Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremantle wa

Lovely old charm

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Staff very helpful. Sitting room beautiful.location fantastic.breakfast sufficient. Had a lovely stay. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good Find

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: It's an old building and so has an old charm to it.
Great location for this area of town, located midway between Allianz Stadium / SCG and Oxford St, making it a good choice when attending anything on at those grounds and wanting to be able to take advantage of the social ammenities, cafes, restaurants of the area. Lots of great little cafes nearby for a coffee or breakfast. Hotel has parking on site which is good as local parking in the area is extremely limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Comfy room friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location with circular quay nearby
Lovely old property great friendly staff. Located in a great area with a short bus ride to circular quay. Will definitely stay there again next time we stay in Sydney. John & Linda Cooper
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Unique antique hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Housekeeping was a bit neglected, didn't get our room cleaned although we were out all morning. Breakfast was ok, but coffee machine was broken.
Location: Great location, close to bus stops, grocery store & pharmacy. Walking distance to may interesting places.
It was more like a bed & breakfast. Interesting old building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pleasant small intimate hotel with character, which is what we wanted rather than high-rise modern all-seem-the-same. Neighborhood is in transition, eclectic - some parts being renovated, other parts a bit run down. Didn't bother us. Others might find some of the shops and businesses less than family friendly, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality place

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Quality hotel with a lot of character. The old-fashioned rooms are fitted out with everything you need; air-con, tea and coffee etc. Staff were really helpful and the included breakfast is great. The location is the best. It's about 10 min walk from central station in a cool part of town, close to some great cafes and bars and half hour bus to the beaches. Highly recommended, would be great to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location & breakfast, very helpful staff.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, room size, helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Had we known that one of our group was to be handicapped with a cane, we would have arranged for a ground floor room as there is no lift (elevator).
Location: Take a bus to Circular Quay and then a ferry to other parts of the harbour. Take a twilight dinner cruise of the harbour on a tall ship; Visit Manly
Although we arrived before official check-in time, the staff were able to assign our rooms and enabled us to freshen up after a 17 hour flight. The staff provided us with maps and information about Sydney and directed us to where we could purchase an Opal Card and how to use the card. This transportation card covers you for train, ferry, bus and tram in Sydney and beyond. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. This property is in a good location - within walking distance of Central station, without luggage. Otherwise close to several bus stops. Although the area is primarily residential, there is a variety of restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great and Friendly Staff Service

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel is vintage and I love the comfort and style and nice breakfast in the morning
Cons: I liked it all. Nothing I disliked. It was quiet area and lovely rooms and nice balcony view Thats all
Location: Only 15 mins from CBD easy transport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Good location, nice breakfast. Room could have been a bit bigger.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga

Loved this hotel, it's in a great location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Stayed here to go and see Cirque du Soliel were able to get off street parking which was great in this part of town.