Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location & breakfast, very helpful staff.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, room size, helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Had we known that one of our group was to be handicapped with a cane, we would have arranged for a ground floor room as there is no lift (elevator).
Location: Take a bus to Circular Quay and then a ferry to other parts of the harbour. Take a twilight dinner cruise of the harbour on a tall ship; Visit Manly
Although we arrived before official check-in time, the staff were able to assign our rooms and enabled us to freshen up after a 17 hour flight. The staff provided us with maps and information about Sydney and directed us to where we could purchase an Opal Card and how to use the card. This transportation card covers you for train, ferry, bus and tram in Sydney and beyond. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. This property is in a good location - within walking distance of Central station, without luggage. Otherwise close to several bus stops. Although the area is primarily residential, there is a variety of restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

vintage boutique hotel full of charme

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: very charming, unique and chosen atmosphere and furnishment; breathing the era of the British empire; Continental breakfast is included, hence just continental
Cons: That place may need some refurbishment and renovation in some places
Location: very close to Sydney CBD; you could walk everywhere, it is about 2.5 km to walk to Darling Harbour. Many good places to eat and drink nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great and Friendly Staff Service

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel is vintage and I love the comfort and style and nice breakfast in the morning
Cons: I liked it all. Nothing I disliked. It was quiet area and lovely rooms and nice balcony view Thats all
Location: Only 15 mins from CBD easy transport
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Good location, nice breakfast. Room could have been a bit bigger.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga

Loved this hotel, it's in a great location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Stayed here to go and see Cirque du Soliel were able to get off street parking which was great in this part of town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Wotif
Hotel is in a great location. Room was small but adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney, australia

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Wotif
Close to everything, parking is not easy. Room lovely and comfortable, staff very helpful. Breakfast very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Lots of Character

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: character, staff, breakfast, location
Cons: bed linen, mattress, mould in bathroom
Location: great location
The hotel was beautifully set out with its unique and original character incorporate. The room size was good with a nice bathroom The linen did have an obvious smell of bleach and the bathroom had mould above the shower. The mattress was a little uncomfortable and you could hear other guests moving about in their rooms or around the hotel. Despite these things mentioned- it is a very handy location that sparks your imagination for what it was like when it first opened.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prince Rupert, BC

Once a place to call...not now.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Cleaniness.
Location: Bus service into town was easy.
Disappointed with the mildew in the shower and the bathroom. The carpet had a number of stains outside the bathroom. When in the shower the water would run along the counter towards the sink and eventually flood the bathroom floor. Called to have bathroom lights replaced, only 1 out 3 working. The toilet had a very poor draw, several flushes needed every time. When plugging in the kettle it had to be plugged in on the floor as no plug ins for dresser. Continental breakfast was fair. Staff were helpful, but the parking was frequently a problem.