Ratings based on 5,975 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Outstanding front of house staff!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Concierge and team
Cons: more attention to detail when servicing room
Our visit to Sydney was fraught with mishaps ... shuttle bus that never arrived, taxi driver who turned a $12 fare into $48, to name but a few ... however the reception staff and Concierge were outstanding in the service they provided. One could argue the rooms and housekeeping need some nudging (we often had to call for items that were not replaced after the daily service of our room) but the support and assistance from Ian and his team more than compensated. They are a credit to Rydges and set a very high standard for others to follow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Awesome hotel!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Staff were amazing, we got a wonderful room with a balcony so we could look over the city. Room was very spacious and the fish tank in reception was pretty cool. The highlight for me though was the extremely thoughtful staff who really looked after us. Check out the cool little coffee shop next door to the hotel too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Kayla, Hotel Management
Dear Dale, Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our friendly staff were able to make your experience a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Sydney. Kind regards, Kayla Arseneau | Public Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient location

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast could be better
Location: Central station
Awesome hotel staff Clean rooms Now I'm getting irritated that I have to write more of a review. What gives?? A few words should be good....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Clean, spacious rooms.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Modern, clean room. Walking distance to many CBD attractions. Friendly, helpful staff. Close to central and museum stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Central and Surry hills

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Clean, bright spacious and centrally located. Close to the station to get to the beach in 20 mins and also close to restaurants and shops of Surry hills and Crown St. We'll be staying here the next time we're in Sydney.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Poppi, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review following your recent stay! It is lovely to hear you had a chance to explore Sydney from our central location. We will look forward to your return. Kind regards, Poppi Dean | Guest Relations Supervisor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches in room, needs renovating

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Had to be asked to be moved due to cockroaches in room. Moved to room on same floor, still found bugs but not as many. Rooms generally old and don't feel very clean. Comfy bed though. Wifi broke on final day so couldn't check in to flight which was annoying. Disappointing experience given we chose this hotel and intentionally paid a bit extra than other cheaper hotels as we thought we could trust the standard of the brand name/4* hotel. Asked for some money back and told this wasn't possible, poor service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kane'ohe, Oahu

hotel close to Central Station

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Rydges Sydney Central is conveniently located near places of interest, good eating places, minutes away from the train station.
Cons: "Go Green": when you put out the sign telling housekeeping no need to clean/I'll re-use towels, bedding, etc., is good, BUT what about the rubbish?!
Location: Convenient location to Central Station, Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Capitol Theater, Paddy's Market, Powerhouse Museum, Thaitown, Koreatown.
I stayed at the Rydges Sidney Central for two weeks. The evening staff was immediately friendly and helpful. Using the elevator, I had to get used to scanning my room card and pressing my floor number simultaneously, or the thing would not move. Upon arrival in the room, the space was lit, and there was a bottle of wine and a plate of fresh fruit set out, accompanied by a welcoming note from the assistant manager. The room was spacious and clean. A special adapter is needed for electrical plug-ins ex. iPad. The hotel directory said one could be gotten at the front desk. None available, so it was recommended I go to the corner 7-11. I purchased one that is specific to Australia and New Zealand. The Rydges is conveniently located minutes away from Central Station. Close by is Chinatown and Darling Harbour, the Powerhouse Museum, the popular Paddy's Market, and Capitol Theatre where I saw an excellent production of "Aladdin." Thaitown and Koreatown are nearby. Many kinds of restaurants and drinking places are everywhere. Need to explore! In the opposite direction, Albion Street leads to Flinders Street to Oxford Street: many shops, boutiques, and eating places; and, on Saturday, the fun Paddington Art Market from ten to four. It is about an hour's walk from the hotel, along Elizabeth Street to Circular Quay. It is about a twenty minute walk from the hotel to the Queen Victoria Building on George Street, where there are over two hundred stores: a shopper's dream.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern NSW

walking distance to central station

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Easy check in on line the day before arrival. Friendly and courteous staff
Location: walking distance to central station, surrey hills, china town and the hub of Sydney's shopping centre
excellent stay over the Christmas weekend to share time with family in Surrey Hills
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Easy access to central station

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The stay at Rydges was great. Very helpful staff. Good food. We got our room 4 hours prior to check in. Highly recommended. Just one suggestion, the showers in our room had no door. This made the whole bathroom wet after shower. There was no bath mat too. And the exhaust in our room was so clogged with dirt that it didn't work. Because of this we felt the room was too damp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

close to everything

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: centrally located
Location: walking distance to central train station to get around the city.
We arrived to our hotel before check in time at 2PM however, the hotel staff processed our registration and we were so happy to check in to our room and got some rest after our hectic cruise from New Zealand. Staff were friendly and very helpful during our entire stay.