Ratings based on 5,882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Comfortable room and friendly staff. Hot breakfast buffet was a bit oversold and under delivered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your room and the service provided by our friendly staff. I will pass on your feedback regarding breakfast to our Food and Beverage Manager. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Rydges Sydney Central

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Convenient
Cons: It should not matter how you book the hotel (or with who), if you stay at the hotel then you should accrue the loyalty points
Hotel 5 minute walk from Central Station, which is convenient to get to Sydney Harbour/ Bridge/ Opera House, Bondi Beach, China Town, Korea Town, Airport and the other attractions such as the Blue Mountains. friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Dear Eamonn, Thank you for sharing your review. It is great to hear you were able to take advantage of our central location to explore Sydney during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
ideal for heading to and from the airport ......................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Stayed here for two weeks, OK hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Comfy Bed
Cons: Communication with booking reps to advise of refurbishment and closure of pool and loud construction work.
Location: Good location, close to central station which was the hub of the trainlines with quick access to bondi, circular quay and many more tourist areas.
We were sold this hotel by expedia, we said that the main thing we wanted the hotel to have was a pool, when we arrived, the pool was under refurbishment and not due to open until at least half way through our holiday, I appreciate this is expedias fault for not telling us and not the hotels but it wasn't just the pool that was being refurbished, many parts of the hotel were being re-done, including the room next door to us, drilling and hammering against the wall where my bed was, was not appreciated at 8.30am. Staff were helpful and knowledagble of the area (especially Melissa Went), unfortunately they didn't do much to compensate the problems we had apart from a free breakfast one morning and wouldn't let us have a late checkout. I just felt after staying at the hotel for two weeks we would have had a more personal service from the staff but it is just a city business hotel. Good location, close to central station which was the hub of the trainlines with quick access to bondi, circular quay and many more tourist areas. Room clean and comfortable, cleaned everyday. Over all a disappointing experience but we did not let it ruin our holiday to Sydney.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Dear Libby, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us for your holiday. Melissa will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed her friendly service and that you had a chance to explore the city from our convenient location. I am sorry to hear you were not advised of our hotel refurbishment prior to your arrival and that you were unable to enjoy our pool facilities during your stay. I can understand your disappointment and frustration at hearing construction noise any time outside of the designated hours from 9am-5pm. I have addressed this with my Executive Engineer and he would like to join me in extending our sincere apologies for the disturbance and issues you experienced during your time with us. I will also ensure your feedback, regarding Reception’s response to your concerns, is passed on to our Front Desk Supervisor. Our pool refurbishment has been completed and the facilities re-opened, so I hope we may welcome you back during your next trip to Sydney to enjoy the changes very soon. Warm regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macau

太差了

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: 除了前台服務員有禮外,整間酒店說不出任何優點. 地點一般,不管到哪裡都要走一小段路。已經對這家連鎖酒店完全失去信心了。
Cons: 住了4天,整個房間都是灰塵,第一天還要忘記打掃。房間的確很大,但什麼都沒有。房間燈光很暗。窗簾,床單都有洗不乾淨的痕跡。反正就是很髒
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Dear Vincent, Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced with your room during your stay. I have addressed your feedback with my Housekeeping Manager. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our hotel so I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy the changes. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Just an Okay Stay

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Central station is close by with access to anywhere else in Sydney. Great restaurants within walking distance as well as bars for cocktails.
The hotel was centrally located and easy to get to and from, but the room amenities were disappointing. I know the pool was closed for renovation, and I hope they renovate the rooms as well. The furniture was sparse, in fact we had to leave our clothes in the suitcase since there were no dressers to put them in. Closets were small. The dining room was good and the staff there fantastic. The food was good. The gym was functional but not the best I have seen. Charging electronics was difficult anywhere in the hotel because there are not enough outlets. Rooms were clean and the cleaning staff very polite and thorough. I though the room was overpriced for what we received in value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for your feedback and your lovely review of our friendly staff. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with every aspect of your stay. We are currently undergoing refurbishment, and this will include the existing rooms as well as the pool and fitness room facilities. I hope we may welcome you back to enjoy the changes very soon. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AMAZING staff and hotel!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Staff were absolutely fabulous. They gave me the option of 2 accessible rooms due to disability needs as well as a smoking balcony. Bed was sooo comfortable! Mini bar fairly cheap. Check in and out was a breeze. Giveno a late check out. So close to all CBD/China town/darling harbour. Loved parking. Not cheap but ideal for us considering parking costs. Even held car until way after check out. Incredible buffet breakfast included and $20 voucher for restaurant. Staff catered to everything. 5 star in my opinion and will definitely be back!
Cons: Nothing! Except the pan cake maker lol minor but mucked up couldn't be fixed
Location: China Town, Capitol Theatre , Paddy's Market Central Railway, Darling Harbour
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review of our hotel! We never tire of hearing that we have exceeded your expectations. I will inform our Food and Beverage Manager of the issue with the pancake machine, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my usual Rydges experience

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Good location.
Whilst the checkin staff were lovely, that's probably where the good stopped. Online checkin system was a waste of time, failing to register with the hotel staff and resulting in additional charges. Room was not clean; stains on the bedspread; folders left on the bed with something all over their covers..... The in-room dining was the worst! Burnt food, sauces that had been left standing for too long, wrong items delivered, it was terrible. And what ever you do, don't try to eat breakfast after 9am. The food is not refreshed with the juice shots and sauces conjealing; the hot food insufficiently warmed and now stone cold, the fruit surrounded by fruit fly.....And don't ask for a coffee as their coffee machine is broken - there's a charge for that!!! The sad part is that this hotel is in a great location and could be soooo much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay and for highlighting your concerns. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guests' expectations and it is clear we fell short in this instance. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I have addressed your feedback with the relevant Department Managers. Once again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I hope we may welcome you back to our central location soon for a true Rydges standard of stay. Warm regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Perfect for a business stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Very close to central station. Great night sleeps!
Cons: see above in overall comment
Location: Very close to central station, and not too far to walk into the city to bookend a work day with a walk (if you like to walk, which I do).
Perfect location for getting to various meetings around Sydney. Didn't spend much time at the hotel, so didn't have any interaction with staff except for check in / out which was really easy and pleasant. Showers could do with a really good one-off overall clean to get mould off tiles etc. Generally a great stay and would stay here again. This was not a big thing, and I'm certainly not precious, but if I was commenting on things to improve it would be the rubbish bins not being emptied and the shower not being cleaned superficially during my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed a smooth check-in and had a chance to explore the city from our central location. Thank you for bringing the Housekeeping issues to my attention. I have since addressed your concerns with the Department Manager. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria,Australia

close to transport, very nice staff.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Mattresses a bit more comfortable. l like a firmer bed.
Location: Central Station close by, Woolworths metro for the essentials. Also Light railway a short walk.
lovely food at Nonnas kitchen (part of hotel). 20% off meals if charged to your room. Staff very very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for your feedback. Our Bar Surry Hills Manager and Executive Chef will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment that will include installing the popular Rydges 'Dream Bed' in all our guest rooms so I hope we may look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.