Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Sydney Opera House!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Close to the Sydney Opera House and the botanic Gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great location. Staff helpful. Clean and comfortable!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Very small rooms. Very expensive. Dont even spend one dollar here!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
plumbing of communal bathroom next to the hotel room was extremely noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, neat, close to Train and attractions.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Small but tidy room with all necessary equipment (fridge, TV, air-con, utlensils etc.) easy walking distance to lots of Sydney attractions. Close to Rail makes it very easy to navigate the city and get to the beach if desired. Staff were friendly and welcoming, others have complained about being locked out, I can't imagine how this could happen unless you arrived late without prior arrangement. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great value for money for a downtown hostel/lodge.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Lastminute
I had seen some other comments with complaints about views and noise from other guests using toilets and had been concerned. If you go expecting the Hilton you will be disappointed but if you understand what a hostel/lodge is then you will be very satisfied. Room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Air conditioning in room was an unexpected bonus. Staff fantastic, friendly and polite. No guest policy increases safety and decreases chances of noisy evenings. Of course you could hear the occasional person going to the shared washrooms but people were respectful and as quite as could be expected. If your looking for a party hostel this is not the place for you but if your looking for a reasonably priced, safe and clean accommodation in a great colorful location near transport and restaurants then I highly recommend Macleay Lodge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Would not return again

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We were very disappointed with the room, A/C was not working properly, was set to automatically turn off after 15minutes which made to wake up 5-6 times in the night to turn it on. We could not use our phone to make calls as the WI-FI was not working during our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean Lodge.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
The shared bathroom was very clean and I never had to wait. This is an old premisis but it is painted and kept tidy and clean. The kitchenette was somewhat falling apart, and the floorboards ageing. But it is a quaint place, that is close to the city and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Wotif
I arrived after hours and the night manager was really rude and unhelpful. Had to hoist heavy suitcase up many flights of narrow stairs. Pretty bad overall experience but it was cheap...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but read review

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
I reserved a room for one person. Room was very small with a twin bed. It wasn't great but good, comfortable enough for a three nights. The share bathroom was extremely small, almost no room between toilet and sink. I checked the other bathroom on my floor and they were good size. Just the one next to my room (#6 ) was small and uncomfortable. Overall my stay was okay but I probably wouldn't stay there again unless I make sure I get a bigger room and bigger shared bathroom.