Ratings based on 2,677 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bairnsdale

A basic city centre hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Cons: WiFi didn't work in room but was OK if you went down to the lobby.
Location: Convenient for Museum station (3 minutes walk).
OK as a convenient city centre hotel and surprisingly quiet. Inclusion of a continental breakfast just about tipped it into the good value bracket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Rod, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with a price

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The location is great but since it's close to a main road, it can be noisy at night, specially on weekends. The building is a bit old and it shows in some places like in the leaky faucets on the shared bathrooms. On the other hand, the beds were very comfortable and the continental breakfast was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

You get what you pay for. Easy and great location.

Posted May 29, 2017
Great location, run down facilities. Shared bathrooms only have one shower and the door has massive crack to see through!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We will investigate the issue with the door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kinshasa, Congo

nice hotel close to the business city

Posted May 24, 2017
it was great to walk till my place of appontement
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geelong

Centrally located

Posted May 16, 2017
The staff were very helpful as we misplaced a personal item and they helped us find it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We're always happy to help our guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 13, 2017
Good Centre location but disappointed with wifi in room very weak
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Sorry for the inconvenience with the Wi-Fi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Location - next to Hyde Park and center of CBD.
Cons: refer points above. Many things needs to be improved
Did not had a nice experience in this hotel. 1. Bathroom doors were not closing. Lodged complaint but the service guy could not help 2. Hotel reception staff (male) was very cold in receiving and responding to queries 3. Door keys were not working and had to swipe multiple times for them to work 4. Room service was pathetic. The housekeeping staff didn't change the bedsheets. Just ordered them and no vacuum cleaning was done. 5. To the worst of experience, there was a false fire alarm which rung at 6 in the morning and we had to vacate the hotel. It spoiled the entire morning and rest of the day 6. No phone in the bedroom. Had to call the reception from a roaming mobile or had to go personally 4 floors down 7. Breakfast was pathetic. Just for the location price is high, otherwise this hotel is not worth staying. 8. Wifi was not working. When complained, staff said it only works in lobby and in the room it is getting fixed. While booking the hotel, such things were never mentioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Rodney, Hotel Management
First and foremost sorry for any inconvenience caused. We are implementing new doors to fix the door issue. We will investigate the issues you improve our services. We had issues with the Wi-Fi at the time of your stay. Most hotels no longer have phones in the rooms. Once again sorry for any inconvenience caused.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M'sia

Near to train station about 300m.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Twin room with private bathroom. Simple hotel n near to train station. Pro: Near train station, room with continental breakfast but need to pay more if order eggs, pancakes, upgrade to espresso, clean room, daily housekeeping. Cons: Limited adaptor as it's hidden behind the bed. (This is twin room), no room slippers, small bathroom, one chair only whilst it's for 2 ppl.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will take your feedback seriously and will consider adjustments to our service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arcadia,CA

Smelly room in a good location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
When we arrived at the hotel, we saw that it was very well located near bus and train stations. When we walked into our room it smelled like you were in a taxi cab of an unshowered driver. It was too much so we asked for another room. The the other room had the same smell, less intense but it was still there. The sheets were immaculately clean and the bed comfort was normal. Since we were only there one night we made the best of it. We couldn't open the sliding door too much to let fresh air in because it had a stop in it and bearly opened. The TV remote didn't work and the air conditioning never turned on either. I would say this has been my worst hotel experience ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Vicky, First and foremost sorry for any inconvenience caused. If there are any incidents such as the ones mentioned please let our staff know and they will be willing to assist. Thank you for taking the time to review. We take your feedback seriously and will consider ways to improve our service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Bundaberg QLD

Balancing price with location

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location - close to Sydney CBD and reasonably located. In-house cafe had a nice multi-level ambience and street view.
Cons: The room had a rather musty atmosphere, probably could do with being aired more frequently.
Location: Was there on a brief business trip, no time for fun!
The Song was selected because of its proximity to the city yet low price. Factors considered were * breakfast included * parking arrangements * bedroom and bathroom arrangements. I used a budget room with shared bathroom. On the whole, the hotel provided services as advertised and at a level which could be expected for the price. The staff were consistently helpful and friendly to all guests as far as I observed. Parking was by arrangement with a nearby Secure car park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review.