Ratings based on 2,649 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geelong

Centrally located

Posted May 16, 2017
The staff were very helpful as we misplaced a personal item and they helped us find it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We're always happy to help our guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 13, 2017
Good Centre location but disappointed with wifi in room very weak
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Sorry for the inconvenience with the Wi-Fi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Location - next to Hyde Park and center of CBD.
Cons: refer points above. Many things needs to be improved
Did not had a nice experience in this hotel. 1. Bathroom doors were not closing. Lodged complaint but the service guy could not help 2. Hotel reception staff (male) was very cold in receiving and responding to queries 3. Door keys were not working and had to swipe multiple times for them to work 4. Room service was pathetic. The housekeeping staff didn't change the bedsheets. Just ordered them and no vacuum cleaning was done. 5. To the worst of experience, there was a false fire alarm which rung at 6 in the morning and we had to vacate the hotel. It spoiled the entire morning and rest of the day 6. No phone in the bedroom. Had to call the reception from a roaming mobile or had to go personally 4 floors down 7. Breakfast was pathetic. Just for the location price is high, otherwise this hotel is not worth staying. 8. Wifi was not working. When complained, staff said it only works in lobby and in the room it is getting fixed. While booking the hotel, such things were never mentioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
First and foremost sorry for any inconvenience caused. We are implementing new doors to fix the door issue. We will investigate the issues you improve our services. We had issues with the Wi-Fi at the time of your stay. Most hotels no longer have phones in the rooms. Once again sorry for any inconvenience caused.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M'sia

Near to train station about 300m.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Twin room with private bathroom. Simple hotel n near to train station. Pro: Near train station, room with continental breakfast but need to pay more if order eggs, pancakes, upgrade to espresso, clean room, daily housekeeping. Cons: Limited adaptor as it's hidden behind the bed. (This is twin room), no room slippers, small bathroom, one chair only whilst it's for 2 ppl.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will take your feedback seriously and will consider adjustments to our service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arcadia,CA

Smelly room in a good location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
When we arrived at the hotel, we saw that it was very well located near bus and train stations. When we walked into our room it smelled like you were in a taxi cab of an unshowered driver. It was too much so we asked for another room. The the other room had the same smell, less intense but it was still there. The sheets were immaculately clean and the bed comfort was normal. Since we were only there one night we made the best of it. We couldn't open the sliding door too much to let fresh air in because it had a stop in it and bearly opened. The TV remote didn't work and the air conditioning never turned on either. I would say this has been my worst hotel experience ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Vicky, First and foremost sorry for any inconvenience caused. If there are any incidents such as the ones mentioned please let our staff know and they will be willing to assist. Thank you for taking the time to review. We take your feedback seriously and will consider ways to improve our service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
excellent location friendly staff quiet place good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Most of the hotel staff were pleasant. Complimentary continental breakfast was great. Restaurant and bar, including helpful staff were highlight.
Cons: Hotel has potential, but the moldy smell and outdated bathrooms let it down. Let people know on website that there is no wifi in room.
Location: Lovely restaurants, close to train stations and Hyde Park.
No wifi available in rooms only in lobby areas, this should have been stated on the website. Room smelled musty and mouldy. Bathroom dusty and outdated. Tea & coffee was in the wardrobe, not in the kitchen. Door access key never worked so had to make numerous trips to reception (6 floors down). Small televisions, no phone to reception in rooms and no information about restaurants or local attractions in the room. Noisy room, worse sleep ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. At the time of your stay we had issues with Wi-Fi we're working on improving this service. Sorry for the inconvenience caused with the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, close to train

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was incredibly nice and went out of their way to help me with directions and with questions about the city. Room was pretty tiny and the beds rolled around on their wheels anytime I sat on them. Not a complaint, just an fyi. Only complaint was that the maid came into my room when I was away all day, even though I had left the Doctor Not Disturb sign out. That was not ok. Overall, great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm sorry about the issue with the maid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Hostel style bathrooms were ok

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Men's bathrooms on the 6th floor only had one shower which was usually occupied when my husband wanted to shower. Females had two and were fine. Quarters were a bit tight with three of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry for the inconvenience caused with the bathrooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice newly renovated hotel but room way too small

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Room too small very disappointed and looking like a hostel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Seems like you booked a room with shared bathrooms, we also have rooms available with private bathrooms.