Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Would only stay there for the location

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Can not remember getting a room key this century ( as opposed to a room card). This tells you how outdated this place is. $157 for a studio room (20 sq/m) very ordinary, even the shower taps had to be turned on backwards. Enough said, do not go there unless you have to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2015 by Michael Ball, Hotel Management
Dear Andreas Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to respond and always welcome guest feedback for areas we can improve. As you note our location is very convenient for the city and lower north shore. The area has many cafes and restaurants that offer great variety. Best Regards Michael Ball General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Hotel is in a good position but needs an update badly. Nice view and close to restaurants and bus to city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2015 by Michael Ball, Hotel Management
Dear traveler Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. We are certainly in a very convenient position with shops, movie theatre and many restaurants all close by. The rooms continue to be upgraded in consultation with the owners including painting, larger hot water systems and new carpet required in some rooms. Many of our rooms have been refubished and this is an ongoing process to improve the overall standard of the hotel. Best Reagrds Michael Ball General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great place to stay Close to the city

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Terrific place to stay Close to everything. Onlyrics stayed 2 nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2015 by Michael Ball, Hotel Management
Dear Dee Thank you and we appreciate your review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Michael Ball General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

convenient for our purpose

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: convenient to transport
Cons: hot water system
Location: easy commute to city zoo beaches and all ammenities
we only required the room for sleeping as we were out all day and we found the room comfortable the bed quilt was badly stained and filthy so we consigned it to a cupboard otherwise the bed was okay the shower was hopeless and ran out of hot water very quickly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2015 by Michael Ball, Hotel Management
Dear Colleen Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I have spoken with housekeeping reagrding the bed throw to ensure they are maintained in a clean condition and apologise that it was dirty. The hot water systems are being upgraded in consultation with owners on an ongoing basis to ensure improved stays. I appreciate the review and look forward to your return if you visit Sydney again. Best Regards Michael Ball General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Convenient location but poor value for money

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location -close to shops, services, transport
Cons: Remove tired décor accessories, improve/replace air conditioning, paint room ,clean kitchen utensils
Location: Good location, great variety of restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets, close to transport .
3 night stay in noisy, tired room "overlooking" Military Road. Grubby paintwork and even grubbier air conditioner fitted in balcony window which meant could not have unit running and close the curtains for privacy! Unnecessary, tired décor accessories and although well stocked with kitchen utensils many were dirty and knives so blunt they were useless. Although bathroom/laundry was small it was functional - but despite the marble floor tiles the general condition was poor and the shower track filthy. Grubby, tired common areas and not happy with their requirement for $100 credit card [or $200 cash!] security deposit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2015 by Michael Ball, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and I apologise for the issues you have noted. Housekeeping have been made aware to better inspect the cleanilness of kitchen items and also bathroom facilities. Our rooms are being upgraded in consultation with owners on an ongoing basis to ensure they are maintained at our required standards. Our harbour view rooms offer a quieter nights sleep and also offer some great views of the harbour and city. Best Regards Michael Ball General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Site to reality very different

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: It was close by to why I needed the room
Cons: A more frequent confirmation between the 3rd party booking website and the hotel to ensure information is correct
The website has conflicting information to what the hotel offers. Parking is available for all rooms but you have to pre book as there is not enough spaces. They tell you you only need to use the security tag to access the elevator after hours, no you need the tag to access the elevator at any time. If someone has already scanned their tag and pressed their floor you need to scan your tag to press your floor as well which means reaching across the very small elevator. With three people in the lift and 2 bags each, the elevator is full. The rooms were not clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Had to pay $100 deposit upon check in. Still haven't got it back. No hot water for a shower. Terrible experience for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Coast

Very Convenient Location.

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, close to eateries & transport to City
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Staff always helpful. Air con dirty, broken & no heating. Hot Water OK but "trickle" strength. Emergency evacuation 7.30 pm annoiunced as a "Drill"(Daughter had one at 3.30 am three weeks earlier) !!! Fire stairs clean, well lite untill last set of stairs to street leve very poor light & very dirty - would be a challnge to older guets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware the military road side

Posted May 30, 2015 on Lastminute
Traffic noise is terrible. To add insult to injury, they started roadworks at nine in the evening right outside