Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Be amazed at the backpackers

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Not all things are bad
Cons: It is a cheap accomodo, so do not expect anything else
Location: It is though a tad too far from the train station. Noisy all night round but generally everyone is well behaved
If you're a traveller accustomed to travelling in comfort, then this is not the place for you. Being a traveller/blogger, I had to experience the above and had to adapt to any environment I was put into. And, indeed it is an experience. Overall, for a backpackers place, it is more on the luxurious side. Everything is there for the needs, albeit, the incoveniences. For me, I will not be back in a hurry s I'd prefer even a 1 star hotel where common necessities like, ttached bathroom is available. Then again, that's me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So noisy!!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
I stayed 3 nights. Every night I can't sleep coz of noise. Was so noisy!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Locatiomn
The overall experience was pretty disappointing. The rooms and shared facilities (bathrooms especially) were really old and not in a good state. The bedrooms windows didn't close properly, there was air coming through the window. We also had the chance to have our double bedroom just above a restaurant and there was a music band playing until 1.30 in the morning, we could hear everything and it was pretty much impossible to sleep. OK we paid a reasonable price, but we still expected just the minimum in cleanliness and comfort. With so many people staying at the backpacker everyday, it is hard to understand why there were no renovation or improvement done to make it at least average! Really disappointing, will not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Perth

Close the transport and very in the city

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms.
Location: Museum stop nearby and Central Station for getting to ANYWHERE in Sydney.
Neat and clean, very busy with a range of different people staying. We had a room that faced Pitt Street and while it was great that the window opens, it was very noisey on Saturday night - as it would be with 3 backpackers within spitting distance. Definitely recommend ear plugs. Otherwise fine for our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great Location. Bad Smell.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Staff were lovely willing to help with any questions and location is great. Really bad smell in lobby area and my room. Nightclub near by - loud music all night, could not sleep. Request room away from main road. Security measures great - no visitors past lobby. Bathrooms were clean enough. Everything could use a coat of paint/update, but you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely good location, building very old

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Rooms are not so comfortable, good for short budget stay in the center of the city. Kitchen well equped
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Cheap, cheerful, convenient

Posted May 16, 2016
This hostel is located confidently close to Central Station, only a five minute walk. Also only around the corner from Capital Square light rail stop. This provides great access to the Inner West via tram and the rest of Sydney via train. Plenty of cheap/free in-house entertainment and activities for backpackers. Very good price for the private double room. Bed wasn't too supportive, but was quite clean and perfect if you just need somewhere to sleep in the city. Bathrooms are clean and have excellent water pressure. Hostel is gradually being updated to include key card access to rooms rather than physical keys. Good kitchen facilities and common areas with seating, pool tables and air hockey tables. Computers and laundry also available. Stayed here several times in the private rooms and always leave feeling it was a good choice and a positive experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Incredible staff and affordable rooms in the frien

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Just the light switch which seemed to take 30 seconds to turn on but everything else is great
Location: Next to Central/World Square and right in the middle of all tourist activities/nightclubs/oxford street, it is the best value for money and cannot be
The staff are always friendly/welcoming and inviting throughout the entire stay and are happy to give recommendations etc. The room itself (Single private) was clean, had great linen/pillows and space for powerpoints, just small issue with the lighting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap, close to Central

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great location, a few hundred metres from Central station. Friendly staff, looks like it was recently refurbished
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Smelly and service wasn't nice

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Cheap
Cons: service, cleanliness, smell, comfort
Location: close by to city central
First the service wasn't great, when we wanted to check in the employee was talking to a friend for 10 minutes before he "realised" we were waiting. He then said we couldn't check in without our passports ( we are Australian so we didn't have them). It is all very small with not much room anywhere, the place smells horrible and the beds are uncomfortable. Yes it is a cheap place to stay with a bed but next time I would even spend $50 extra to stay somewhere else.