Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Our stay in Novotel was very comfortable and we enjoyed our time a lot
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope we can welcome you back for another visit again soon. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mid North Coast

room was so disappointing for the price

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Everything
Location: Not interested
The front of the motel overlooks a beach but we were put in a room at the back with no real view, no balcony and we were a long way from the lift and parking. Room was old and small and smelt and looked like it hadn't had an update in many years. Furniture was old, sheets were grey and didn't fit the bed properly. The aircon broke down but they did fix it to heat but not to cool. We paid nearly $400 per night with parking. We have done a lot of travelling and l have never complained about a motel before but this was horrendous. The hallways had marks on the walls and were in desperate need of new paint. The carpets smelt and were often littered with paper etc. We met people there who were put in a back room the same as us and only paid $274 but they thought the accommodation was terrible too. On a positive note the staff were lovely but this did not make up for the lack of nice surroundings. We booked months ahead and stayed for 5 nights and certainly expected better than this. We will not use expedia again or Novotel hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, I'm very sorry to read your review and would like to offer my sincere apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. I am aware that there are parts of the Hotel that would benefit from an update and wanted to let you know that we are in the process of reviewing plans to refurbish the property. I have noted your feedback to assist with these plans. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further, please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly. I hope you enjoyed your time in Manly, please again accept my apologies for your disappointments. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, England

Comfortable beds great service and location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Cleanliness of leisure facilities.
Great central location. Decent sized room with 2 comfortable double beds and good wifi. staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment. Only thing that let it down was the rooftop pool and shower facilities - needs a good clean. Parking on the steep side at $35/nite but might be the going rate in Manly?
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, Thank you for your great review. I'm disappointed to read your comments regarding the rooftop and will certainly investigate this further with our Housekeeping team. I'm pleased you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. We hope to welcome you back for another visit one day soon. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel all of themz

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Hotel, rocation, staff all excellence so my family are very happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you and your family had a great stay in Manly. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fabulous Manly in the Manly Pacific.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Fabulous Manly Beach - several 1 kilometer natural beauty walks from the front door of the hotel. Manly Wharf and Corso providing food & shopping.
Quiet restful break in a spacious room. Facilities were more than adequate, beds were clean and comfortable, staff were all exceptional and the beach and what Manly has to offer was also exceptional. Good Japanese inspired bar menu made for a quick dinner, for one, chatting to other guests. Front desk provided newspapers, apples, umbrellas, kids entertainment spots, baker service, stream of taxis for a local wedding,... nothing looked like a problem and there was no waiting around to get help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Cath, Thank you for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team provided you with exceptional service. We hope to welcome you back for another visit one day soon. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff, great location.
Cons: I think parking should be included in the tarriff.
Waking to sunrise over the ocean, filtered by a parade of norfolk pines, was special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I'm pleased you had an opportunity to view the beautiful sunrise over Manly Beach. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location opposite the beach.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, facilities.
Cons: Room was basic.
Great location and hotel has good amenities, the room itself was fairly basic and probably could do with some modernisation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am aware that there are parts of the hotel that need updating and wanted to let you know that we are in the process of reviewing refurbishment plans with our owners. I am pleased you enjoyed the Hotel's fabulous location opposite the beautiful Manly Beach. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Amazing beach views

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Awesome beach views and huge king bed
Cons: Please educate your restaurant staff. Incorrectly labelled food can cause serious medical outcomes. Also teach them that coconut cream is not dairy.
Location: Best views of Manly beach directly across the road
Great location with awesome beach views. Would eat breakfast elsewhere next time. GF labelling was incorrect and could have resulted in a trip to hospital if we didn't double check. Most restaurant staff had poor knowledge and not very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice if you book the ocean rooms

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I recently stayed one night in a Standard room. Whilst I knew I wasn't booking the top room or even a room with a view, I did not expect to be in another building all together... Miles from anywhere with outdated aircon and furniture. When I asked the staff about this they simply said book a better room. Oh well, I'll know if there is ever a next time. Everything else was fine and amenities adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by James Ferguson, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read your comments and would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations this time. I hope you enjoyed your time in Manly. Kind Regards, James Ferguson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for family of four

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Across the beach
Cons: Pillows
Location: Restaurants, hotels, beach
Stayed in Manly and caught the ferry daily to Sydney