Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Well situated. Good food. Spacious rooms. Efficient staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Wotif
V convenient and reasonable A real experience - nowhere quite like it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gosford, NSW

Good value

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, beer.
Cons: Lift installed.
Location: Handy to city, restaurants etc.
Nice enough, handy to city, semi-suburban locale. Handy to restaurants, transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quant

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The room decore
Cons: No
Location: Walking dista e to the city and all that it has to offer
Convenient to the city at a good price. Close to central
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne.

Character, convenient.

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location. Easy check-in. Comfortable bed. Clean. Friendly staff.
Cons: Lighting was dim in room.
Location: Great for walking to Central station.
Lots of character; simple but comfortable rooms. Bit of noise in the evening (as you'd expect being directly above a busy pub) but quiet when it comes to sleep time. Good food at the bar. Really conveniently located near Central station (5-10 min walk). If you're just in Sydney for a night and want a simple, easy place to sleep and shower, this place is perfect. Comfy bed. Clean room. Air-con. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Short walk to Central

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Love the decor, the hotel was built in the late 1800s and it looks like they haven't redecorated since - loved it!
Cons: It need a good vacuuming around the edges of the room - the carpet was grey with dust and the little bedside table, I drew a line in the dust on it.
Location: Very close to central station, a handful of dining options nearby including in the bar downstairs.
Quick check in & our room was ready when we arrived around 1.30pm. We were in room 4 which was comfortable and away from the street. We didn't hear any noise from the bar or traffic. The wifi didn't work in our room. The bathrooms/toilet down the hallway were clean and free nearly the entire time we were there. If you suffer with allergies, I strongly recommend you stay elsewhere. The room was very dusty. Nothing that a damp cloth and a hoover can't fix, but unfortunately that really let the place down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Good location, friendly staff, but...

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Location was excellent, lots of nice Cafes around and close to everywhere. Staff was friendly and kind. However, I have to admit that this place is way too worn-down. Antique furniture and numerous paintings on the wall could be presented better. It's a shame that they don't seem to know how to take advantage of the charm and potential of this place.. Bed linen was clean and comfortable, but the shared toilet and bathroom were not well maintained. Cleaning staff were chatting loudly all the time and it was quite disturbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, NSW

"Quirky" was the word the barman used

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Style, location, staff, comfort
Cons: Better coffee!
Location: As mentioned above
And quirky it is. Loads of character -- peeling wallpaper, Victorian colour scheme. But excellent aircon, much quieter than we feared it would be. So handy to the theatre and to restaurants etc. Short walk from Central station. It might not work for the stuffier types. The shared bath and toilets were no problem. We only saw one other guest there, though we were told all rooms were in use.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good historic pub/ hotel!

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great service, good reasonably priced food, happy hour, tea coffee provided outside room 1- shower no problem only 6 rooms. Room 2 air con stoped working mid night- car alarms going off middle night- window wide open. Couch support collapsed? Good bed room 2 -room cost more than room 1 but worth lot less?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Good budget pub with character in popular area

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Wotif
Value for money pub accom with a bit of character. Its a classic older atyle pub. Rooms on 2nd floor with shared toilets and bathroom. Terrific display of an eclectic array of artworks gives the hotel more character. Yes the place is older so do not expect it to be all shiny and new. It was clean though and the room was very comfortable. Aircon was installed but i chose to leave the window open. I arrived back reasonable early in the evening and enjoyed listening to the city sounds. I was there on a busy Sat night with lots of revellers out celebrating. Did not hear hardly any noise from fhe oub but more from people in the streets and neighbouring residents. Enjoyed the sounds of city life. I did have a shower that was cold on Sat afternoon when i arrived. But when i told the staff they knew they had to reset the hot water switch. So maybe check the water when you arrive and let them know if it needs resetting. When hot is was lovely pressure shower. Recommended as good value pub accom. I didnt eat there but it looked very popular.