Ratings based on 1,187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Rocks Central

Posted Jan 27, 2016
This hotel is positioned in the centre of all the pubs cafes and restaurants of The Rocks area. Plus it is only 1 street back from the Circular Quay bay and ferries. We had a Studio room which was very spacious a good sized bathroom quite comfortable and an unexpected little kitchenette which came in quite handy. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Will recommend and we would stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quakers hill, Sydney

Promised a lot delivered a little

Posted Jan 26, 2016
By the write up on the web it seemed like a classy place. It was far from it, the furniture didn't match, broken door lock and things just seemed to be dumped there instead of strategically placed. Wasn't happy with the place at all, sorry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Location, location, location!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The hotel's location could not be better for tourists visiting Sydney in my opinion.
Cons: As others have noted, the rooms are a bit tired and could probably use some new carpet.
Location: Sydney Opera House, Botanical Gardens, Sydney Harbor Bridge Climb, Circular Quay, Manly Beach, Darling Harbor
The Rendezvous Hotel at the Rocks gets a "5-star" rating in my book based on its terrific location! The hotel is quite literally a five minute walk from the Circular Quay Harbor & Train Station, which means that it is virtually 20-30 minutes from most anywhere in Sydney. Sydney Harbor, the Sydney Opera House, the Botanical Gardens, Darling Harbor, Manly Beach, St. James Station (drops you right in the middle of the shopping district and the Sydney Tower), etc, etc. are all just a ferry or train stop away. Also, the Bridge Climb is less than 10 minutes away in the Rocks. We found the hotel breakfast in the morning to be quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bunbury Australia

Close to everything

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel was central to everything we wanted to do in Sydney
Cons: The breakfast room got very hot in the morning, not sure whether the airconditioner was turned off or whether they need to instal sails over the pool.
Location: Short walk to Circular Quay and the Harbour Bridge. We hopped on a ferry and went to Taronga Park Zoo. Cruise Terminal is a five minute walk.
We were going on a cruise and the hotel was a five minute walk from the cruise terminal. The rooms are spacious and have everything you want for a stay in Sydney.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cc

Old tired hotel rooms need a makeover asap

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Old tired hotel that needs to make over there rooms Location is awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Très bel hôtel

Posted Nov 15, 2015
L'appartement était très bien agencé, très bien équipé avec une vue magnifique sur l'opéra !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Great location, great service, great weekend

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, friendly service, free apples water and coffee during the daytime.
Cons: Air con and bathroom steam vent could have worked more efficiently
Location: In the heart of The Rocks, Sydney. Easy walking distance to everything in the CBD. Plus easy access to public transport, ferries, buses, trains.
Close to transport, food, sightseeing and history. Staff couldn't be better. Had everything we needed for a great weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeanne J.

Convenient, quiet location

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Orbitz
We booked a room with a balcony, only to find the neighboring buildings were taller than our balcony, leaving us with no view except for that of other rooftops. However, the balcony was nice, and the set-up probably contributed to the room being relatively quiet for a city location. The room itself is starting to look a little shabby and will need updating soon, while the bathroom was compact without much room to set items. We didn't use the kitchen or other amenities of the hotel as we were only there one night. Staff was pleasant and helpful and there was coffee in the lobby in the mornings. The location was perfect, in close proximity to the train station, ferry terminal, Opera House, harbour bridge, etc. Perfect for walking! The only negative was we tried to book a room for one night at the end of our stay, and we were told there was a 2 night minimum due to the cruise ship season having started. We couldn't figure out why that would matter, and it was a bit disappointing they were not welcoming of us as repeat customers. This put us off of the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel in heart of the Rocks

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Lastminute
Bathroom sink never cleaned properly - scum on drain hole. One of the two lifts was out of order for 4 days. Fire alarm went off - false alarm. No restaurant in the hotel. Street yraffic and pedestrian traffic very noisey. Staff where very friendly. View of the opera house and harbour was great. Cruise ship block the opera house view on 6 of the 7 days we were at the hotel but the ships were gone by 6.30pm at the latest every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Excellent location, great staff

Posted Nov 3, 2015
They even noticed we were there for a while and offered to stock our fridge with a few groceries to get us up and running. Fines location in Sydney.