Ratings based on 1,423 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

It was a good hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
I suck at reviews, but the hotel was good. And now I'm being told to write more in my review. Um, it was good, and it was also good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, Hotel Management
Dear Tim your review is very honest and we love it here at the Aspire. Thank you for taking the time to even say a few words of your experience here. Much appreciated. Have a great week ahead and we hope to see you again. Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from montreal

Good value. Not an ideal location for tourists.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Location: Out of the way. Not convenient to any bus/train service.
Arrived early. Left bags. Pleasant staff. Arrived late. Slept. Left. The hotel served its purpose of a clean place to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Metro Aspire Team, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologise that our location was not an ideal one for you. Our staff are always ready and attentive, and its good to hear that they were able to make your stay with us run smoothly. Thank you for your choosing Metro Aspire, and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Metro Aspire Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wollongong NSW Australia

A pleasant hotel, newly renovated & quiet

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: Safety rail at the end of the bath would be good. Restaurant that I believe will be reinstated. Ice machine as fridge did a poor job with that.
Location: Quiet residential area, but close to city centre . Short ( about 10 minute) walk to transport and city.
A pleasant place in a quiet residential area, but with easy access to all the city sights and amenities. The staff maintained a nice balance between professional and friendly and my requests were quickly met.Large rooms and a bath, rare these days. I like that I did not have to pay for things like pool, gym, mini bar etc that I never use but are clearly part of the tariff in many hotels. It will be better when the restaurant is back in business. I'd stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney Team, Hotel Management
Dear Irene Thank you for staying at the Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney and also thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding breakfast, we will share your comment with restaurant manager. We will take an action to improve the quality. Once again thank you for choosing us. Hopefully you will consider us the near future again. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel close to city

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Lovely new renovated room. I loved our 2 nights stay at the hotel. Room look just like the photos. Would definitely come back if we come to Sydney again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by Aspire Hotel Team , Hotel Management
Dear Dilini Thank you for staying at the Aspire Hotel Sydney and thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back near future. Aspire Hotel Sydney
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester UK

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: We were only there for one night but it was an ideal base. Our room was ideal and looked I've it had been recently upgraded
Cons: The hotel was obviously having a major refurb which we knew about before arrival. I'm sure that when finished it will be super.
Location: Darling Harbour
Hotel was very convenient and easy to find. It was comfortable and staff very helpful. Great parking facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Aspire Hotel Team , Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we're glad you enjoyed the stay with us. We apologise for any inconvenience the renovations may have caused you during your stay with us, however, they will be seeing completion very soon. With these refurbishments, we aim to match the convenient and central location next to the heart of the CBD. Thank you again for choosing Aspire Hotel, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Aspire Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, ACT

Good hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Its room cleanliness and location.
Cons: Hard to estimate with renovations in progress.
Location: Good access to the city centre and to Darling Harbour.
Hotel undergoing renovations and the room we stayed in had recently been completed. It was in very good condition and the appointments were very good. Its position is very handy to the central part of the city and to Darling Harbour. Overall it is very good and deserves a rating of at least 4 and maybe higher when the renovations are finished at the end of January next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Aspire Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Hugh thank you for your recent comment regarding the Aspire Hotel Sydney. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We are certainly looking forward to the end product of Aspire Hotel Sydney, this should be completed by Late December early January. Our location is quite situated in a handy spot close to many attractions and work places that are easy to get to from us. Once again thank you for your comment and we hope to see you here again in the future. Kind Regards, Aspire Hotel Sydney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

