Ratings based on 1,035 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings NZ

Matra Chatswood

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Plenty of room and bed was good
Cons: Heating a little slow to warm room
Location: shops Taxis and trains almost at the door step
Wecome was helpful and friendly and any requests were dealt with efficiently and quickly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Convenient, clean and great staff!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Check in was superb! Room clean. Facilities in room suitable. Gym not recommended for anyone seriously wanting a workout! Pool good. Car parking easy and not too expensive. Comfy bed. Bath/shower not really good for my 6ft 5in son, he was a bit uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Jo, Hotel Management
Dear Louise Thanks a lot for your positive review - we appreciate it. Also appreciate your comments that will help us to improve our product and service. We hope to see you on your next trip to Sydney. Kind regards Jo Jenkins
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to train station

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: all is ok
Cons: gym should be 24hours
Location: train station and food close by
clean and comfortable. many restaurants nearby.woolworths is right above station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Jo, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thank you for your review - we appreciate it. The hotel is a great location in Chatswood - close to the train, shopping and excellent restaurants. Hope to see you on your next visit. Kind regards Jo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Victoria

Accommodation right on the train line at Chatswood

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The breakfast buffet.
Cons: Getting rid of the shower over the bath and just having a proper shower. Having firmer mattresses on the beds.
Location: Being just across the road from Chatswood railway station is absolutely fantastic. The restaurants around the area were great.
Wonderful staff, no problems with any requests even when the room card wouldn't work in the lift. The breakfast buffet was fresh and hot and perfectly cooked. The low point of the experience would be the beds were WAY too soft and the pillows were rather lumpy. We also had a room with a shower over a bath and the bath was rather narrow making standing to have a shower rather squishy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Jo, Hotel Management
Dear Linda Thank you for your informative review of Mantra Chatswood - we appreciate it and hope to see you again. Kind regards Jo Jenkins
5 out of 5
by Penny

Convenient abd clean hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nicole and one of the male asian staff work on 16.04. They both very helpful and friendly. Room is clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wollongong

Great hotel ...so central to everything

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Not much I did not like..room had all the amenities you need...proximity to everything.
Cons: Would have been nice to have a little set of table and chairs on the balcony.
Location: Close and handy to transport ..restaurants and shopping.
I Wanted a hotel that was close to the railway station...shopping and easy access for friends. I could not have wished for anything better...this hotel had the lot..will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Jo, Hotel Management
Dear Gale Thank you for your review of Mantra Chatswood - I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and location. Kind regards Jo Jenkins
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel with some unfair policies

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location however is older than anticipated and does not add up to a 4.5 star rating in term of age and ambience. In addition, on arrival they reception staff were going to put a hold on our credit card of a $150 fee - despite the fact that we had fully pre-paid the accommodation costs and there was nothing else we would be charged for. We insisted this not occur and said we would be happy for a $1 hold to be put on the credit card so that they had the security of having the credit card details if absolutely necessary. There was resistance to this but eventually they agreed. This left a very poor view of the hotel and its policies. We then went 'up' to our room (they had placed us on the 1st floor) to find that this was a twin bed layout whereas we had booked a double or Queen bed. We therefore had to go back to reception to request a room which matched our booking. This request was met somewhat frostily however the room was changed. Overall, the difference in the quality between this hotel and the Meriton Serviced apts nearby was large, and they are similar prices. The saving grace was the proximity to the train station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Flood flood flood

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Wotif
Using shower completely flooded bathroom making it dangerous and slippery. Couldn't use the toilet without walking through a half inch of water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jerrabomberra

Highway robbery

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Leave a bad taste in the mouth after check out by their indiscriminate charging of items that you did not use from their overpriced minibar. Nothing!
Cons: Perhaps better response to complaints. However after the dirty deed is done I don't see how they can redeem themselves.
Location: Long ride on the train to the city.
After checking out of the hotel I have a nasty shock. I discovered later in the day that this hotel has charged $30.00 on my credit card for a bottle of red wine. This is a bottle of wine that I did not have. It is a bottle of cheap plonk (pestle and Mortar) that I left sitting on the counter of the kitchenette. I do not drink red wine and definitely not cheap plonk that is not worth $30.00 I rang that up to say that the bottle of wine was still in the room when I left and reception says that she ring me back concerning the wine. However to date I have not heard back. The hotel itself is tired and run down. Terribly in need of a overhaul. One can get an equal quality hotel if not better closer to the city. It may be good location for business people working close by but for holiday stay I would certainly give it a miss, especially they charge you for things you did not want or use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wagga wagga

Hotel near train & family

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Wotif
Cons: Shower taps need washers or better still change to washer less taps
Location: Good location to shops
Lift mechanism tricky, staff very friendly & helpfull