Ratings based on 5,296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Rooms are exceptionally small

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff were helpful and welcoming
Cons: The hotel should not be advertised as 5 star.
Location: Location is excellent. 5 Minute walk to Circular Quay
The service was very good, but the hotel building itself is very dated and the rooms are 3 star at best. The rooms are very small, such that the bathroom cannot fit a standard door, but rather has a petition door. Overall its a 3.5 star to 4 star hotel at best - certainly not 5 star.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will never stay at the Sofitel again.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: For starters, it needs an entire face lift.
Location: There are better locations, particularly for sight seers.
The quoted room rate was reasonable, but they nickel and dimed you beyond belief, so my actual cost was double the nightly quoted rate. For example, I upgraded my room to include "unlimited" internet access. Yet there is a tight usage on data, so every 20 minutes I was either Skyping with a client or with my children, I was bounced off due to "unfair" usage on my part! They do not understand the term "unlimited" in their unlimited internet usage policy! Sure, I could log back in and reset my limitations, but this was unnecessary, nervy, and quite frustrating. This was just the start (don't park, eat, make a phone call, watch a movie, use Net Flix, drink a bottle of water, etc), but very telling of their approach. And the rooms and lobby were very tired and felt very old. The mattress on my bed felt like it was 25 years old, and provided no support. The only nice thing I would say about the entire affair is that there is a lovely (unaffiliated) coffee shop right across the street! Don't miss out on the lovely flat white coffee!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Great location close to most things. Staff extremely obliging.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2015 by drik , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for your review. Kind regards Lilian Tolentino Director of Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ β˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈβ˜€οΈπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉπŸΉ 🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩🏩 πŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ’ΈπŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™πŸ‘™
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2015 by drik , Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for your review. Kind regards Lilian Tolentino Director of Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small bedroom for five star hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The relaxing cocktail lounge and smells of vanilla in the foyer
Location: Quite a good location, with a short walk to the city centre or The Rocks district.
The SofiteI oozes luxury in its public areas, but it is not reflected in the bedroom I stayed in. I booked a Superior room and found it quite small, with a small window, crowded by a shelving unit either side and a small couch in front. It looked down into a non-descript garden courtyard. The bathroom was also small, with a single sink, but decadently clad in marble. The shower was in a small bath and I needed to utilise the support handle to get in and out of the shower. (This handle was wobbly) The small TV was lousy with limited 'hotel' channels and poor picture quality. I am not normally this fussy, but I had recently stayed in an opposing hotel chain in Melbourne and found the bed and bathroom there quite amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Good location, handy to shops and transport. Helpful staff. Rooms pleasant enough although bathroom was a little tired. Would recommend for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Once we got past check in the hotel was excellent

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The location and the atmosphere
Cons: Check in
Location: Close to train stations and things to do in the city.
Disappointingly the room wasn't ready when we arrived and there were issues with check in that took close to an hour to fix. But once that was sorted the hotel was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Symposium venue

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Great place to stay, conveniently located at symposium venue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern NSW

Peaceful Oasis in the City

Posted Jul 9, 2015
The Sofitel Wentworth in Sydney is a lovely hotel within walking distance to Circular Quay, The Rocks and the shopping precinct. The Soiree Lounge in the lobby provides a relaxed place to meet friends or to relax on your own and has very good reasonably priced food. The room was very nice and the TV easy to operate. I enjoyed my stay very much and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Posted Jun 30, 2015
It is a very nice hotel with friendly staff, love the warm feelings of the bar, my hubby and I can sit there enjoying ourselves.