Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

transportation location attracted but horrible inn

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The transportation attracted us but it's a horrible druggist infested neighborhood. The rooms were never cleaned, towels had stains, the a/c barely functioned (no a/c in the main bedroom). However, must admit the hotel security guy helped my wife take in two luggages while checking in. If you are backpacking then only consider this place, the name "royal exhibition" is a sick mockery. BTW, you can't bring your car in front of this hotel as there will be ongoing construction for at least one year for train lines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very lose to the central station.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Very convenient location and the staffs are very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoky accommodations on busy street

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Large room with a comfortable bed, but stuffy because the windows can't be opened, and because of the cigarette smoke from the bar downstairs. Also, noisy because it's on a busy street. Good meals available from the restaurant at a good price, and good, inexpensive, local beers on tap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Across the street from Central Station

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The Royal Exhibition Hotel sits above a bar just across the street from Sydney's Central Station. The location makes it easy to get anywhere in the Sydney metro area. Bus stops surround the station, and the train to the airport is a 10min ride (but will cost you $17 on an OPAL card). Hotel staff (found at the bar) are extremely helpful and friendly! Kitchen at the bar closes at 9pm, but they helped me find places nearby that were still open after my late arrival. Rooms are outdated, but bathrooms have been updated. Soundproofing is not so great, but you couldn't hear any sounds from the bar up on the 2nd floor. Not much by way of too many amenities, but the location and staff more than make up for it. I would consider staying here again, for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague

Good choice

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Excellent place near the city centre and very good connection to the airport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base to explore Sydney

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Convenient place to stay close to Central Rail Station with value for money rates
Cons: Could offer an iron and ironing board to use
Location: Next to Central Rail Station and a multitude of restaurants in Surry Hills area
Located adjacent to Central Rail Station this is a charming old city hotel with updated accommodation rooms on the first and second floors. Rates are good for Sydney and rooms are spacious with decor to match the ambiance of an old style hotel. One of the best features of this hotel is the restaurant which serves a wide variety of meals at amazing cheap prices. There is a lift in the hotel for those who find it hard to negotiate the stairs to the upper levels. Rooms have a fridge however there is no breakfast facilities or menu so it is wise to either eat out for breakfast or stock up at the 711 store just up the road.. If you are after good value for money in a 2 to 3 star hotel then this is ideal. We were in Sydney for sightseeing and with our Opal card found it ideal to use the train, bus and ferry system in Sydney. We only needed a clean comfortable room each night with a hot shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Great relaxed atmosphere and location location

Posted Dec 16, 2016
This is my third stay at the Royal Exhibition Hotel. I like the atmosphere and the beer garden. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly, the bistro food is tasty and well priced and it's location is great as it's so close to Central Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Value for money

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Wotif
Hotel staff very accommodating. Rooms surprisingly in good shape
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly located for our Sydney stay