Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Hundreds of guests and 1 clothes iron

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Central enough for my travel plans and good wifi but at a cost of $4 for 24hr access.
Cons: More clothes irons! Sort out the lift its terrible and slow and there's no ground floor key "G" instead it's another "3" key
Location: Near central station
Stayed here over a weekend and went down Saturday evening to hire a clothes iron to iron my dress shirt to go clubbing,was told somebody had already hired it,waited for half an hour to be told by reception there was only 1 iron in the whole place,12/13 floors of dorms hundreds of people and only 1 clothes iron,guy on the desk said sorry but what can I do about it ,had to tell him" GET ON TO MANAGEMENT AND ORDER MORE CLOTHES IRONS" had to go out clubbing with a wrinkled shirt so wasn't a happy bunny that night.Lifts take like forever to get from Floor to floor it was better taking the stairs at times and I stayed on the 10th floor,but not to completely slate the place it was reasonably priced and the staff do there best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Lachy - General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Danny, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear we had no clothes iron for you during your stay! I do apologise! We normally have at least 2 or 3 stored behind reception but for some reason they are one of the more popular items to go missing from the hostel! We are now all stocked up again! One of our lifts was out of order for a few days in that period which I understand is annoying however this issue is quite out of our control. Technicians are called immediately and are normally on site within a few hours to fix any elevator issues. Thanks again for your honest review!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare hostel

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Was mold in bathroom Was bed bugs Lost n found items left in room Storage facility upkeeped PowerPoint broken
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Lachy, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. Firstly, I would like to apologize for your experience with us at Westend as it sounds like your stay was not the best. I have recently taken over as manager and I have been working very closely with our housekeeping team to ensure problems like you unfortunately encountered are few and far between. We are a high capacity backpackers in the heart of the city and our building is one of the oldest in the area - however this is no excuse. We strive to keep on top of all issues - including those that you have mentioned. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to reform your opinion of Westend next time you are in Sydney. Cheers, Lachy (General Manager)
3 out of 5
by Grant from Canberra

Backpacking

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay. The room was sufficient though the bathroom was across the corridor. Through the window air conditioner. Typical backpackers. Small room but OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Mold central, toilet/shower door unable to lock

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The other guests
Cons: Knock it down and start again, change management while you're there.
Location: Sydney city - Not really my fav place - but I was there with a purpose. Every second business seems to be a Thai massage place!
Disgusting on all accounts. The airconditioner was as noisy as all hell and barely put out cold air - it did however appear to put out mold - the entire window was covered in mold - as were the vents of the airconditioner. The only bed left was a top bunk - which in itself is fair, but given there was no ladder and no way up - this was a bit of a problem. None of the other bunks had ladders either - but the rails at the end of those beds were able to be climbed - the rails on mine had been broken - short of a 2M jump, there was no way up. Given I had an early flight out - I decided instead to relax in the TV room - where at around 3 Am the manager came and kicked me out because apparently the TV room is closed until 5 AM. At this point I left - having had no sleep. The other guests were pleasant, and that is honestly the best comment I have about the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Lachy, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for your response. We appreciate all reviews and are always looking to improve our services! Firstly I apologize for the experience you had whilst staying with us. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and since taking over as manager only a few months ago I have been in close contact with our housekeeping team trying to improve on this area. Our building is heritage listed and is one of the oldest in the area - however this is no excuse. Maintenance checks are done daily and are very thorough. Our kitchen/TV room is closed during the early hours of the morning so it can be properly cleaned and to reduce noise for the rooms located above. These opening hours are displayed clearly on both kitchen entrance doors. I'm sure if you were to stay with us again we could reform your opinion of Westend Backpackers! Kind Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse place to stay

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nightmare... I was with my mom in sydney. Because of the chinese new year celebration, the hotel where we initially booked was already fully booked. We are suppose to stay in blue mountains thats why we dont gave a reservation on the same hotel which we stayed on the first 2 days. Our trip to blue mountains was cancelled and we decided to stay in the city then. Due to chinese new year, almost all hotels at CBD are fully booked. So i looked at the internet and saw Nomads Westend which is just opposite our previous hotel.. I thought that it is the right choice for us not to travel far to transfer our luggage. I paid 90usd for a private room. Definitely, not a backpackers' rate as my hotel rate is almost the same. In my surprise, I was given a room with 2 bank beds. The aircon is so noisy. The shower continuously flow. The room is stingy. The entire place is so dirty. We transfered to another hotel in the following day. The price is half of Nomads westend. But the service and the facilities are nice --- far from what we experienced in Nomads westend ... Definitely, I will not come back ag Nomads and will never recommend such place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Lachy, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Nomads Westend. Unfortunately Chinese New Years is one of the busiest and more expensive periods of the whole year - so prices would have been higher than normal. However our rates are always based off other hostels and competitors of the same standard and we are generally quite fairly priced. In regards to your room - our hostel is heritage listed and one of the older buildings in the city. In saying this there is no excuse for uncleanliness. Hygiene is always a top priority of mine and it pains me to hear you felt this way. I will take this up with our housekeeping team immediately. Can I ask if you made these issues known with our reception team? We have a highly trained team that are very comfortable dealing with all situations. We would have been happy to change/upgrade your room to something you were more comfortable in. Thanks for your honest review.
1 out of 5
by riki from Bankstown

Horrible !!!

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The whole place smelt terrible, musty and unclean. The shower had almost no water pressure. The mattress on the double bed was severely damaged and could not be used by two people comfortably. The pillows were insanely flat. The only redeeming quality is the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Overcharged and underdelivered

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Wotif
I booked a room with a double bed and ensuite for $100, only to find the ensuite was actually across the hall, the bed had no sheets and there wasn't even a towel provided. The elevator wouldn't stop on my floor, the staff ignored me for a good 10 minutes whilst trying to check in and everything inside the hotel was either breaking or broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yass

Reception sets the tone - badly

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Good location.
Cons: A major overhaul. I've stayed in hostels around the world, and this was one of the worst.
Filthy, broken bench seats 'welcome' the tired traveller. Not a great way to make a first impression. Broken lift.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Standard backpackers hotel, convenient location.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Good price, good location within the Sydney CBD
You get what you pay for. It's a backpacker's hostel, so don't expect luxury. The staff is very friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

소소

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
나쁘지 않았어요