Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Small bathroom with shower curtain that stuck to you! Sink was blocked. Ironing board was lumpy. Pool area very tired looking. Friend got checked into a room that was already occupied, luckily the person was not in there at the time he walked in! He was then put in a room with three single beds! Good location but the hotel is tired looking at needs an upgrade.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Good postion, small older tidy room, poor internet

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Tidy enough hotel but older and slightly noisy. Internet maxed at two hundred and fifty mb per day which was disappointing. Staff were friendly and helpful. Probably would not stay there again for work or family but may if I was just travelling alone
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for staying at Park Regis City Centre and taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are sorry and disappointed that your stay at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your feedback regarding the comfort of your room.and the limit on WiFi connection, as your comfort is our number one concern. Nevertheless, I see you enjoyed the service our staff provided and had the opportunity to explore the nearby attractions. We value your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Park Regis City Centre soon. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, poor facilities.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
1. Free internet with limited data was unsatisfactory quality. 2. Bathroom facilities could have been much better , eg, shower was improper, basin too small, shaving gel poor quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing to stay at Park Regis City Centre and taking valuable time to share your feedback with us. In respect to your comments regarding the WiFi limit,I do agree with you that this needs to be addressed with an unlimited plan being considered in the near future. In regards to your feedback about the rooms, I am pleased to advise that we have a refurbishment plan in place. This includes plans for an overhaul of the bathrooms. We have noted your feedback pertaining to the bathroom design and we have taken into consideration improving accessibility in our upcoming upgrade plan. The two points you have raised are valid and will be shared internally with the management team. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel was the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing to stay at Park Regis City Centre and taking valuable time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Quick visit toSydney

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Position
Cons: N/a
Location: Very central to everything in the cbd
Great position, able to access the city very easily, value for money, staff very helpful, comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Sue We are absolutely pleased to note that you had a great experience with us. We appreciate your positive comments on almost every aspect of the hotel, and will share all with the team. The team will be delighted to receive such compliments, as all the effort they made is recognized by your kind words. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Central location and close to shopping, eating places and offices. However that's the only positive thing I have to say about this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guest’s expectations and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience more of what Park Regis City Centre has to offer. We are sorry and disappointed that your stay at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your feedback . Nevertheless, we do hope that you had enjoyed our location and had the opportunity to explore the nearby attractions. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location paid for a queen room got a double

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The room was very tiny for the price! So not worth the money. Booked a queen bedroom got a double bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis City Centre and taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your constructive feedback on the size and decor of the room and do acknowledge that the design and style of each hotel can be subjective to individual’s expectations. We regret that we did not meet your expectation in this aspect. With regards to the issue with the rate disparity, we would like to share with you that the rates in which you booked your room under was in fact the Best Available Rate. These rates are dynamic, and hence will change daily depending on room availability. Should you require further clarifications, please feel free to contact our Reservations department. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible mouldy shambles of a hotel. Just No.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Some of the front desk staff cheerful with good intent, but in vain against the dirty shambles that is this hotel. Other staff and services were Fawlty Towers style clueless. Room servicing was haphazard; room was mouldy/musty; laundry service was 100% incompetant over the three times I used them. I'm also guessing there hasn't been much by way of maintenance since the building opened in 1967. As a rating description, I would use the Australian colloquialism 'sh*tstate'.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear work trip, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us had not been perfect due to various reasons as per our review and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. Please be rest assured that we take your feedback very seriously and will look into the matters to avoid similar occurrence in the future. Nevertheless, we hope you have enjoyed other aspects of the hotel such as our location. We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guest’s expectations. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Rooms exceptionally small not as advertised Internet stops after 2 minutes of use
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Regis City Centre and taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your constructive feedback on the size and decor of the room and do acknowledge that the design and style of each hotel can be subjective to individual’s expectations. We regret that we did not meet your expectation in this aspect. Once again, thank you once again for sharing your comment and my team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again on your next trip to Sydney. Staywell, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Central location a big plus, bed is second rate

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Great location close to Town Hall railway station and major bus routes means it is accesible to just about anywhere. Bed is too soft sinking in the middle and to the right. Sleep comfortness, or lack of it, was bad. Vome to think of it, that was what we paid for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Dear Pau, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review .I am certainly glad that you enjoyed the our location many guests share the same sentiment However I am disappointed that we failed to satisfy you overall, & apologise that the comfort of your bed did not meet your expectations. I have taken your comments on board & at the earliest opportunity to review the bedsI will make every available endeavour to action your suggestion to implement firmer mattresses. Stay Well, Anthony Davis Front Office Manager Park Regis City Centre