Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and near to UNSW

Posted May 27, 2017
There was no feedback from guests and staff didn't come for a single time to ask if we need anything. Otherwise a good hotel and in peaceful quiet area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but one rude staff member

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and wonderful staff except one very rude staff member who left early from the reception. I bumped into at 9pm and asked for a wifi card as mine weren't working. He proceeded to give out to me and act like I asked him to move mountains. Disappointed as the rest of the staff were lovely
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Wotif
Lack of heating that worked. No body would do anything about this issue.then when I left a day early because my room had not been serviced for 3 days I could not get refund for extra night I had paid for . Never again will I stay there and would never recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HONGKONG

nice hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
the location is good and shopphing and also close Station
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: close to where we needed to be
Cons: microwave in the rooms and milk and coffee etc replenished daily larger milk provided would be helpful too as those containers were expremely small.
We were satisfied with our stay however the room was not cleaned every second day as we were told it would be and there was no milk in the room when we arrived at night. The office was shut before the 8pm time most evening so there was no one there to answer questions when we arrived back after 7.30pm. The office staff were extremely helpful and friendly when the office was open though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Searching for somewhere nice to say

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Wotif
Nice looking place, good price but what looks too good to be true usually is. With regular trips to Sydney now a necessity for family reasons, we were looking for a home away from home and St Marks looked like filling the bill. Check in was fine with a very pleasant Russian girl. Then all deteriorated for the next 5 long days. The ground floor room was musty and damp, so much so that our clothes felt damp to the touch. We tried to reduce the moisture by using the aircon, but it had no effect. Rooms are serviced only if you ask, the TV comes and goes and the room is so small we kept bumping into one another. The search for a nice spot to stay continues, but it won't be St Marks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albury

Close to everything

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Wotif
Lovely old world character accomodation. A short drive to Sydney CBD, airport and beaches. Walking distance to shops. Very quite area. Parking is an issue. There is Street parking only in which I had to park my car a fair distance from the hotel on a couple of occasions which concerned me in regards to security. Rooms are functional and very clean. Communal kitchen and laundry. For the money it's great value. I really enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Wotif
Clean room, high ceilings make it feel bigger than it is
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
WIFI: Pros -They have it. Cons - It doesn't work. I asked at reception and staff said 'yes, many people complain'. So, why not fix it? In addition, it is an unsecured network. I booked my room with the understanding that it had wifi because I had work to do while I was in town. No concessions were made. Courtyard: Pros - They have lovely courtyard to sit in sun and relax during the day. Cons - People were out till 1230 in the morning on their phones. The acoustics of the building allowed every sound to carry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria British Colimbia Canada

A 3 dressed up as a 9 .... make that a 3

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Wotif
First room had musty bathroom drain and inconsiderate guest talking loudly on her cell phone outside our room at 10:30 at night using profanities to get her point across. The second room had no housekeeping on the first night and we were told housekeeping is only every 2 nights???? We were not told this at check in. The light in the bathroom took about 10 minutes to warm up so we ended up leaving it on for the length of our stay. 3 nights. The web photos photos seem to promise much more than they actually deliver.