Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Secluded but safe

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: The quiet atmosphere and so little walking to get in and out
Cons: Would be lovely to be able to have dining on the premises but probably detract from the quiet
Location: Slightly removed from neutral bay in North Sydney but great base. Good access to educational venues in walker st
Easily found off the freeway, drive in to the secure garage and book in in 5 mins flat. Wifi organised and extra time parking at small cost. Great little balcony for some fresh air with secluded garden. Close to all that I need and great italian restaurant 100 metres away. No stress in the coming, staying or going....Pretty good for country meets city experience.!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

hotel handy to train and town

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Very large room with huge ensuite with 2 showers.breakfast great value with very lovely dining room. Microwave available for use .
Cons: My room was beautiful, but had covered glass so very little natural light.
Location: It was handy to some restaurants at night , Coles and train.
Enjoyed the old style historical feeling of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel was close to main public transport hub

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Convenient location with a car parking area.
Cons: Possibly a broader selection of breakfast food.
Location: Within 10 minutes walk of North shore railway giving access to a whole range of stations which provided access to most major attractions.
Enjoyable stay and although mainly an hotel geared for the business market as a tourist there was plenty of helpful information and the reception staff provided positive support on places to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid North Coast NSW

Great location

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: I liked the fact that it was quaint and cosy, not your usual impersonal, multistory, plastic edifice.
Cons: Room #28 should not be used for guests due to the noise level. Towels could be bigger and softer (a bit scratchy!). Bills should be correct.
Location: The hotel is situated in a lovely leafy street in easy walking distance to pubs and cafes and North Sydney CBD. Easy access by car or public transport
I was looking for a hotel in easy walking distance to a number of locations in North Sydney and the McLaren definitely met the brief. The hotel is quaint and the room was very clean. Two of the three staff I came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided a variety of options and was well priced. Unfortunately the room was situated directly behind the reception area and next to the kitchen so the noise level was quite high up to 11 pm and from 6.30 am which wasn't very relaxing. My final bill was also incorrect although adjusted with a minimum of fuss by the staff member on duty. I would recommend this hotel for its convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good little hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2015
It's not modern but nice and cozy. There was a different hotel reception everyday and some are friendly and some are a bit less friendly. Our room is big enough and very clean on the first day. Over our a week stay they made bed nicely and cleaned cups and towels. However I don't think they vacuumed our room every day. If you don't mind dust that should be no problem. We also found the toilet smells in the morning. The sewage was not working well because of the age of the hotel??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great quite location

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Small and it's location
Untroubled stay with great staff. Easy light breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned comfort

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The McLaren Hotel is in a quiet street with good access to the Pacific Highway and north Sydney. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with décor consistent with the period of the building. The en-suite bathroom in our room was smallish but functional, with very good hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
just an ideal place to be. even in the rain (it was Easter ! ) Thank you . Angela & Howard Baker ex Room 8
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Coast NSW

Great locate and very cute

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Very cute and clean
Cons: The toilet needed an update.
Location: Very close to crows nest with great cafes
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The locate is fantastic with the bonus of free parking. I will certainly stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul and Lourde

Nice, tidy Hotel in excellent location.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
We had a couple of restful days recently at this Hotel, and, as usual, found that for the most part, it was pleasant. The one exception to this was the surly young blonde woman on duty Sat morning 31/05, whose duties included looking after the dining room ( badly). Obviously didn't want to be there, and that was the vibe she gave us. Never mind, as the other staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. Cheers, Paul