Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Know what you're getting

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Isolation, peace and quiet, walking tracks, spacious room.
Cons: Attention to detail on the little things - toiletries must be stocked properly, plenty of tea / coffee / sugar and milk, close the fridge door.
This was meant to be a retreat getaway, which it was. We arrived in the rain so were keen to get settled into our room with a hot bath. However, on check in, I discovered the room I'd booked had a detached bathroom. I had to pay for an upgrade, so know that before you book a standard or heritage room. The restaurants were closed for renovations, which was a bit of an inconvenience, and the room service menu was pretty paltry, especially if you have any kind of dietary issues. The room was serviced, but the staff appeared to think that one cup of tea of coffee was adequate for 2 adults staying for 2 days and nights. We had to practically beg for more milk, sugar and tea bags (lucky I take my own wherever I go). The toiletries were also not properly stocked when we arrived. The staff member we asked for extra supplies was very put out by our requests. The common areas, like guest lounges and games rooms are tired and uninviting and in desperate need of some TLC. The property itself is wonderful for getting out and learning about our past, however, and we certainly enjoyed ourselves doing so. It was certainly an experience, and I'm pleased I've stayed there, but it's not something I would do again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful scenery, quiet and relaxing

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Nice place to study some history and chill out in nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Great location and clean room

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The location and history.
Location: Good location you can catch the bus or ferry to manly ,plenty of beaches , hiking or shops and restaurants.
Easy check in pleasant staff and a great reasturant the boiler house .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Coast NSW

Unusual hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: This hotel is not like your average hotel. Its so unusual with outside guest lounges with lots of memorabilia, lots of walking tracks and the beach.
Cons: Maybe some parking closer to rooms
Location: Apart from the cafe and restaurant in the ground Manly a short drive away has more to see and do including the ferries to the city
Had a very nice stay at the Q even though our room's bathroom was not attached and it was blowing a gale and raining it was no problem getting to our undercover outside bathroom which turned out to be very clean and roomy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Spectacular Setting

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Where else in an urban area can you encounter echidna and bandicoots on the walk from the bus drop off to your room? The accommodations are rustic but comfortable. Private beach, great restaurant, and great views of the Sydney skyline and harbor make up for the bathrooms being outside of our suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Fascinating hotel and history

Posted Feb 23, 2017
My wife complained about the bed being too soft. Housekeeping did not service the room on the first day. Location was beautiful. Sydney storms just enhanced the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Lastminute
Great location! Will be returning in the future to do the ghost tour!
5 out of 5
by Jan

Great weekend

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
One of our best weekends away. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Quarantine Station. The staff were friendly with excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely place to stay with enthusiastic & professional staff. Breakfast was delicious & great value for money!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No good if it's hot

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Wotif
We arrived in a 40-degree heatwave and there was no AC in the room. Had to leave and find somewhere else. The hotel did not refund our money even though we had paid only 15 minutes earlier at check in. Not happy. They room was very nice apart from that and the staff were as helpful as they could be.