Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, Tx

Very nice hotel. Close to shopping and restaurant.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Highly recommend. Staff members were very helpful and nice. Sydney is a week stay to see everything We only had a day plus. The area of this hotel was very safe. Thank you for an excellent experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

親切なスタッフ

Posted Jul 8, 2016
スタッフがフレンドリーでアットホームなホテルでした。エリザベスベイやウルムール辺りにはおしゃれなカフェも多くのんびり過ごしたい人にはおすすめです。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wear and tear, but value for money

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Although it is a little bit old and far from city centre and the train station, it is still comfortable and a good choice for not so expensive hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: location, rooms, facilities, staff
Location: Great location therefore close to all the attractions
Fabulous location near bars, shops and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Low key and very comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Great location, quiet and comfortable but still very close to downtown Sydney. Friendly staff, great atmosphere, and top notch room facilities.
Cons: No 24/7 housekeeping, understandable for a smaller hotel but worth keeping in mind. Wi-Fi is definitely on the slower side as well.
Location: Right next to a Woolworths supermarket and some great restaurants, about 10 minutes from the Kings Cross station and 15 from the Botanical Gardens.
Booked a room for one person at this hotel at the last minute with no issues. This isn't the world's flashiest hotel, but it is one of the most comfortable I've ever stayed at. It feels like you're staying in a guest room at a friend's very nice apartment, with a great view, fully stocked kitchen (including pots and pans!), and easy access to (relatively) cheap laundry on each floor. The immediate area has a large Woolworths and several excellent restaurants (Billy Kwong was a real highlight). The neighborhood, Potts Point, is just out of the way enough to enjoy peace and quiet, but still very close to everything in downtown Sydney via bus or train. I especially recommend the walk through Woolloomooloo to the Botanical Gardens and then to Circular Quay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tirol

Service - Lage - Zimmerausstattung alles super!

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Lage: Direkt gegenüber großer Supermarkt und Bushaltestelle mit Route bis in die Stadt. Train Station ca. 8 Minuten Fußweg entfernt (2 Stopps und man ist mitten in der Stadt). Zimmerausstattung: Alles was man braucht zum kochen vorhanden. Ansonsten schönes neues Bad und wunderschöner Ausblick auf das Opera House und die Harbour Bridge. Service: Jeden Tag Zimmerservice. Sehr nettes Personal was wirklich alle wünsche erfüllt. Fazit: Super Hotel um Sydney zu erkunden und um sich (einigermaßen) günstigt selbstzuversorgen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 9, 2016
We had a great view of the bay. The room was rather small, but was clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Close to everything

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Close to woolworth,train station ,harbour,restaurants,and bars,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Home away from Home

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Very clean and quiet room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hot water in shower is HOT!
Cons: WIFI is not unlimited. 300mb a day is a joke. It needs to be unlimited. You can't even watch 4 music videos on youtube with that amount.
Location: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION.. close to kings cross train station. Woolworth's supermarket right across the street and trendy cafes next door.
Friendly staff, great location. The staff made me feel right at home. Everything I needed in my room. Daily housekeeping service, what more can you ask for?
5 out of 5
by RONALD A from Vancouver

A Special Place in Potts Point

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
A Special Place in Potts Point The Macleay Hotel is located on a tree-limed street in a district relatively near the downtown of Sydney—I stayed for 9 nights over Easter. At first I was shocked to be told at registration that as a Hotels.com/Expedia customer I had REQUESTED an apartment/city view. I did? (NO WAY!) No change was possible---disappointing, as the view was fabulous. However I came to love this hotel—it had great staff including the front desk, and the maids. I had to change rooms and it was done smoothly and efficiently. This hotel has a super location – a 7 minute walk to King Cross Metro station and a ¼ block walk to the #311 Bus (going to either Central Station or downtown). There are many nearby cafes, while a Woolworths Supermarket, a tempting deli and wine store are across the street. I will be back!