Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gosford, NSW

Good value

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, beer.
Cons: Lift installed.
Location: Handy to city, restaurants etc.
Nice enough, handy to city, semi-suburban locale. Handy to restaurants, transport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Good location, friendly staff, but...

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Location was excellent, lots of nice Cafes around and close to everywhere. Staff was friendly and kind. However, I have to admit that this place is way too worn-down. Antique furniture and numerous paintings on the wall could be presented better. It's a shame that they don't seem to know how to take advantage of the charm and potential of this place.. Bed linen was clean and comfortable, but the shared toilet and bathroom were not well maintained. Cleaning staff were chatting loudly all the time and it was quite disturbing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good historic pub/ hotel!

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great service, good reasonably priced food, happy hour, tea coffee provided outside room 1- shower no problem only 6 rooms. Room 2 air con stoped working mid night- car alarms going off middle night- window wide open. Couch support collapsed? Good bed room 2 -room cost more than room 1 but worth lot less?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Good budget pub with character in popular area

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Wotif
Value for money pub accom with a bit of character. Its a classic older atyle pub. Rooms on 2nd floor with shared toilets and bathroom. Terrific display of an eclectic array of artworks gives the hotel more character. Yes the place is older so do not expect it to be all shiny and new. It was clean though and the room was very comfortable. Aircon was installed but i chose to leave the window open. I arrived back reasonable early in the evening and enjoyed listening to the city sounds. I was there on a busy Sat night with lots of revellers out celebrating. Did not hear hardly any noise from fhe oub but more from people in the streets and neighbouring residents. Enjoyed the sounds of city life. I did have a shower that was cold on Sat afternoon when i arrived. But when i told the staff they knew they had to reset the hot water switch. So maybe check the water when you arrive and let them know if it needs resetting. When hot is was lovely pressure shower. Recommended as good value pub accom. I didnt eat there but it looked very popular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little pub.

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: It is a nice old pub, beer was cold.
Cant complain, room was comfortable and clean, air con worked, pub was closed when i got back so no noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Better than a back packers

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The food, the location and the style.
Cons: Fix the bedroom windows so they can close due to all the noise from the patrons at night.
Location: lots of pubs and restaurants within 10 mins walk. Jazushi was a nice restaurant with live jazz and sushi every night across the road.
Cozy quirky hotel bar with Elizabethan themed design, big rooms, big comfy beds and with Air Con. unfortunately have to share showers and bathrooms but there's only 4 rooms so you don't have to wait long if you need to. they serve typical pub food but it is GREAT, especially for the price, highly recommend the pie of the day. The location is the best thing about this hotel, Its tucked away in Surry Hills so you can walk to transport or even the city if your up for it, which i did :) its quieter than a back packers BUT due to the window in my room not closing properly I heard all the conversation of the patrons outside till about 1am, definitely bring ear plugs if you want to sleep. The bar seemed pretty busy the 2 weeknights I was there. I was on a small work trip so I didn't want to splurge on a hotel but also didn't want to stay at a back packers, this place is the perfect medium, and for the price I think it fits the bill, overall it was an enjoyable experience and if its in your budget this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns, QLD

Nice cosy room.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Wotif
This hotel was booked last minute after arriving in Sydney with my partner from Far North Queensland. The hotel we originally booked prior to arriving in Sydney was a share room with 4 other people, which we didn't realise, and we did not feel comfortable at ALL with that! So we quickly searched Wotif and Shakespeare Hotel came up as the cheapest, AND we got our own room! Overall the room was nice, I loved all the mirrors throughout the hotel, The hotel was super close to Woolies, Subway etc and the train station which made it easier to get around! Would highly recommend staying at Shakespeare if you're on a budget!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Darwin

A place with character

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Wotif
Homely and filled with character. Not pristine, but then I don't like pristine. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in and the aircon was so quiet. Very convenient location: just up from Central Railway, a minute's walk to the Belvoir Theatre and restaurants in every direction.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly good rooms above a pub

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
'Shared bathroom' meant one shared shower room and two separate WCs for 6 bedrooms, no issues of queuing for me though. The room was very spacious with period details, with (for me) a very comfortable bed. There was a help-yourself tea/coffee point in the corridor. My concern was that it was above a pub, but this turned out not be a problem at all: the bedrooms are on the top level (2nd floor), the middle level (1st floor) was quieter pub rooms and closed at 10pm, and the ground floor was the main pub area but also closed at midnight; so from 10pm onwards you're isolated from the noise. The food is good too! The location is great - easy walk to Central Station, Crown Street shops and food, Belvoir St Theatre, and not far to walk north to the City. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Room was value for money, staff were lovely ,bathrooms are basic