Ratings based on 4,532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1st class

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Only stayed 1 night and only slept there so can't comment about food or general facilities but can vouch for this being a true luxury hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Position

Posted Aug 27, 2015
No hot water Thursday night! Enough said! Not pleasant having a cold shower at $280 odd dollars
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Everything costs extra - don't book with children

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Booked a room through Expedia for 3 nights for myself, wife & 15 year old daughter - 2 adults & 1 child. Paid up front, not cheap but a treat while away we thought. On arrival we checked in fine and were then told our 15 year old was sharing our bed as the room only had a king size, I showed the staff my booking for 2 adults & 1 child and they said if we didn't want her to share our bed it would be $80 a night extra for a fold away bed - the staff stood firm and refused to accept that we found it unreasonable our daughter be expected to share our bed. The best the manager did was offer us the fold away bed for $50 per night. We had to accept as had already paid up front for the room. On top of $55 a day for parking too which apparently is an extra not included in our booking it turned out very expensive so beware extra charges. Restaurants not great either, one buffet & one very limited a la carte menu. Reception staff could have done more but didn't, duty manager knew he had our money so didn't help or care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location, very friendly, helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: comfortable bed, great pillows, spacious
Cons: check out the hot/cold water mix in the shower
everything about the stay was of the highest quality, except the hot and cold water mix in the shower
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of Sydney's Best

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Excellent across the board.
Cons: Free WiFi for guests and SPG members would be an asset.
Location: On Hyde Park, close to Sydney Harbour and the Botanic Gardens.
Only stayed for one night, I needed to be close to the CBD for an appointment. The staff was pleasant and welcoming. Check in and out was quick and easy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No interest in providing a resolution

Posted Aug 18, 2015
The Sheraton is a five star hotel - which is why we booked it 8 months in advance. We requested a twin room configuration (as did another 2 friends we were travelling with). We were given a King size bed. We picked the Sheraton because it offered us a twin room configuration and we booked well in advance to secure this. On check-in we were advised "we are full, you booked through a 3rd party website, you can't cancel and we don't need to honour your room configuration booking". Despite stating a hotel of 5 stars and with a reputation like the Sheraton, no attempt was made to myself or my friends (checked in at a different time) to provide any resolution - no offer of a rollaway bed (would still charge us $55) nor any offer of any other form of compensation. The staff are either not empowered to super serve customers or they are clueless about how. I would never stay here or recommend this hotel. The hotel itself was lovely, the staff couldn't have cared less. It seems the mistake we made (according to the Sheraton) was to book through Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philippines

The Hotel with a View

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Location, concierge service.
Cons: Front desk service
Location: The front is facing the Hyde Park which was beautiful. The back leads to Market and St. george which where the best malls are. Westfield, QVB, Myers
Overall, the hotel is OK, Clean room, comfortable bed, very good location. I am a SPG Gold member, and I requested for twin room 9 months ago, but they could not give me twin room as they do not have one available. I could not get my spq benefit because I book thru expedia which was cheaper. Their link or lobby internet needed a voucher which was most of the time error in coding. Front desk only gave me a better room view after I complain of my room facing a wall of another building. The concierge made up for front desk as they gave me fantastic service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Amazing Hotel at the Heart of the City

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Everything, from the moment I walked in the door, till I left nothing was to much trouble & everything was in the right place !
Location: Central to everything in the center of Sydney with views overlooking the park, just magical
Well worth the experience, the staff are so helpful & went out of there way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was perfect & I would stay again in a heart beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Nice hotel close to everything . Friendly stuff,reasonable price. Definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Recommended

Posted Jul 29, 2015
The Sheraton is perfectly located - in the CBD but with the sanctuary of Hyde Park, and the convenience of St James railway station, on the other side of the street (about 15 minutes from the airport by train). We chose to walk to Circular Quay, where the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge are located. It is about a 20 minute stroll. If you don't want to walk, just take a train. it's one stop, and about 3 minutes away, and the station is right on top of Circular Quay. We took a not huge but very comfortable pleasant room with 2 single beds, couch and writing desk, and walk-in closet (with safe). The facilities are basic - beds, TV & DVD player spacious bathroom with bath and shower, bar-fridge, and a kettle (no microwave or kitchen); but I believe suites with a kitchen are available. There is an excellent gym, pool, sauna and steam room available for use between 6am and 9pm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In the lobby we able to use the internet and printer to arrange boarding passes for our flight home.