Ratings based on 6,021 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Met our needs for a 4 day trip. Upgrading building noise a bit intrusive. Great pool! Spacious room with comfortable furniture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Jenny - Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Di, Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and pool area. Hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny - Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Moody BC

Good location for ease of City exploration.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: The reception staff welcomed us very well, but unfortunately the rest of the team were not on the same page.
Cons: Staff attitude, and housekeeping could use an overhaul
Location: good location, and easy access to transportation, and restaurants.
Hotel is undergoing some renovations, and is not CLEAN. Elevators and common areas were not kept clean, and not even vacuous cleaned during a three night stay. We experienced a fire alarm very early in the morning, with very poor attention from the staff. Fire escapes on several floors were not lighted, and the escape route from my 9th floor led to garbage filled, back alley doorway, blocked by construction debris and sleeping vagrants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Jenny - Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and unfortunately it sounds like we have fallen short here. Your feedback regarding the fire stairs has been addressed with our Maintenance team. Kind Regards, Jenny - Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great staff

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Knowledgeable helpful trustworthy staff. Ian on front desk great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, central location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Staff were very helpful, room great and very convenient for CBD and City
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Kayla, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback! I'm so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Sydney! Kind regards, Kayla Arseneau | Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Although a little high priced, the location and staff are awesome! When needed the staff were always helpful and did their best to please. Rooms are clean. The gym is nothing special, so don't expect too much. Overall, my stay was excellent and would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate

Posted Feb 26, 2017
My room was next to a service lift for staff and also next to the guest lifts. Unfortunately, I was unable to sleep because of the noise of the lifts. The room was tidy and staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Kayla, Hotel Management
Dear Rich, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I do apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay with us. In the future, please don't hesitate to call upon our friendly reception team who are available 24-hours to assist you with any issues that you encounter during your stay and are also happy to accommodate room changes, if possible, if you are unsatisfied with your room for any reason. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future! Kind regards, Kayla Arseneau | Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kinross, Uk

Central Sydney Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location, close to central station and within walking distance of Darling Harbour and Hyde Park.
Cons: Un-refurbished rooms should be offered at a discount. Areas where building work is going on need cleaning more regularly.
Location: Central. Within walking distance of most attractions.
Stayed here twice whilst in Sydney. Hotel is currently being refurbished. First time we had a refurbished room which was excellent. When we returned for our second visit we had one of the "tired and scrufffy" old rooms, for which we were paying more for! Breakfast is expensive. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Kayla, Hotel Management
Dear Simon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review of your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback very much and I'm pleased to hear that our great location suited your needs while you were visiting the city. We are all also looking forward to the completion of our refurbishment which is expected to be in April at which time all of our rooms will have the wonderful makeover that you experienced during your first visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Sydney! Kind regards, Kayla Arseneau | Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Outstanding front of house staff!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Concierge and team
Cons: more attention to detail when servicing room
Our visit to Sydney was fraught with mishaps ... shuttle bus that never arrived, taxi driver who turned a $12 fare into $48, to name but a few ... however the reception staff and Concierge were outstanding in the service they provided. One could argue the rooms and housekeeping need some nudging (we often had to call for items that were not replaced after the daily service of our room) but the support and assistance from Ian and his team more than compensated. They are a credit to Rydges and set a very high standard for others to follow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Kayla, Hotel Management
Dear Deb & Joan, Thank you both so much for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We greatly appreciate all feedback and I'm especially pleased to hear that our front of house staff exceeded your expectations and were able to make your "mishap" filled visit to Sydney more comfortable and enjoyable for you both. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney! Kind regards, Kayla Arseneau | Public Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Awesome hotel!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Staff were amazing, we got a wonderful room with a balcony so we could look over the city. Room was very spacious and the fish tank in reception was pretty cool. The highlight for me though was the extremely thoughtful staff who really looked after us. Check out the cool little coffee shop next door to the hotel too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Kayla, Hotel Management
Dear Dale, Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our friendly staff were able to make your experience a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Sydney. Kind regards, Kayla Arseneau | Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient location

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast could be better
Location: Central station
Awesome hotel staff Clean rooms Now I'm getting irritated that I have to write more of a review. What gives?? A few words should be good....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.