Ratings based on 954 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Penguin Tasmania

Close to Venue of Conference reason for 3 day stay

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Professional friendly Front Office staff. Quick taxis
Cons: Beds - throw out the single beds - seriously - its 2016 and only kids sleep in single beds. Food - either do it well or get out. Barman.
Location: Luna Park - a venue for the 2 day Robert Kiyosake conference. We did not do any other activities. Ate away for 2 nights as food at hotel just awful.
Hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Restaurant was NOT open on weekends which seemed unbelievable, until we ordered some room service and then we knew why - the food was terrible and cold. $22 for a cheeseburger that is not as good as Maccas (and they aren't good) was unbelievable! Substandard food and presentation with inner city prices was insulting. $9 for a very small bowl of chips? Seriously? What planet are you on? The room had single beds - ok for kids, NOT for grownups. A twin room is 2 x double beds, not 2 x single beds. It is 2016 isn't it? I am a 58 year old woman and it was very uncomfortable. The two pillows were so soft that fluffed down to nothing and there was no support. My 24 year old daughter and I got no sleep on the first two nights. We asked Reception for 2 x hard pillows which they did. The barman did not know how to make a strawberry daiquiri, although his attempt was okay. (What the? We paid $32 for 2 drinks that had god knows what in them??) Your F&B Manager needs to explain to your risk control officer what the hell is going on. We got a small amount of sleep on the third and last night of our stay. Taxi service was excellent and fast. We won't stay again and we won't recommend the hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coffs harour

Ok hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
My stay was bad because the lift in the car park was broken so my pregnant wife had to walk up these rediclous stairs then they charge me parking still
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Lastminute
Very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable and clean and check-in/out was very quick. Very convenient to have onsite parking. Disappointing that the lifts are currently undergoing "maintenance" - I had to wait 25 minutes to get a lift down to reception to check out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Not the usual stabdard

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Wotif
I love this hotel but this visit I had two complaints. Firstly there was a horrid, musty smell in the room, coming from the air conditioning. Second the Caesar Salad with Garlic prawns I ordered from room service came with a pile of lettuce with dressing only on top and three measly prawns. Not the standard I've come to expect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good clean hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Wotif
Unfortunately as nice as it was there was hikes in the towels and the bath could have been re lined . The TV remote didn't work either
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Tired and in need of some TLC

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Free WI-FI
Cons: Lifts are shocking Overall the age of the rooms are showing. One tile was painted black rather than a bulk tile
Location: Didn't venture out
Overall the stay was comfortable. The Hotel is definitely showing signs of age and in need to tender loving care to bring it up to current day standards. The free WI-FI was wonderful and definitely added to my comfort during the week long stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Lastminute
Cons: a microwave would have been handy.
Location: walking distance to Mater Hospital.
stayed 4 nights but too noisy in daytime as construction going on next door. A room on the other side of the building for a stay of more than one night might be a good idea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Good hotel for easy access to Sydney cbd

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Wotif
As above easy access to city when wanting to see show etc without need to stay in the city
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great service and nice location

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff
Cons: Decor
Location: Close to Sydney harbour Bridge
We landed late and went to our room. Housekeeping hadn't cleaned our room as the bed and bathroom were in disarray but the reception staff were quick to react and changed the room themselves! We got sent downstairs for free wine. Next morn we enjoyed a complimentary breakfast. Great service thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Showing its age

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was clean and the staff were pleasant.
Cons: The lighting on the driveway up the hotel (which slopes quite severely) is appallingly bad. For anyone with poor eyesight it would be a real problem.
Location: It's not a great location, behind a large school in a fairly residential part of North Sydney. No strong attractions.
The Rydges North Sydney feels like a hotel in need of a make over. When I stayed there the two guest lifts were out of action which meant that everyone had to use the staff elevator. This meant long delays, and I had to take the stairs to and from the underground car park - OK for me but would be an issue for someone with limited mobility. The room, while clean and quite well presented, was not what I would expect from a city hotel. There was an old clock radio built into the bedside unit, but at such a position that it was almost impossible to see any of the controls. The tiling in the ensuite was old and jaded.