Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Good location, friendly staff, but...

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Location was excellent, lots of nice Cafes around and close to everywhere. Staff was friendly and kind. However, I have to admit that this place is way too worn-down. Antique furniture and numerous paintings on the wall could be presented better. It's a shame that they don't seem to know how to take advantage of the charm and potential of this place.. Bed linen was clean and comfortable, but the shared toilet and bathroom were not well maintained. Cleaning staff were chatting loudly all the time and it was quite disturbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns, QLD

Nice cosy room.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Wotif
This hotel was booked last minute after arriving in Sydney with my partner from Far North Queensland. The hotel we originally booked prior to arriving in Sydney was a share room with 4 other people, which we didn't realise, and we did not feel comfortable at ALL with that! So we quickly searched Wotif and Shakespeare Hotel came up as the cheapest, AND we got our own room! Overall the room was nice, I loved all the mirrors throughout the hotel, The hotel was super close to Woolies, Subway etc and the train station which made it easier to get around! Would highly recommend staying at Shakespeare if you're on a budget!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Darwin

A place with character

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Wotif
Homely and filled with character. Not pristine, but then I don't like pristine. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in and the aircon was so quiet. Very convenient location: just up from Central Railway, a minute's walk to the Belvoir Theatre and restaurants in every direction.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly good rooms above a pub

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
'Shared bathroom' meant one shared shower room and two separate WCs for 6 bedrooms, no issues of queuing for me though. The room was very spacious with period details, with (for me) a very comfortable bed. There was a help-yourself tea/coffee point in the corridor. My concern was that it was above a pub, but this turned out not be a problem at all: the bedrooms are on the top level (2nd floor), the middle level (1st floor) was quieter pub rooms and closed at 10pm, and the ground floor was the main pub area but also closed at midnight; so from 10pm onwards you're isolated from the noise. The food is good too! The location is great - easy walk to Central Station, Crown Street shops and food, Belvoir St Theatre, and not far to walk north to the City. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Room was value for money, staff were lovely ,bathrooms are basic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Wotif
An interesting place to stay. Great location, a little wear and tear but clean. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Great spot

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Great staff, easy check-in, very good (healthy and tasty) food at sensible prices, friendly place and character.
Cons: Access by non guests to guest facilities - a keyed access could sort that. Better management of smokers upstairs - smoke detectors could help?.
Location: Very community friendly location, fantastic early morning coffee at place on corner of Elizabeth and Devonshire Streets. Other good pubs nearby.
Great place to stay a day or two. Easy access to airport via Central station which is easy 5 minute walk away. Excellent menu and good quality (and quantity) pub grub, or fancier if you wish and have the budget. Good on the wallet for such a great location. Separate toilets and bathroom basic but accessible and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The hotel was nice and close to Crown Street, with plenty of nice coffee shops and restaurants. Room cleanliness was a slight issue, with stained quilt covers. Also the bed we had was beyond squeaky (old old Spring mattress) with my partner eventually sleeping on the floor due to the noise everytime one of us moved. Staff were friendly. Towels were prodded which was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It is very good.
Cons: TV in the room was a little small if you wanted to watch TV in bed, and poor signal of 7 network. Perhaps expensive for what it is, but location g8
This is old fashioned pub accommodation. Nice clean room refurbished in a ye olde world style with a shared bathroom down the hall. Shared bathroom was clean, very good, shared toilets also very good. Room clean. Staff very good, reception is fine. It is a busy pub on a Friday night - it is in Surry Hills that is why you book in this area close to lots of eating, transport and night life options. But you can sleep and not be disturbed by noise. It all works rather well. The bar downstairs had Rugby league, Rugby Union and AFL. The manager (owner?) likes AFL which is a blessing in Sydney. There is a gaming area like almost all Sydney pubs, but it is discrete here and you did not feel this was the major focus of the place.
4 out of 5
by Allison from Wellington

Comfortable stay

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Spent a comfortable 2 night stay here. Was pleased to see that room condition matched information supplied. Pub on ground and first floor is fairly popular and provides cheap bar food. I had no problems with noise disturbance as pub closed by midnight (and earlier weekdays). Hotel is a short walk from Central Train Station. Happy to see that tea and coffee making facilities were provided outside the room. The room involved the use of a shared bathroom and toilets, which were kept in a clean and tidy condition. I only had to wait once to use shared facilities and then only for a short time. I would advise visitors to bring some soap for the shared facilities.