Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taree NSW

Friendly staff. Convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and very helpful. Perfectly located in walking distance to RPA health campus, the University of Sydney and Newtown restaurants
Cons: New carpet. The carpet in my room was worn out to the point it was missing in some areas.
Location: RPA hospital and allied services, University of Sydney, Newtown dining, Parramatta Rd with plenty of buses to the city.
Found this to be a very convenient hotel with very friendly and helpful staff in a very good location for multiple visiting requirements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chosen for location, but noisy

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Room was ok, a bit old with the fittings. The worst part was we could hear our neighbours noises. Sounded like we were staying in a brothel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our reception desk is open 24 hours and any issues our guests are having with noise from neighbouring rooms can be dealt with quickly by our front office and security teams.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY HELPFUL STAFF

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We found all staff extremely helpful and friendly. Good menu in the restaurant. Attending out-patients appointments at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and this hotel very suitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange

Well positioned hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The hotel is close to the CBD and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The decor is a little tired however the beds are comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Bathroom setup was horrible. Water sitting in the middle of bathroom. Just nasty area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that your stay wasn't as enjoyable as we would have hoped. Your feedback has been given directly to our Executive Housekeeper so she is able to follow up with her team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Not worth the price, misleading photos

Posted Mar 10, 2017
General room itself was spacious but everything is very old, carpet smells. Paid $180 a night for conditions of maximum a 2 star hotel, expected much better than that for this price. Location was convenient but not even offering discounted parking or free for a couple hours is terrible service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to see your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped. Guests and visitors are welcome to park for a short time (2-3 hours) free of charge, however we do charge for overnight parking. To ensure the fee is fair all guests pay the same price for parking. I am pleased to advise we are about to begin renovations on our hotel and look forward to this being completed in the coming months. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nsw

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Beds were comfortable but bathroom was a little outdated and in need of a spruce up
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Kate. We are pleased to advise we are about to begin renovations on all of our guest rooms and look forward to this being completed in the next few months. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong

Way too expensive.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Too expensive for its location. 3 star hotel not 4 star. Needs a much needed upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Rydges Camperdown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not find our property value for money. We are about to begin renovations on all of our guest rooms and look forward to this being completed in the coming months. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
I came to stay at the hotel for the NYE period and was told that I must pay a $200 to stay in the room. I was never informed prior that I must pay this "NYE bond" which was a pain. The elevators close on you which is quite dangerous. Our bathroom had random holes, paint peeling, rust, dirty bathtubs and the actual room smelt of dust. The telephone had a crack and there was a peeled wall piece which made me paranoid since I was forced to pay a bond, I'm hoping I get my bond back because I did not cause any damage. At night, when entering the bathroom to get ready for bed we were welcomed by large cockroaches that must have come from the drain or hole in the wall which was NOT pleasant. The reception also close at night which is an inconvenience. Also, I booked a room for four people and they only provided three towels a day. I requested a fourth towel on the first day, but the next day it was back to three. I would have called to ask for a fourth towel, but reception was shut. If you forget your room key and come back after 10pm, you'll be locked out of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to see your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped and apologise for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback about your room has been passed to our Executive Housekeeper. All guests staying over the New Year’s period were required to provide a $200 credit card authorisation or cash bond on check in to the hotel, as per the hotels NYE policy. Please note our reception desk is open 24 hours a day and does not close at any point, our front doors do lock from 10 pm for security however there is a staff member available to assist. Reception is able to provide towels and any other room amenities 24 hours a day. Kind regards, Rydges Camperdown
4 out of 5
by Florence

Convenient

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant and relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon. Kind regards, Rydges Camperdown