone or at least to a family. I don't want to blah blah. So in simple, this is the lesson I learnt from my first booking through a travel website (Expedia). 1. If you want to book a particular hotel, then check the review of the hotel in all other websites. I still wonder how this hotel got 3.5 rating. It seems there are lot of fake reviews. 2. Call the reception and ask about all the details about the no of rooms and facilities. Don't think silly to ask for even minute details like room cleaning and garbage collection etc. To be specific about this hotel, 1. Stinky, probably due to old carpets 2. No room cleaning service 3. Poor design of bath rooms. Water drainage is poor. The only advantage about this hotel is that it is near to almost all the shopping centers like (Coles, Woolsworth) and all the restaurants. The only unpleasant thing in our tour to Sydney is staying with this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Xiaodong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Uncomfortable and Dirty

Posted May 10, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: N/A
Cons: Wash linen, clean mould and dirt off floors, pest spray building.
Location: Close to the city. The Randwick Hotel next door, offers great food and entertainment. Nearby Woolworths, restaurants and petrol station.
There was a line of dirt around the whole bedroom room floor. The kitchen smelt like mould, the room had little tiny ants that got into everything and plenty of spiders. It was cold and when I went to grab the spare blanket from the cupboard it smelt and looked dirty. The back gate door lock was poorly lit and dingy, a little creepy. Overall this is the most dirty place I have ever stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

Close to city and very handy to get out and about.

Posted May 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Rooms need sound proofing and improved bathrooms
Wonderful eating nearby, world class. Can just about walk anyway and plenty of buses.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Zimmer war insgesamt in Ordnung, bequeme Betten und großer Balkon. Kochmöglichkeit ist durch eine Gemeinschaftsküche vorhanden. Leider ist die Ausstattung der Küche nicht mehr die beste und das Hotel selbst ist ebenfalls in die Jahre gekommen. WLAN ist nur für einen Tag verfügbar, auf Anfrage bei der Rezeption konnten wir aber den Zugang verlängern. Service: die Rezeption ist nur bis 19:00 besetzt, wir konnten aber unsere Koffer deponieren und die Koffer wurden nach Schließeung der Rezeption in unser Zimmer gebracht. Eine Zimmerreinigung fand in den 3 Tagen nicht statt, Handtücher wurden nicht gewechselt, Toiletttenpapier nicht nachgefüllt, Müll nicht geleert etc. Sauberkeit: Bei Ankunft in Ordnung, im Badezimmer gibt es aber stellenweise Schimmelbildung. Am letzten Tag fanden sich zwei Kakerlaken im Zimmer (kamen durch geöffnete Balkontür). Lage: Etwas außerhalb des Zentrums. Eine direkte Busverbindung in die Innenstadt (ca. 30 Min) und (mit Umstieg) zum Flughafen ist vorhanden. Der Strand von Coogee ist in 5 Minuten mit dem Bus erreichbar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels