Ratings based on 1,061 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Great Location. Spacious room.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Housekeeping service. On the last day, our glasses were polished with fat.
Location: The rock is a historic area where the european settlements first arrived. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within 5 minute walking.
First impression of the room was not great. It's kind of an apartment converted into hotel room (quiet old and torn.) In-room kitchen is handy for those who would like to eat-in. Closed to shops, bar and restaurants. After four nights, we really enjoyed it and definitely will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and service

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: The pillows
Location: The free bus to the city; Opera (you can get reasonably priced tickets online (centre backrows with excellent views); Wok on Inn for good cheap food
Six of us, in two units, all had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The rooms were well-appointed although there was a complaint about the pillows (they weren't really fluffy and you needed about three per person), but the beds/mattresses were firm and nice. We could cook, even bake which for persons with food allergies and preferences, was perfect. We never had a chance to use the pool and the sauna but they looked most tempting. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The location is ideal to the Opera House, to the ferries, the free city bus, the railway. And in fact, you can walk the length of George Street for your shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent location at The Rocks

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Loved the location.
Room was spacious and clean with good facilities e.g. Kitchenette, balcony, ironing board, proper hair dryer and it was quiet even though above the road. Bathroom let it down as it needed a good clean up and down with rust on the shower door and tiles were stained. The cooked beakfast was average but the fresh melon, berries and yoghart were good. All staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains

What a bargain!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The room was well equipped with cooking facilities, comfortable beds and tasteful decor.
I booked this hotel months in advance with a special deal. The room was excellent. We found staff friendly and very efficient. The location is wonderful for a night at the Opera House - no taxi queue! Beautiful shops, delightful restaurants, inspiring galleries, all so near.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Close to everything

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: It's position, the spacious room and the ability to prepare food in the room, and no traffic or night club noise.
Cons: The shower screen needed a good scrub. It would be good to be able to turn off the irritating hum from the ventilation system.
Location: Near the ferries, buses and trains. Very close to the cruise terminal, the MCA and a short walk to the Opera House. Many tourist shops and cafes.
This hotel is close to transport, shops, restaurants, the modern Art gallery and only a short walk to the Opera House. It is up the hill a little from the Quay which might be a problem for wheel chair visitors, but in a historical and beautiful part of old Sydney. Our room was spacious with a kitchenette with microwave, a bathroom with a bath and plenty of hot water, and high enough to get a glimpse of the harbour and to enjoy the morning sunshine.There was an irritating loud continuous hum from the ventilation system that reception said could not be turned off. The windows could be opened for fresh air if desired. We stayed when Sydney was experiencing an unusually cold snap and we found the room very cold. We could not find a setting on the air conditioning that would provide hot air and at 1.30 am rang reception to ask for help. We thought we were doing something incorrectly. We were offered and accepted gratefully a fan heater which made the room comfortable. We came to the conclusion that either our air conditioner was faulty, or it was only a cooler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, elegant and reasonable

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Opera House, Circular Quay, CBD, museum
Cons: The pillows.
Location: Wok On In at the Rocks Square - good but cheap Thai/Chinese food; free CBD shuttle opposite Circular Quay, to downtown; Opera;
Excellent service from check-in to departure. Room was well-appointed with a kitchenette that included a full stove/oven, fridge and microwave.. The beds were firm and comfortable, only the pillows were not thick and fluffy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Great hotel set in Rocks area.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Good facilities. Great location.
Cons: Nothing
Fabulous place to stay. Only 10 minute walk from trains at Circular Quay. Easy walk to city and opera house and Botanic gardens. Lots of great earing places nearby. Walk to Milsons Point on other side of bridge only took us 20 minutes. Room spacious with good facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, very close to all services

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Quietness, staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfasts, well presented. Hotel was exceptionally clean.
Cons: To have a separate shower recess instead of having to climb into the bath to have a shower. A concern for older people!
Location: Excellent location very near Circular Quay for ferries trains and buses. Many varied restaurants and shops within a couple of minutes walk.
Had a lovely three day stay in Sydney staying at Rendezvous Hotel in the Rocks. It is close to great restaurants, ferries, trains, and buses to visit any part of Sydney very easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Had a priceless view from our balcony of Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge (rm 609). Room was not ready when we arrived but they made us a coffee and provided a free nights internet. We had two single beds made up for the teenagers, mattresses were hard and the additional underblankets we requested to soften the mattresses never arrived but the teenagers were that exhausted they finally slept anyway. Good in house breakfast available, good selection of fresh food, although the toaster and pancake maker were both not working on the second morning so chose to eat elsewhere. Good value for money and competitive with local restaurants Overall good room with fantastic view, good location and friendly staff. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted May 31, 2015 on Wotif
Fantastic location Nice breakfast, simple fare but adequate Staff great & helpful Folding beds in room very uncomfortable & lumpy