Ratings based on 1,795 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane qld

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay in a very spacious hotel in a great location. Staff were very helpful and every request met with a smile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here if you want peace and quiet

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: lovely big room and good decor
Cons: Down the music down. put a "Do not disturb" sign on the door if you want a lie in
Location: Very handy to all central Sydney sites - 2 mins to Circular Quay, 10 mins walk to Darling Harbour.
Arrived and was given a from over the bar, Loud music until 3am ruined my stay. Housekeeping came into my room at 8,30 Saturday morning while I was there and woke me up, they left and said they would come back, They didn't so room was not made up that day. Asked for a feedback form on checkout. they don't have one - perhaps they don't want to hear complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Great inner city accommodation!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Convenient location, lovely staff, great room. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Like the place but the smells...

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: rooms
Cons: smells, vent the kitchen outside
I like the Mantra and prefer it over other local hotels like Radisson but the kitchen smells come through to the room and are very strong, overpowering
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, near Circular Quay and Pitt St

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: location
Location was great. Food in restaurant was nice too. Had breakfast included which was handy each morning to not have to go out in the cold. However, plenty of cafes nearby if needed. Close to Wynyard station and short walk to Circular Quay or Pitt Street Mall. Overall very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Basic hotel close to facilities and sights

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Close to major tourist sights and public transport
Cons: Needs upgrading, new carpets and bigger bathrooms a tiny toilet/shower room is not up to expectations
Location: Near Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay
The foyer made the hotel look promising as it was new clean and modern, but you could not go past the overwhelming food smells from the restaurant which permeated the whole place. A warm welcome and quick check-in. The room was basic and in need of decoration with thread bare carpet and damaged walls. Good sized living area and small bedrooms with the tiniest bathroom with only one basin and toilet which was supposed to cater for 4 guests in a 2 bed apartment. Now I'm only petite yet I kept banging my elbows on the walls in the shower. The dishwasher was out of order and we didn't have enough bedside lamps or a desk lamp in the bedrooms which seeing as I was travelling for business made working difficult. The gym was out of action for repairs and the pool was accessed by a very heavy door up unattractive stairs. Street noise is an issue and I found the drone of traffic, blare of sirens and car horns a bit much. The hotel is well situated for Circular Quay, the Rocks, Opera House and Harbour Bridge and easy access to the train station and is about 10 minute walk from the Queen Victoria Building. The rooms need a face lift and bigger bathrooms - if this could be rectified it would be a good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Timo Lorenzen, Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, Thank you very much for your review. I’m sorry you did not find the room up to your expectations. Our maintenance team will look into this. We have just upgraded our exhaust fan system- the food smells are therefore no longer an issue. I’m sorry that this has affected your arrival experience. Thank you for pointing our great location out. I hope we may welcome you back in the future Kind Regards Timo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Coast, N.S.W.

CBD Accommodation

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Lovely unit, could have stayed for a week or because everything was supplied.
everywhere we wanted to go was within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great Location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!!!
Cons: Provide free WiFi!
Location: Close to the Rocks, Circular Quay and the harbor.
We spent 5 nights at this hotel/apartment and thoroughly enjoyed it. You can't beat the location just down George Street from Circular Quay and the Rocks. Having the full kitchen and a washer and dryer was a great convenience, since we traveled a total of three weeks. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our one main complaint was that you had to pay $25 per night for WiFi! In today's day and age that is unacceptable since all of our travel documents and reservations were online. We got around that issue by using the vouchers that the hotel provided free for half hours of WiFi. These vouchers dubbed "white gold" by our son, were a hassle, since we had to keep returning to the desk to get vouchers. However, the staff was very liberal in their distribution and we appreciated that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

Sub standard

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Cons: Air conditioning was absolutely terrible, the controls didn't work and it was very noisy
The room was neat and tidy. The air conditioning didn't work properly and you could not adjust controls - this made the room stiflingly stuffy or freezing cold - nothing in between. The reception staff were rude at best. We had booked a 2 bed apartment for 4 ppl with breakfast included - it wasn't until the confirmation was received that the fine print stated breakfast was only for 2 ppl. The restaurant, staff and room service items were all good quality and service was much more pleasant The Mantra website states the rooftop pool is heated, it definitely was not during our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Timo Lorenzen, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear we could not provide you with the service we usually provide. The maintenance team has checked and rectified the air-condition issue- please accept my sincere apologies about this. Thank you for highlighting your very positive breakfast experience. I hope you’ll give us another chance in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Timo Lorenzen, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear we could not provide you with the service we usually provide. The maintenance team has checked and rectified the air-condition issue- please accept my sincere apologies about this. Thank you for highlighting your very positive breakfast experience. I hope you’ll give us another chance in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Timo Lorenzen, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear we could not provide you with the service we usually provide. The maintenance team has checked and rectified the air-condition issue- please accept my sincere apologies about this. Thank you for highlighting your very positive breakfast experience. I hope you’ll give us another chance in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from country NSW

Very conveniently located

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Two room apartment exceeded expectations. Beds very comfortable. Plenty of room for five women even in the bathroom. Staff were approachable and helpful. Will stay here again without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Timo Lorenzen, Hotel Management
Dear Paula Thank you very much for your positive review. I’m delighted to see that you found our bed to very comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you back.