Ratings based on 1,711 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Location, great view

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: location to the beach, pubs, cafes was fantastic, valet parking was great.
Cons: a quicker check in
Location: walks along the beach, stroll through the corso, markets, cafes, ferry to the city.
check in was a little slow, but hotel lovely, we had a balcony room. The hotel had a complimentary bottle of wine for our friend for her birthday which was a lovely touch. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for your review, it sounds like you had an opportunity to enjoy many of the things beautiful Manly offers during your stay with us. Thank you, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and convenient

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Enjoyed very much would go back The location is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BRISBANE

Great Hotel on the beachfront

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: We loved the homely feeling, and being able to have all our meals in the restaurant or by room service if desired.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Beautiful scenic walks around the headland and further on for the active visitors.
We were very warmly greeted and continued to be very well looked after during our stay. Zali's restaurant is fabulous for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a lovely setting overlooking the beach and the passing parade. It is only a short walk to the Corso where there is great shopping in a very relaxed setting, with coffee shops and other great eating options. We would certainly stay at the Novotel at Manly Beach when we next visit Sydney.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear KERRY & MARK, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fantastic review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy all that Manly has to offer, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Location: Close to everything in Manly - beach, restaurants, stores, Shelley Cove, etc.
We had an oceanview suite and the view was amazing! Lovely room with a large balcony. The breakfast buffet was very good. We enjoyed 3 nights and would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your 3 nights with us in one of our beautiful ocean view rooms. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, helpful staff

Posted May 22, 2017
Staff went out of their way to make our stay fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, I will certainly share your lovely comments with our wonderful team who work so hard to make our guests stay's ones to remember. We hope to welcome you back for another visit again soon. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Maunganui New Zealand

Location excellent

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Bedrooms were clean,choices at breakfast catered for everyone.
Cons: As stated
Location: Location great easy to get to all forms of transport
We were a little disappointed with the hotel as it is tired and requires a re fit. The staff were very good, the dining facitilties were great lovely view of the beach and the choices for breakfast were very good. Our only complaint was the hotel requires a re fit especially when compared with the Novatel on Collins Street Melbourne, which we had stayed at prior to our trip to Sydney.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am aware that there are areas of the Hotel that would benefit from an update and am pleased to inform you that we are currently reviewing plans to refurbish the property which the team and I are all looking forward to. I am pleased you enjoyed the wonderful location of the Hotel in the heart of Manly and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back for another visit one day soon. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach

Decent hotel across from the beach

Posted May 16, 2017
Check in was fast and easy. Loves the location. We could hear everything through the walls, really outdated. The ocean view was great with a sitting couch on the balcony. T
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear TJ, Thank you for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay in Manly. We hope we can welcome you back for another visit again soon. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from turramurra sydney

coacharoaches & cigarette butts

Posted May 14, 2017
We had to kill two huge coacharoaches that were in our room. Rang reception to report upstairs chain smoking guest throwing lit cigarette buts onto our balcony - nothing was done. We had a child with us making it difficult to enjoy weekend given these issues. Hotel is not cheap so very unhappy
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear joy, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is always disappointing to read that a team member has not responded to a guest issue and for this I would like to apologise, this is certainly not an example of the service the team strives toward at the property. Being a beach side property we do occasionally have visitors flying into the rooms through the sliding doors which is why we encourage our guests to keep them closed. Please again accept my apologies for your disappointing experience, I do hope that you and your family give us an opportunuty to better serve you again in the future. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

old hotel really needs some TLC

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: only the location
Cons: decor
Location: it's Manly
stayed there many times but it really is old and needs a lot of money spent to take it back to 4 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for your review. I appreciate that there are areas around the Hotel that would benefit from an upgrade and wanted to let you know that we are in the process of reviewing plans to refurbish the property. I hope you enjoyed your time in Manly. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot water would be nice!

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Wotif
Great location shame there was no hot water when you have a shower. Was only there for 1 night thankfully and didn't go for a morning swim.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am aware that we experienced issues with the hot water over the weekend and would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any discomfort this caused. I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Manly despite this and we have an opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in the Hotel. Kind Regards, James Ferguson