Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Very small rooms. Very expensive. Dont even spend one dollar here!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
plumbing of communal bathroom next to the hotel room was extremely noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, neat, close to Train and attractions.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Small but tidy room with all necessary equipment (fridge, TV, air-con, utlensils etc.) easy walking distance to lots of Sydney attractions. Close to Rail makes it very easy to navigate the city and get to the beach if desired. Staff were friendly and welcoming, others have complained about being locked out, I can't imagine how this could happen unless you arrived late without prior arrangement. Would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Would not return again

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We were very disappointed with the room, A/C was not working properly, was set to automatically turn off after 15minutes which made to wake up 5-6 times in the night to turn it on. We could not use our phone to make calls as the WI-FI was not working during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: Air conditioner was off.
Location: pretty good.
location was pretty good. My room was on 3rd floor so it was quiet. the hotel was clean and the smell was good, too. I would go back this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, NSW

Nice hotel close to bus stops, Kings cross station

Posted Jul 22, 2016
If you're a solo traveller, i would recommend this lodge to stay for a couple of nights. close to bus station, Kings cross station, woolies and other cafes. there's also a dry cleaning/self service laundry downstairs. staff was also polite and kind to assist :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

near to major attractions

Posted Jul 11, 2016
located on busy street. Near train station and lot of nice food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Locked out of hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
we were locked out of the hotel and unable to gain entry. It was only 9pm and the hotel was meant to be open. We knocked on the door and rung the door buzzer continuously for 15 minutes until we had no choice but to walk across the road and get another hotel for the night that was nearly 4 times the price. When we told the reception at the the new hotel of our experience being locked out, they told us that this is a common occurance at the McCleay lodge and they often have to take on guests that have been locked out. I would never recommend the Mcclean hotel to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z

Nice and close to cafes and transport

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The staf were pleasant and helpful
Cons: Nil
Location: Central location, easy walk to city centre
A little surprised that we had to share a bathroom but after the initial shock we used the facility with no waiting for others
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire, UK

Access to City Centre by train

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Nothing, but the receptionists were pleasant and willing to help.
Cons: A face lift and en-suites put in.
Location: This is the red light area but a pleasant area to be at daytime with lots of snack bars and a few restaurants. Kings Cross station is 5 mins walk away
No private bathroom. One shower and toilet for communal use on one floor. No lift. We had to lug two heavy suit cases up two flights of stairs. We are 81 and 79 years old!! Car parking is non existent at the hotel. Instead, the car had to be parked in a multi-storey car park 5 minutes walk away.