Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Wotif
The only reason why u need to choose it is the price and the location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic student accomodation and just overnight.

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
A brief stay to go to a 30th birthday. It was closest accomodation with parking and uni. Student were on holidays. Beds were good, fan in ceiling with light was ideal. However, very limited size, vanity basin was doggy and appeared to have had some repairs, but needed more to stabilise it. Check in was at a desk as renovations were happening in the office. Finding the room took a bit as numbering was not simple and logical.
1 out of 5
by Clint from Salt Lake City

Super Disappointed

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
I was very disappointed in my hotel stay. The room was very basic and did not have a TV or air conditioning. It was very hot. The window did not have a screen and I woke up one night with a grasshopper in my bed. The housekeeping was nonexistent and never came to my room during my stay. People came in at all hours of the night and would constantly wake me up. Skip this hotel!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from country msw

5 day stay

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: not much, the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: air condition, fridge and microwave in room . bathroom and room cleaned properly. fly screen door.
Location: no public transport nothing to do. free parking only on street and after 7 pm to 7am inside uni otherwise you have to pay to park in parking station.
overall we were disappointed with our stay. overnight only at this venue
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

True Uni experience

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Wotif
Room at Shalom College was dirty, bed side table had sticky drink rings. Second bed side table was broken and unstable. Staff were helpful when they were there. Unable to check out of room properly as no staff were available to speak to. Bathroom was dirty. Toilets had markings all over and didn't look like they had been cleaned for a while. No air con in rooms. Coming back from concert late at night and keys to the college and room didn't work, still didnt work the following day. Upside: Close to bus and UNSW grounds in general were lovely to walk around.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from LA, CA, USA

Different experience

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
As the other comments stated, this is a college dorm renting its rooms over the break. There were some students around, no free wifi, bathroom is down the hall, had to carry bags upstairs, no air conditioning or fan, hard to get service late at night. That was not a problem for me, I was happy to get a room at the last minute close to the airport at a cheap price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close (on) to campus

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: LOTS: make it a "hotel" not a poorly run, dirty student place with no facilities: I was expecting something like a hostel but it was just not
Place undergoing renovation. Student rooms as expected except the room was dirty (hair on sink)/ food or blood on heater and general sticky something on cupboard. Towels, sheets and blanket seemed very clean. There is NOWHERE to prepare food or cook as you would expect in student halls: the common room was filthy (but then cleaned on monday). When I asked for a mug to make coffee the staff said there were none and offered me 2 plates and told me the rest had been stolen. The hot water tap on floor 2 was broken. There was nothing to cook with or on and no kettle. No glasses or mugs provided at all!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Wotif
It's cheap but you get what you pay for... If you're on a tight budget it's not a bad place. Conveniently close to public transport and everything, just wasn't the most comfortable stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was cheap...never again
Cons: I don't have enough room or time to answer this
Appears to be run a bunch uni students for free rent...they had no clue. If you stay you can enjoy your time with noisy students who have no regard for anyone but themselves...the doors did not stop banging and and bouncing pool ball was just awesome at 1am.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Ok Stay

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The price was very good for the location. I would be happy to stay here again.
Cons: The cleaning was not great, the old wet towels of the previous guest were still hanging behind the door.
Location: The location was fantastic for us. Central to the uni, bus stops and many take away food shops. very convenient!
The staff were wonderful upon check in and carried my 8 year old's bag up to our room for us. The room was new and had an ensuite and we were comfortable. The shared kitchenette was conveniently located with hot and chilled water; we didn't use the small fridge as it was over crowded for the number of guests. The west facing room was quite warm in the afternoon with just a ceiling fan for cooling, I would ask for a room on the eastern side on our next stay if possible.