In the middle of renos but the rooms are nice

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The room cleanliness and comfort were great. Staff were very nice to deal with
Cons: The restaurant needs a lot of work. Open for dinner would be a great start. Serving fresh food at breakfast would also be great.
Location: Close to Darling Harbour
The hotel staff were very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The hotel is in the middle of renovations, so it's a bit of a construction zone. However, the room itself was really nice, clean and comfortable. The renovations were already done there and it's a great update. There was no noise or anything construction related to interrupt our peace and privacy in our room. The restaurant was very disappointing. It was not open for dinner but hopefully this changes after the renovations are done as it's a beautiful area. It was open for breakfast which was a buffet, but I wouldn't recommend it. The bread was dry and the bacon and eggs were cold. Milk for the cereal was UHT milk. My half slice of toast ended up being very expensive! This is a real shame because the rest of the stay was fine. The good part is, it's a ten minute walk to Darling Harbour so we ate down there. Great place to stay the night but find somewhere else for a meal
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Aspire Hotel Team , Hotel Management
Dear Mira, Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time to review us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to hear that your liked your room and you found our customer service is up to your standards. Our refurbished rooms are spacious and most of them have a private balcony for the fresh air despite hotels in CDB area. Your great words to our team will encourage them. I am sorry to hear that the service of our restaurant was not up to your expectations. Your feedback will be passed to the food and beverage area to improve our hospitality. As you mentioned, our restaurant will be renewed once the refurbishment is completed and dining will be available for dinner. In the meantime, Chinatown is only 10 minutes away from us and there are many local restaurants which open until late. Fish Market and Darling Harbour are also in a walking distance. Again thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Aspire Hotel Sydney again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NZ

Really nice hotel and very accommodating

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel room was very spacious for me and my family and newly renovated which was a nice surprise.
Justin on the service desk was amazing! He went out of his way to welcome us and make things as easy as possible for me and my family on arrival at the hotel. It was really appreciated and totally unexpected to receive this welcome. Justin, thanks for making our holiday that little bit easier! We enjoyed our stay with Aspire Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by The Aspire Hotel Sydney Team, Hotel Management
Dear Stac, Thank you very much for staying with us at Aspire Hotel Sydney and taking your time to review us. We are pleased to hear that you found one of our staff, Justin was up to our standards and made your stay comfortable. All of our staff including Justin are aiming at providing the best possible hospitality in Ultimo and you feedback definitely will be passed to him. Regarding our rooms, we have Deluxe Rooms with 2 King beds and a sofa up to 5 people and most of them have a private balcony for the fresh air. We look forward to welcoming you to our refurbished, brand-new property once the refurbishment is completed. Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to Chinatown/Darling Harbour

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in the process of a major refit and modernisation project. Our room was very comfortable, clean and recently updated. Construction noise was kept to a minimum and the staff were friendly and helpful. Certainly would recommend this hotel and it will be even better when the work is completed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing Aspire Hotel, and we' re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that the renovations may be disruptive, and we'll continue to try to minimise the inconveniences you our guests during their stays here. Our staff is always happy to assist you with anything in the rooms. We hope that we'll be able to meet your expectations again with the completion of the renovation, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Aspire Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne, VIC

Worst hotel I've stayed in

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Wotif
This has been the worst hotel stay I've ever had (and that includes the cheap motels I've stayed in while road tripping in small towns along the east coast). I am a doctor here to present at a conference tomorrow morning which starts at 7am and it is currently 3am and I am still up. You can hear every single noise anyone makes through your walls, including being able to hear the water running and toilet flushing of the next room as if there were no walls at all. Add to that other guests who clearly think it's ok to walk through the hall yelling at 1am and it has been a total nightmare. The TV has a light that stays on permanently and lights up the room while you try and sleep. There is no minibar (just am empty fridge) or room service despite this being offered in the hotel details when booking. There is apparently free WiFi but I was never given access and there is no information regarding this in the room. The hotel is also currently under construction so if you're a jet-lagged overseas guest good luck getting to sleep during the day with drilling going on that sounds like it is literally outside your door. Add to that the fact that the girl behind the desk seems to have no clue what she's doing and just be 'winging it' and it has been a total nightmare. Considering that it's not exactly the cheapest of hotels I'm extremely disappointed (as well as concerned about my ability to present in 4 hours). Please don't stay at this hotel you will regret it as I have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Aspire Hotel Team , Hotel Management
Dear Maddie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us as we are always looking for ways to improve our service. We run a 24 hour reception and are always available for assistance, whether that be for information about our facilities or noise complaints. To compliment this, all our televisions display the Metro Channel – A modern take on the guest information booklet. This is where you can find information such as connecting to our free Wi Fi, check out times and even special events coming up around the hotel. Thank you for bringing the TV standby light to our attention, we will be looking at ways to rectify this. We have also taken great lengths to ensure details of the renovation work are displayed on all major websites, allowing guests to make an informed decision when booking their stay with us. We are on target for completion in December 2016 and we sincerely apologise we could not meet your expectations this time. However we do hope you will consider us again once we have finished