Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Comfortable stay with a few hiccups

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: It is a clean modern comfortable hotel by a pretty lake. The room was spacious.
Location: A huge mall is next to the train station.
It was a comfortable stay in MGSM for a conference on Campus, however, I suggest you don't rely on the Reception staff to book anything for you: apparently booked by the staff a night before, our taxi to the airport did not arrive the following morning, and we ended up cutting very short before our check-in. A man called Cedric was not helpful and even told us off for "being late".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good price and reasonable accommodation

Posted May 5, 2017
Working away from home in North Sydney and needed a cheaper place to stay. Picked this hotel as it had a good Expedia rating and was a special rate, much cheaper than hotels in City. Caught train to/from Macquarie Uni Station, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and that worked ok as can walk through the Uni campus and felt reasonably safe. Macquarie shopping centre is nearby with restaurants, etc. providing eating options. Hotel is targeted to people attending courses at the MGSM and feels more like on-campus accommodation than hotel. Restaurant food was very good and room was quiet, but bathroom was small and starting to get tired. Parking is open air and free but 100m or so from the hotel and out of sight. That being said, I had no major security concerns. Gym is small and only one of each machine, so you need to get your timing right - but open 24 hours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver bc Canada

Remote location. Free parking, 10 min to traim

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Good, but suburban location. Nothing around there to walk to. Better have a car
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location in the macquaire area.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location, the decor of the room was nice, fairly modern styling
Cons: bathroom cleanliness, bed could be a bit softer
The hotel has a great location and was very convenient for me. I would stay here again. Check in was quick and friendly, check out was quick but I definitely didnt appreciate being snapped at with the query, "what do you want!?!?" I know it was early, about 7am, but I dont think it is too much to ask. The room was nice, well decorated, the bed was a bit firm. Overall though a pretty good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North west England

Lovely setting, nice room

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Cons: Ideally there would be more parking close to the hotel, but it's not really a big deal to park 100 metres away where there is good on-street parking.
Location: The hotel is at Macquarie University, and is not far from the Macquarie Centre (shopping centre and ice rink). Convenient to the railway & M2 motorway
This hotel is associated with the Macquarie Graduate School of Management, and is on the edge of campus with a lovely outlook across a park and a lake to bushland (directly out of the patio door if you have a room on the lower floor). The room itself was spotless and well equipped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

experience

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: good environment
Cons: front lobby service
Location: nice shopping centre and proximity to train station
complimentary refreshment e.g. water, snacks, at lobby was not attended to diligent enough. Always out of stock during the day. found black spots on towels and bedsheets, suspected mold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable place quiet but not easy to find

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Lastminute
Pleasant experience overall but not easy to find signs clash with the university
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a night stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017
They wanted to charge me for cutlery. What a joke! Other than that the stay was great!
4 out of 5
by William

Good location

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was a good overnight location for travelling North through Sydney, adjacent to the M2 and close to the start of the M1
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Was supposed to be two singles but was put into a queen with a large couch. Was okay as my Mom slept in the bed and I took the couch, but two separate beds would have been a little more comfortable. The service at the hotel was excellent.