Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nickreative

A place to sleep

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on HotelClub
I stayed in town for two nights but spent most of my time exploring Sydney and meeting with friends. My room had two young brits in it, but they had been there for quite some time so the room smelt 'lived in'. The lack of air conditioning is normal for the price I suppose, and the single wall fan didn't help. The rooms and building are definitely kept clean (notwithstanding messy guests) and the service was tip top. Baggage Storage is a service offered but it's not what I would call secure. It is a shelf right next to the door. When I came to collect my luggage before catching the train, I thought I would do the courtesy of telling the counter. She was dealing with a difficult customer at the time and I had to rush, so I just grabbed my bag and went. I think 'your risk not ours' is fair enough, especially when a large number of bags are left, however I can't imagine it would take much to implement more security with this feature. The staff were friendly and chatty and most were backpackers themselves so there is a casualness to the place which is appealing to some. I think I would probably not stay here again - I traveled over the UK recently in backpackers and I think the conclusion is, I'm really more a hotel kind of guy. Home Backpackers certainly weren't the worst, and for the price I paid (I could use my Member points on this one), it was really good value. 5 Minute walk to Central, 10 minute walk to China Town...it's a HOT location!
3 out of 5
by jean paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Cheap, central. Don't ask for more.

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, location, location. 5 minutes' walk from Central station, buses everywhere, Town Hall within a stone's throw.
Cons: More toilets, or at least cleaned twice a day. Kitchen, including fridge and oven, need a good clean.
Ok. Our stay wasn't terrible. Our double room was basic but clean. The window was opening on the street, which was fairly noisy but after a full day of sightseeing, we were pretty knackered anyway. The door of our room didn't really lock properly though. While the hostel is overall clean, there is only 2 toilet and 1 shower per floor. It's not really enough, especially if someone decides to desecrate one of the toilet on a Saturday night. They are well cleaned once a day though. The kitchen is very basic. You can't really expect to be able to cook anything more fancy than 2-minutes noodles. The oven and the microwave were pretty dirty. At the end of the day, it is very central and convenient and it is cheap. It is far from being the best backpacker I've ever stayed in but if you're just looking for a cheap place to sleep, go for it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Everything you want in a backpackers

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Wotif
Firstly, the room was clean! That's one major thing many hostels and even hotels can't provide. As long as you aren't expecting a luxury 5 star experience the facilities are adequate. We stayed in the ensuite room with toilet and shower which were clean and worked fine, and the B block had no noise problems. Finally, the price was right for a great location, 5 minutes walk to Central station, so easy to get around to all our destinations. I will definitely be coming back here next time I go to Sydney, it just ticked all my boxes. Clean, cheap and close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

イマイチ

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
セントラル駅からすごく近いのは便利。 エレベーターがないので、荷物運ぶのが大変だった。 ベッドが壊れてた
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Not good

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Cheap not worth money you payed. Very nosiey if you are on road side. Very small kitchen small loos lots of stairs needs a up date. Had double bed down bottom single on top could not get to the top bunk no ladder. Put mattress on floor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Good location and cheap

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Lastminute
We had 12 hours stop-over in Sydney and stayed here. Close to central station and cool area Surrey Hills. The hostel is two separate halves. The half that we were in had one unisex toilet that was also a walkway to outside. The male and female showers have see-through screens and no lockable outer door which made my gf a bit uncomfortable. There was one local Sydney older wierd guy there who seemed strange. Our double room was acceptable and some of the cheapest accompanied in Sydney CBD. The staff member Lucy was very nice and gave us some local info.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Very close to everything i wanted todo

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: It was easy to find and handy to where i wanted to go
Cons: More heating in rooms
Location: Close to every thing
Very happy my weekend with my son was very good i got to see a lot of sydney i had not seen for a long time we both had a great time
4 out of 5
by NUR SYAHIDA from malaysia

it is recommended! People there are really nice

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
i booked double room which at first i dont put any expectation as it is backpackers hostel. However the room was really nice, the location is really strategic, I was travelling by public transport and foot all the time. 7 eleven is just downstairs. i got what i need during my stay.